We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with stunning views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Luxury Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Luxury Lakeside Hotel to your Saves list
SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Luxury Lakeside Hotel
No. 95, Zhongshan Rd., Yuchi Township, Nantou, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Nantou
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice stay with stunning views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel building did not look promising from outside, but inside it's a different story. We traveled in a group and occupied most of the rooms they have. The rooms were spacious and each had different design. They're clean and immaculate. Contrary to common practice where toiletries and mineral water are only replenished when used up, this hotel was very generous in replenishing everything every single day, regardless of our usage.

The boutique hotel offered stunning view of the lake through the glass window panels. Good thing we stayed there for 3 nights, because it had no elevators!

Breakfast was included in the room rate, and the food was good. We presented the coupons in the morning and the set meal was provided, with free flow of bread.

The only minus point was that the staff has zero command of English. We had difficulties communicating, but other than that, we had a great stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: there's no elevator in the hotel so if you bring lots of luggage, choose the nearest one from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Situated just beside the hub of Sun Moon Lake, the Shuishe wharf, this boutique hotel had a lux feel, with just a hint of tiredness at the edges. It was clean and well appointed, the aforementioned bathroom inclusions adding a touch of class. We experienced a rolling quake during our stay, so no wonder one or two of the tiles are cracked! The staff were very friendly, but sensible enough to leave us alone to enjoy the serenity of the spot: they were however, very helpful when we needed anything. A much better option, in our opinion, than the large hotels nearby and dotted around the lake, and a perfect spot to launch your cruise, hike or bike adventure each day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have spent one night at Spa Home with their half-board package. It is quite expensive but the room is well designed and the hotel owner intends to use the branded stuff, eg shampoo/conditioner/body wash are from HERMES and bottled water from Evian....We have the room (Elegant Double Room) on B1/F and it is already large enough for two. The view is just great!

Both dinner and breakfast here are good! They serve standard breakfast with no choice, but it is tasty and adequate. However the orange juice is terrible....better to choose coffee which is from illy.

The staff here are not as warm and friendly as those we met from other hotels in Taiwan. Nearly no smile and greeting, not too comfortable with this but still acceptable....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

A small boutique hotel right on Sun Moon Lake, generally very clean and well-appointed. My room looked out across the lake and while misty, was fabulous. The hotel tries very hard to be top of the range, with good quality furnishings, big rooms and very nice design that takes advantage of the lake views. Breakfast was prepared immediately on order and was well-presented and enjoyable in the small restaurant area. Again, this overlooks the lake.

The only downsides are that the road runs past the front door, and some of the trucks and buses can be noisy when downstairs. I heard no road noise in my room. The room was great, although there were some cracked tiles in the bathroom.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

As others say, there are cheaper hotels in the area. However, this is a high-quality boutique hotel that works hard to satisfy its guests.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the lakeside. Others may get road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location af the hotel with the view overlooking the Ferry pier is remarkable. Yes it's expensive and we had to pay additional NT$1500 for an additional bed and breakfast for my 9 year old! You could easily get a room for 2 for NT$1200 down the street.

The hotel rooms and presentation is just excellent. With quality fittings and is best for couples to enjoy. The sliding wall of the changing opens up to a full view of the bed and beyond. Sad that we took a room for the entire family and copuld not enjoy it to the max.

However, other than that.. the service is non existent. No help was offered with out luggage up to the top floor. There is no elevator and the stairway is narrow. Really design for couple travelling light...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parañaque, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I really loved my stay in this hotel even though the price is nearly doubled compare with other accommodations in Sun Moon Lake. Starbucks, restaurants, tour booking counters, the pier and bus terminal are near from the hotel.

The moment I opened the door of Room 2B, I felt pretty good with its pragrance and ambience. The furniture are well mentained especially the bed with posts and curtains that made me a good sleep. Toward the other side of the room is the perfect view of Sun Moon Lake that mesmerized me. As said by other reviewers, the Evian 500 mL mineral water and Hermes four small bottles toiletries are provided.

Given a chance to revisit Sun Moon Lake, I will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel is great if you don't walk out from your room. The view is really wonderful but the service is bad. You won't hear any greeting from the staff. They are not helpful and not friendly. You don't hear any suggestion on where you shall go and see in Sun Moon Lake. You don't have any home stay feeling from here and you also cannot receive any hotel service. There is no lift inside this hotel so you have to take your luggage up to the 5th floor to reach your room. When I decide to pick up only the needed stuff and leave my suitcase to the reception, they don't have any room to lock your suitcase but they only leave your suitcase next to the entrance without anyone looking at it. The price they charge compare to what you get is NOT WORTH.

The only GOOD thing of this hotel is the great view from the room. But you shall be able to find other hotel with the same good view and better price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Luxury Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Luxury Lakeside Hotel

Address: No. 95, Zhongshan Rd., Yuchi Township, Nantou, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Luxury Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Luxury Lakeside Hotel Taiwan/Nantou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Luxury Lakeside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.