We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eva Lanka Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eva Lanka Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eva Lanka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tangalle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Tangalle
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked Eva Lanka over the Christmas period as a 'treat' on our tour of Sri Lanka, costing nearly £200 per night...it was by far the worst of the six places we stayed over our three week trip.

The manager was grumpy and rude, no warm Sri Lankan welcome here. He even refused to let our driver through the hotel gates meaning we had to carry our luggage to the road leading to the hotel.

Our room was spacious with a fantastic view from the terrace, however sitting out on the first evening a rat ran across in front of us, rather putting us off sitting there again!

Whilst clean on the surface the room didn't have new soap in the bathroom & the sheets had a rather stale smell.

Then there was the food...the Christmas Eve 'Gala Buffet' that we were forced to buy into as we were staying that night was by far & away the worst meal we've had.

Redeeming features were the staff aside from the manager who were friendly, especially the chefs.

Whilst the beach in front of the hotel was lovely it was deserted so no atmosphere.

There are so many guest houses & hotels in the area, our tip would be avoid this place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    27
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
34
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Located on the sea side in a middle of enchanting bay. Perfect for exploring the Tangalle area as well as relaxing on the bay.
Large rooms and outstanding service. A bit dated though recently renovated. Good breakfast and dinner. Wi fi a bit slow but free

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The staff, the hotel, the views, the beach, the massages, the food...amazing!! We stayed for 4 days and that was too short. The staff are all really great, attentive and help to assist, everyone greets you with a hello. They are also happy to set up any day trips for you. We went on a safari and they arranged everything. They will also arrange transfers to/from the airport in Colombo. The hotel itself is beautiful, the views are breathtaking both during the day of the ocean and the millions of stars you can see at night. You can hear the waves crashing from your room, a nice way to be lulled to sleep. The property has great beaches, 2 pools and a water slide (just ask them and they will turn it on for you). The massages are great, highly recommended, so relaxing. We had every meal at the property and the food is really good.

I would highly recommend the hotel for any traveler or even for a wedding, it's the perfect location. I can't wait to visit again...soon!

Room Tip: The way the resort is set up each room has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

no words...just feelings and flashbacks about that wonderful time...Fabulous location

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My friends and I were vacationing in this beautiful hotel with October 28th to November 6th.
Pleasant, spacious rooms, charming and well-groomed green area, polite and courteous staff and a beautiful beach made ​​a lasting impression. And an excellent cuisine, delicious seafood pleased us every day.
Great thanks to Mr. Manju and the staff for the excellent atmosphere and service during the holidays!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. The hotel had a beautiful beach view. We were very happy to spend all of our time in the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiete. We lived in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We rested at the hotel from 09.10 to 21.10.2011. Located in a unique location, a separate enclosed bay reefs. The hotel itself is on a slope and represents the cottages are located in the jungle. Go tell that hotel for a relaxing holiday, with an abundance of flora and fauna (lizards, monkeys, giant squirrels, peacocks and butterflies the size of a sparrow and a huge number of birds, and of course the Chipmunks). Staff attentive. Two pools in seawater. Good food in the restaurant (all freshly cooked). Rooms (cottages) are cleaned daily, linen change. In the room air conditioner, refrigerator, hair dryer, TV NO (unity with nature), if you want to have near retsepshena. The hotel is located at 8-10 km from Tangalle and 10-12 km from Dikvela.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eva Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva Lanka Hotel

Address: Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eva Lanka Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Eva Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eva Lanka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.