We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be paradise - but it's not there yet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Good Karma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Good Karma Hotel to your Saves list
Good Karma Hotel
Rekawa Beach, | Wellodaya Village, Tangalle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Could be paradise - but it's not there yet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This beautiful hotel is located on an truly isolated stretch of coast a few miles east of Tangalle. At times, particularly walking along the beach, it is easy to imagine that you have the whole of Sri Lanka to yourself!

The rooms are beautifully and very stylishly furnished with a/c, spotless bathrooms and comfortable beds. They would benefit from adding toiletries and personal safe boxes which are usually expected in hotels of this standard though. Using floaty white curtains looks very pretty but is triumph of style over substance. they do not block any light and you will be awake at the crack of dawn every morning! There are no TVs either but I rather liked that, adding to the tranquility somehow.

There is a large, clean pool but insufficient loungers both there and on the beach. The food and drink is very good indeed, we particularly enjoyed the Sri Lankan (curry) breakfasts and the barbecue night. other reviewers have mentioned the dogs that wander along the beach and into the hotel site. This is true, there are three or four of them but they are all friendly and well behaved and no trouble whatsoever. It was a plus for me!

The only real problem at Good Karma is the patchy service. The staff themselves are absolutely lovely. They are friendly, helpful and obviously desperate to please. There just don't seem to be enough of them and you just get the feeling that few if any of them have worked in hotels before. This means that service can be slow and basic things can be forgotten. For example, we waited over an hour for a drink order in the restaurant once and our room was only serviced on one of the days. Also not having any credit card capability is not really practical at a hotel with relatively expensive room rates like this. The manager had to drive us to an ATM when we checked out which is surely not a long term solution!

In many ways none of this really matters that much. You come to Rekawa beach for the location, the ocean and the remote, deserted coastline. The long walks we enjoyed up and down the beach will stick in my memory for a long time.

The hotel is only a few months old and you can tell that the staff are still getting used to it themselves. Hopefully this means that the few downsides will soon be rectified and this hotel can become really special.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a balcony, ground floor rooms have a terrace. The balconies are obviously more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    25
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zeist, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Newly opened resort,
Beautiful garden with villa's consisting of 2 spacious clean well-kept appartments. Spacious bathroom with luxury sanitary and very good hot shower. Restaurant at the beach with nice fresh food. Small portions but after talk with the boss he is going to change this. Local fishermen at the sea, no other people at the beautiful deserted beach closest to paradise as we have seen anywhere else. Pool with seasight and shower. Friendly Singalese staff very helpful with advices about local trips although there are no big spectacles at short distantie. Just walking in the surroundings is safe and nice local people around. Sea temperature very good and totally no pollution or littering. Enjoying our stay!

Negative:
No daily cleaning of room no change of linnen.
Small portions in restaurant but already discussed and boss promised to change this.
No drinking water bottles in room. No thee/coffee in room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

New, clean, good design and materials, good location far from noisy streets and crowds, comfortable rooms, very very friendly stuff, good kitchen, perfect clean and quiet beach with very few people, beautiful nature all around including the hotel's garden, reasonable prices, wifi... in other words - perfect. Me and my wife enjoyed staying there and will come back next year

Room Tip: Second floor is always the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We did a roundtrip of 2 weeks in Sri Lanka (visited 10 hotels) and wanted to end the third week at the beach. Although the location of the this hotel is nice At the beach, the atmosphere is very bad. This is caused by the very unfriendly Russian owner. He is complaining to his guests continuously about sand on his terras, splash of water from his pool etc. You have to put out your shoes to be on his terras. He is treating his guests just as unfriendly as his Singhalese personnel. He has 5 dogs that walk around all the time and ask for food during diner. The restsurant is very expensive for extremely small portions. We payed more for one course than at the other hotels for complete delicious buffets. We could only get more food if we would pay again. WIFI is not working or very slow. The rooms are clean and spacious, but no drinking water or thee/ coffee facility is available as we had in all other hotels during our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. We regret that we booked this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioVaryushkin, General Manager at Good Karma Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
This review - a fake. Written competitive hotel. Ignore it, please :)
BTW: I have only one dog - a miniature dachshund :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked into Good Karma Hotel for one night so we could visit the Turtle conservation project but loved it so much we stayed for an extra night. Our room and bathroom were both huge and immaculately clean and the bed was very comfy. No tv's in the room which we liked as the whole place is very peaceful which really is the point of coming here. The setting really is superb, right on the beach. The waves were quite rough because of the time of year we went but the beach is very clean and picturesque with palm trees lining the shore for quite some distance. The pool is a good size to swim lengths in and you can see and hear the sea whilst in it.

The food here is great, a little expensive to what we had been used to but very high quality, I had prawns one evening which were the best I had in our 3 weeks Sri Lanka stay, I think the main course dish was about 900, totally worth it.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and made our experience there a comfortable relaxing one, Sergey the owner even took me in his truck up the road to the cash point!!

The whole place has a very relaxed and calm feel around it, absolutely loved this place and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioVaryushkin, Управляющий at Good Karma Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you, Scott. I am grateful that you took the time to write a review - it is important for such a small hotel like ours. Good luck to you and Tottenham :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The rooms are beautiful and the location is perfect (right on an empty, perfect sandy beach). We went in the depths of the low season, so it was slightly surreal to be the only guests. It is quite a long way from the nearest town and so great if you want to get away from it all and just relax. The food there is really quite pricey, but very tasty!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

When me and my dad went backpacking in Sri Lanka, we followed the signs to Good Karma. We were the only guests there and the whole complex was still under construction. We only planned staying there for a day, 2 maximum but after we saw our amazing, CLEAN, modern apartment right at the beach, we booked ourselves in for 3 days. Good Karma is in a great position, with a lagoon on the left side and fishermen on the right side of the beach. The food-options were surprisingly many and good ones too, at least when we were there. The food was nice although it still needed a bit of work to get the orders right. It has a gorgeous, blue pool and modern interior.
If you want a peaceful getaway at the beach, to just relax, this is definitely the place to go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioVaryushkin, Управляющий at Good Karma Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you! I am pleased that you enjoyed our little hotel. But we have considered all remarks and has already offer a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Good Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Karma Hotel

Address: Rekawa Beach, | Wellodaya Village, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful small hotel on the beach, built in February 2013. Only 5 bungalows with direct ocean views, well-kept area with tropical garden. Restaurant, swimming pool, ayurveda and yoga place. Spacious rooms with air conditioning, hot water and fine furnishings. The hotel is surrounded by a deserted beach on one side and fresh water lagoon - on the other. A paradise for lovers of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Good Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Karma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.