We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle to your Saves list
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Pallikkudawa, Mahawela Rd., Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly NugaSewana Eden)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Fresh Juices
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tangalle
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This family owned hotel offers comfortable and cozy rooms, great food and excellent service. We felt at home from the very first moment. Tbe place is overlooking one smaller bay, the main street in between. Sbort walking distance to two beaches (one not to recommend to swim though) and 3min on tuk tuk to the famous Goyambokka beach.
Very good value for the money. Even though we stayed at a lot more expensive 4 and 5*hotels in Sri Lanka, we felt most comfortable at Nugasewana. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose one of the balcony rooms with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    69
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
106
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The set up of the place and the attentiveness of the staff are spot on. We had a deluxe room on the first floor overlooking the sandy bay across the road and the garden, terrace area of Nugasewana Eden. As the hotel is set above the main road there is a lot less street noise then you would normally get. You can't stop the busdrivers from being maniac drivers using their horns constantly though. That is just a fact of Sri Lankan life.

We stayed three nights after initially only booking two. The third day we simply spent sitting on the veranda outside our room, reading books, enjoying the view and getting nice food and fresh fruit juices brought up to us.

The room is large with a good bed, guaranteeing a more than average night sleep. Aircon works great which helps as well. Shower / bathroom large as well but could do with a bit more powerful shower. Decor is pretty basic in the room which is a pity as the rest of the place looks really nice.

Having a meal (any time of day it seems you can get yourself something to eat) on their part covered terrace is a joy. The area is nice and clean. There is a lovely sea breeze. And there is the staff. They have been great from the moment we were dropped off by tuktuk. They always approach you with a smile, always want to know how your day has been and no request is too much for them to handle. They are simply a bunch of extremely genuinely friendly hard working people.

We leave this place on a high, having enjoyed the nearby beach with its strong waves rolling in, having done a tour of the area by tuktuk including a cave temple, a massive golden Buddha temple and a rocky blowhole, having sampled devilled fish and other delicious freshly prepared dishes and having sampled many papaya and mango juices.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nugasewna Eden is a lovely hotel with amazing service ang hospitality! The food is good and the rooms good and comfortable. The outdooor restaurant is facing the ocean, with just a slight disturbanve from the road that runs between the hotell and the beach. Although, you can only jear the cars passing, not see them.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I will admit to a certain bias in my review as I am a regular guest at NugaSewana Eden. However, I also am a regular visitor to Sri Lanka, so I do know of the extremes that one can find in holiday lodging there. You can expect consistent excellence at this hotel.

The food, staff, location and cost are all outstanding and have been since my first visit here three years ago.

I have never had a bad experience or an unwelcome surprise while a guest at Nuga. Unlike, the previous reviewer, I have always found Nuga to be a very relaxing stay and I am always ensured of a peaceful sleep while there. Apparently, the vast majority of reveiwers agree with me.

Most importantly, the staff will do whatever it takes to ensure your comfortable stay.

I really cannot recommend this property more highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is our forth vacation at Nuga Sewana Eden, As always it was a peaceful vacation with excellent service. The staff and the management made our visit as home, especially since we were a family of two adults and two kids. We are already looking forward to our next occasion. Thanks again for you hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you like road noise, this place is for you!

Despite what thier website might look like, Nuga Sewana is NOT ON THE BEACH. It is perched above a bend in the main road going into Tangalla. All day and all night we heard trucks, busses & Tuk Tuks honking going around this turn.

To get to the nearest beach you have to walk along the side of the road, risking getting hit by oncoming traffic. The two nearest beaches are steep and full of rocks & shells. Not exactly prime swimming locations.

The staff is incredibly nice. The rooms were very clean. The accommodation & staff were wonderful. However given the awful location, and abundance of options in the area, I can't find any reason to stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Hotel is located outside of Tangalla next to the main road. Opposite of the road is the ocean and the waves can be heard. Our room that did not have a veranda and did not face the ocean was equipped with AC (surcharge), fan, free wifi, mosquito net. The room furniture and bathroom lived up to western standards.

I would request a room on the upper floor with a veranda facing the ocean.

Breakfast was not as good as in other guesthouses/hotels in Sri Lanka.

The personnel was helpful and attentive.

There is no driver accomondation.

A beautiful beach is Palm Paradise Beach which is not easy to find without knowledge of the area. A tuk tuk costs 150 Rupee. Once you know the way you can walk there from the hotel.

I can recommend the Cactus lounge which is a 400m walk from the Hotel onto the main road to the left side. The restaurant sign will appear on the right side of the road. The hotel also offers dinner that I did not try.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle

Address: Pallikkudawa, Mahawela Rd., Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly NugaSewana Eden)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tangalle
#2 Spa Hotel in Tangalle
#3 Family Hotel in Tangalle
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nugasewana Eden is a family-run independent hotel with 10 wonderfully comfortable and spotless AC rooms plus an open-air terrace restaurant with magnificent views overlooking Tangalle's most famously beautiful beach just a minute's walk down from your favorite room. Nugasewana Eden located on a beautiful garden over looking the magnificent view of the Tangalla Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nugasewana Eden Hotel Tangalle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.