We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Villas Restaurant

Moonstone Villas Restaurant
336 Matara Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
+(94)47 739 0490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 61 Restaurants in Tangalle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Moonstone Villas Restaurant is open air with a sea view and back ground music to help you enjoy our relaxed and friendly ambiance. Our chefs prepare all items on our a la carte menu specially for you and we even make our own bread.
Hertford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We ate here whilst staying at the Moonstone Villas and enjoyed good food and good service.

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and were keen to get to know us better.

Have they been practising the magic trick that Graham showed them?

Linda and Graham, Hertford, UK, with Ev n Ron, Edinburgh.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello Linda, Graham, Ev and Ron - thank you all for visiting us and for the great review you gave us. Unfortunately I have not seen the staff doing the magic trick yet , they must still be practicing. We really appreciate our guests commenting on the Restaurant site as we get so many reviews on the hotel site about our food and service quality which unfortunately the system does not copy to the restaurant site. This review will be shared with our staff. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent, attentive service and different, interesting food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Moonstone Villas and ate breakfast (excellent choices), some lunch and dinners here. There are some alternative choices of non-Sri Lankan food and the food is good. The service was probably the best we had in Sri Lanka. There is a sea-view through the telegraph wires! But you are above the road and shielded from it, however the road is pretty quiet at night. The surroundings of the Restaurant are the beautiful grounds of the Moonstone Villas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review - we are always appreciative to hear that our guests enjoy their experience in Moonstone Villas Restaurant. We do try to provide a variety of choices, Sri Lankan, Western ,and Vegetarian as we have a varied clientele. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillooet, Canada
1 review
“Very good salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really enjoyed both salads that I tried at this restaurant. The green salad was a good compliment to the small pizza. When I went again, I found that the coleslaw with cashews was nearly a meal in itself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good pizzas!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We shared a prawnpizza for lunch and it was really great!
Good service maybe a bit overprized, big lion 350:-.
Canadien woman is the owner, very friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fab Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Visited Moonstone Villa Restaurant on 22nd Dec - my husband and I shared a Large Prawn pizza which was really delicious. A tip is to ask for the cheese to be golden brown.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Villas Restaurant also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Moonstone Villas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Villas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.