We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay in Sri-Lanka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Good Karma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Good Karma Hotel to your Saves list
Good Karma Hotel
Rekawa Beach, | Wellodaya Village, Tangalle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our best stay in Sri-Lanka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spend a week here.
A perfect hotel on the perfect beach - only 8 guests of our place were on
the coast. They also have a large clean pool, if you don't like to jump with waves :)
Beautiful territory and garden with geckos and chipmunks.
Rooms were bigger and more fancy that we expected. Comfortable bed, quite
AC, large WC and a magnific terrace with ocean view.
Food was very nice too. Carry, Jambo prawns, tuna, calamari - all was very
fresh and tasty.
The owner - Sergey - really created a wonderful quite place with good karma. :) Btw, they are planning to open a yoga and ayurveda center.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We got this little hotel recommended and thanks god we tried it out!
It is a very small hotel just at the beach. The beach is amazing, it is wild, clean and untouched (unlike many other beaches we visited). We walked for hours without meeting anybody!!!. Absolutely amazing. The only but, is that when we went (September) there the sea was quite rough and swimming was rather dangerous. But then you had the swimming pool just 10m away which definitely made up for it. The hotel is like a 5 star hotel but in very very small, they only had like 8 rooms, so tranquillity is guaranteed. The hotel is very new and moderns, you will not miss anything. The communal area is beautiful, just at the beach, full of palm trees, the swimming pool and the beach restaurant, where you will get served fantastic food. The hotel is far away from everything and everybody so it is perfect to relax, make lovely walks on the beach etc. There is a nearby lovely lagoon with loads of birds and at nighttimes you can get a tuk tuk and go and see turtles laying their eggs, very cool. We really regretted to having stayed longer because after the paradise (this is how we ended up calling the place) everything seemed worse!!!! Oh and it’s very cheap for what you get!

Room Tip: Best rooms are in bungalw 1 and 2, first beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Good Karma Hotel and enjoyed every single day. We arrived late in the evening and found a uniquely beautiful garden and a very affectionate welcome by the hotel manager Sergio.The very friendly hotel manager Sergio took us along with the lovable staff, personally to our suite 3 A. We really enjoyed a pleasant surprise when we entered the suite .It was exceptionally clean and very tastefully decorated and the room was a good size . Our compliments also to the successful and exceptional bathroom.

Another compliment goes to the chef , we got our daily breakfast whenever we wanted it , without time limit. A great home cooked Sri Lankan curry, which was really a pleasure. The very attentive staff who very lovingly served us breakfast every day, also deserves high praise. Room service was also without complaint and the lady was always friendly and did the job perfect. Regarding the pool is very nice to mention was always clean and welcoming at all times . A fantastic place,highly recommended in every way. We will in any case come back to the suite 3A, there were wonderful and great location , relaxing and lasting pleasant lasting memory.

Very best wishes to the whole team of good karma, also to the nice person who was taking care for our bike at nights so lovely. Once we forgot to cover it and he did that without any order for it, Thanks again also to this friendly and carefully man! Even Sri Lanka has great places all over, this one we will definetely choose for our regularly stays as soon as possible in hope the Suite 3A will be available in this time, Also we dont want to forget to mention about the absolut fantasic beach. Peace is the word wich come to my mind, whenever i think back to this wonderfull place.

Thanks to everybody, whoever was involved to creat and build this perfect place between wonderfull coconut trees, It was surely a immense work and its really a place where we felt so save and comfortable. Thank you very much for this much nice and lovely care all around.

Hope to see you soon again, all the best and good luck for all of you there... Thank you so much for our wonderful days....

Gabriele and Sumudu

Room Tip: All rooms will be wonderfull, but we enjoyed the most room 3 A !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This beautiful hotel is located on an truly isolated stretch of coast a few miles east of Tangalle. At times, particularly walking along the beach, it is easy to imagine that you have the whole of Sri Lanka to yourself!

The rooms are beautifully and very stylishly furnished with a/c, spotless bathrooms and comfortable beds. They would benefit from adding toiletries and personal safe boxes which are usually expected in hotels of this standard though. Using floaty white curtains looks very pretty but is triumph of style over substance. they do not block any light and you will be awake at the crack of dawn every morning! There are no TVs either but I rather liked that, adding to the tranquility somehow.

There is a large, clean pool but insufficient loungers both there and on the beach. The food and drink is very good indeed, we particularly enjoyed the Sri Lankan (curry) breakfasts and the barbecue night. other reviewers have mentioned the dogs that wander along the beach and into the hotel site. This is true, there are three or four of them but they are all friendly and well behaved and no trouble whatsoever. It was a plus for me!

The only real problem at Good Karma is the patchy service. The staff themselves are absolutely lovely. They are friendly, helpful and obviously desperate to please. There just don't seem to be enough of them and you just get the feeling that few if any of them have worked in hotels before. This means that service can be slow and basic things can be forgotten. For example, we waited over an hour for a drink order in the restaurant once and our room was only serviced on one of the days. Also not having any credit card capability is not really practical at a hotel with relatively expensive room rates like this. The manager had to drive us to an ATM when we checked out which is surely not a long term solution!

In many ways none of this really matters that much. You come to Rekawa beach for the location, the ocean and the remote, deserted coastline. The long walks we enjoyed up and down the beach will stick in my memory for a long time.

The hotel is only a few months old and you can tell that the staff are still getting used to it themselves. Hopefully this means that the few downsides will soon be rectified and this hotel can become really special.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a balcony, ground floor rooms have a terrace. The balconies are obviously more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Newly opened resort,
Beautiful garden with villa's consisting of 2 spacious clean well-kept appartments. Spacious bathroom with luxury sanitary and very good hot shower. Restaurant at the beach with nice fresh food. Small portions but after talk with the boss he is going to change this. Local fishermen at the sea, no other people at the beautiful deserted beach closest to paradise as we have seen anywhere else. Pool with seasight and shower. Friendly Singalese staff very helpful with advices about local trips although there are no big spectacles at short distantie. Just walking in the surroundings is safe and nice local people around. Sea temperature very good and totally no pollution or littering. Enjoying our stay!

Negative:
No daily cleaning of room no change of linnen.
Small portions in restaurant but already discussed and boss promised to change this.
No drinking water bottles in room. No thee/coffee in room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

New, clean, good design and materials, good location far from noisy streets and crowds, comfortable rooms, very very friendly stuff, good kitchen, perfect clean and quiet beach with very few people, beautiful nature all around including the hotel's garden, reasonable prices, wifi... in other words - perfect. Me and my wife enjoyed staying there and will come back next year

Room Tip: Second floor is always the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We did a roundtrip of 2 weeks in Sri Lanka (visited 10 hotels) and wanted to end the third week at the beach. Although the location of the this hotel is nice At the beach, the atmosphere is very bad. This is caused by the very unfriendly Russian owner. He is complaining to his guests continuously about sand on his terras, splash of water from his pool etc. You have to put out your shoes to be on his terras. He is treating his guests just as unfriendly as his Singhalese personnel. He has 5 dogs that walk around all the time and ask for food during diner. The restsurant is very expensive for extremely small portions. We payed more for one course than at the other hotels for complete delicious buffets. We could only get more food if we would pay again. WIFI is not working or very slow. The rooms are clean and spacious, but no drinking water or thee/ coffee facility is available as we had in all other hotels during our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. We regret that we booked this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioVaryushkin, General Manager at Good Karma Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
This review - a fake. Written competitive hotel. Ignore it, please :)
BTW: I have only one dog - a miniature dachshund :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Good Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Karma Hotel

Address: Rekawa Beach, | Wellodaya Village, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful small hotel on the beach, built in February 2013. Only 5 bungalows with direct ocean views, well-kept area with tropical garden. Restaurant, swimming pool, ayurveda and yoga place. Spacious rooms with air conditioning, hot water and fine furnishings. The hotel is surrounded by a deserted beach on one side and fresh water lagoon - on the other. A paradise for lovers of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Good Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Karma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.