We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total, and utter paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Don Hendrick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Don Hendrick
Save
You added Villa Don Hendrick to your Saves list
Pare Gedara, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Total, and utter paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We travelled around Sri Lanka for three weeks, staying in a mixture of luxury and cheaper places. We were lucky enough to stay in Villa Don Hendrick for 6 nights at the end of our trip - we had originally only booked for 4 nights but once you arrive it is impossible to leave. If our itinerary had been different and we had booked to stay here on the first night I honestly think we would have spent 3 weeks with Raf and Harold at Villa Don Hendrick.

Raf and Harold's home is simply paradise. You will not find a more relaxing, stunning, welcoming and stylish place to stay in Sri Lanka. Villa Don Hendrick is as beautifully designed as anywhere we have visted in London, this is all thanks to Raf and Harolds incredible taste! Whether you're sat by their pool, on your private terrace or having dinner in their main house I can guarantee you will feel relaxed in a way that we are yet to acheive elsewhere! You must accept the offer to have 'dinner at home' - Harold is an amazing chef! There is no getting away from the fact that Villa Don Hendrick has all of the immenities you could possibly need; comfortable relaxing rooms, beautiful gardens, great food, stunning beaches only a short tuk tuk away, however the thing that really makes this place is the hosts. Raf and Harold are two of the most wonderful, welcoming people we have had the pleasure to meet.

I am almost reluctant to post such a glowing review - we want to keep this paradise all to ourselves! One things for sure, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

It’s hard to know where to start writing about Villa Don Hendrick. The place? The food? The people? The rooms? The location? The pool? Absolutely perfect.
No words or pictures can really describe the tranquillity of this place. My boyfriend and I took a tuk tuk from the busy & noisy town to Villa Don Hendrick and from the minute the gates closed behind us we felt a surreal sense of calm. My boyfriend who finds it impossible to stay still or relax was speechless. A first!

We were led into the main house by Harold and met by Raf with a welcome drink (gorgeous welcome drink by the way!), we sat with them a while whilst they explained how Villa Don Hendrick (VDH) works and then they give us the tour. Wow. You really have to see and experience this place to understand how breath-taking it is. First of all the design of the house & rooms is incredible. Everything thought out, everything designed to perfection and with fantastic taste. You walk through the main house and when you reach the last door you are looking out over a long stretch of beautifully manicured lawn, a gorgeous swimming pool and beyond that is miles & miles of plantation & jungle. Simply stunning.

You instantly feel relaxed and whilst a big part of that is your surroundings, an equally big part is the two people who own VDH. Harold & Raf. 2 of the most kind, down to earth, beautiful, fun people who we hope to stay in touch with forever. They made our stay truly memorable, from taking care of our every need through to great conversation in the evenings and random chats throughout the day. We had lots of questions, where to go, what to do, what is that tree, this flower, what’s that wall made out of, where to go for lunch etc and all of our questions were answered with great care & detail. Never did we feel like we were outstaying our welcome or annoying Harold & Raf which I’m sure at times we probably were…we talk a lot!

The rest of the team at VDH are also extremely friendly and happy to help whenever needed, they stop for a chat when they see you and always have big smiles on their faces.

The rooms – beautiful. They have a mini safe, fridge & mini bar, tea, coffee, a mobile phone to take out with you (!!!), a torch, and stunning bathrooms with hot water showers, toiletries, and towels. A veranda with chairs, a drying rack – even the cushions on the veranda were well placed and beautiful! Every detail!

The fact that only 6 people can stay at VDH and that on two evenings we had it completely to ourselves made our stay even more special. It’s a truly one of a kind personal service.

The food is just fantastic – breakfast is lovely. A selection of fruits (pineapple from their own plantation!!), cheese’s, breads, fresh coffee, tea, yoghurt, and eggs if you want them. Harold and Raf will also make you dinner if you want to eat at VDH. The food was better than most restaurants, not only in Sri-Lanka but Singapore/Malaysia/London as well. Delicious!
They also cater for all dietary needs which for such a small kitchen is impressive!
After our first trip to VDH before Christmas we decided to return the week after Christmas and by complete chance there was one room available because of a last minute cancellation. So we went back! And loved it all over again.

The two of us run a resort in Malaysia and are so critical when we travel (rightly or wrongly!)– whether it’s about service, maintenance, environment, atmosphere – anything to do with the hotel/resort/service – we literally cannot fault VDH. Absolutely everything was perfect. Beyond perfect. Breath-taking, stunning, beautiful, amazing and any other synonym thereof. We have recommended VDH to many people we know and we will be back as soon as we get the chance!

Thank you Harold, Raf & the VDH team.

If you go to Sri Lanka, go to Villa Don Hendrick. We didn't want to leave.

Simply beautiful.

Room Tip: Any room! We stayed in 2 of the 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

After a week of hectic travelling around Sri Lanka, Villa Don Hendrick proved to be the perfect place for us to wind down for a few days. Behind a rather anonymous fence, hosts Raf and Harold have created a beautiful boutique resort with three double-bedded bungalows in a large, meticulously kept garden. We loved the peace and quiet, the elegance, the home-grown fresh fruit, and last but not least our hosts' never-ending attentiveness. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I recently stayed at Villa Don Hendrick as the last stop on a holiday away with my parents plus fiancé, and it was just simply fantastic. We left feeling refreshed, relaxed and totally rejuvenated.

The garden in which the bungalows are set is stunning and the pool is idyllic. Even though there is plenty to do in the local area, and we had planned to do some sightseeing, we actually ended up just staying and relaxing in the garden because it was just such a lovely place and we couldn't bare to tear ourselves away from it!! The rooms, and furniture, are extremely comfortable at Villa Don Hendrick and we slept so well there, which is just so important on a holiday.

From the initial booking, to the actual stay itself, the experience of Villa Don Hendrick was just perfect. I really can't speak highly enough of it. Nothing was too much trouble for our wonderful hosts Raf and Harold and their personalities / sense of design comes out through all the personal touches at Villa Don Hendrick which made our stay so special. We ate there and I was exceptionally awkward being vegetarian, and on a strict pre-wedding diet, but they catered brilliantly for us all and although I enjoyed 3 course dinners I still fitted into my wedding dress perfectly!

I simply can't wait to go back and have the Villa Don Hendrick experience again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have stayed in many wonderful places but nothing can compare with Villa Don Hendrick. It is an oasis of tranquillity combined with stylish Sri Lankan elegance, all the attention to detail expected by discerning travellers and complemented by the perfect hosts, Raf and Harold.

The idyllic setting, just off the beaten track, is not for those who are looking for beach bars and discos every night. That said, you are a short tuk-tuk drive away from Tangalle and its bars and beautiful beaches. It is a place for chilling out and enjoying the beautiful pool, gardens and serene, tropical ambience.

The villa has been extremely tastefully renovated, and furnished and equipped with very high quality Sri Lankan goods. The accommodation is very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Hair driers, toiletries and good quality towels are provided and the excellent showers even drain properly! There are tea and coffee making facilities in each room too. There are also laundry facilities available.

The whole atmosphere is relaxed and informal. Chanaka and team provide an excellent service. Raf and Harold provide delicious fresh food beautifully presented. They are the most perfect hosts imaginable, They are very friendly, yet sensitive to guests' needs. They are excellent company with a great sense of humour, yet are equally naturally discreet when required,

In recommending the place so highly, I hope that it remains unspoiled.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at Villa Don Hendrick and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday! This boutique offers great value for money, we were completely blown away by the 5-star luxury we experienced for such a reasonable cost! (we stayed 5 nights in galle that cost only slightly less than this but the standard and quality were MILES behind). The owners are lovely, the whole experience was fantastic.

Here are some of the pros of this great place:

Perfect location- away from the noisy, boring town and away from the throng of beachfront guesthouses, restaurants and tourists..it was simply divine- quiet, peaceful and relaxing. It was like we were staying in our own little luxury oasis. We loved swimming in the beautifully cared for and pristine pool as well as exploring their pineapple plantation. Occasionally in the mornings we would even see wild peacocks in the surrounding trees.

Food is delicious and very substantial! the breakfast every morning was huge and featured items that we were missing most from home- good quality bread, cheese and yoghurt! We also stayed for dinner one night which was lovely and home-cooked by Raf and Harold- it comes with an entree, main and dessert and half the experience was just to be surprised by what they were going to cook for you!

Lastly, the hosts Raf and Harold should be commended on their wonderful job in setting up this boutique. They are so welcoming, thoughtful and deserving of praise! When I commented on how I loved their tableware and decoration they took the time to make me an extensive list of shopping areas in galle and Colombo including which shops to go to, what things they sold and where they were. This was very kind of them as they did not have to go to this effort at all.. every last detail was taken care of and all our questions answered. They really take the time to get to know and talk to their guests (that is, if the guests want to talk! if you are there to simply be alone, rest assured they will leave you in peace). Overall it was a fantastic stay and we can't wait to come back again!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a fantastic 4 night stay over Christmas. The bungalows, of which there are 3, are beautiful, comfortable, private and have everything you need. The grounds are extremely peaceful and beautifully maintained. The infinity pool, which we had to ourselves for the majority of our stay, is great and has an amazing view. Raf and Harold, the owners, were attentive, friendly and cooked us delicious breakfasts and dinners. The attention to detail in every respect was way beyond what we expected. An extremely relaxing few days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Don Hendrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Don Hendrick

Address: Pare Gedara, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quiet village Wagegoda, at 3 kilometers from Tangalle and in the midst of the paddy fields, a neglected piece of paradise, on a amazing piece of land, surrounded by old palm trees, teak trees and lime trees has been transformed into a Boutique B&B for guests who want to feel “at home” in pure luxury. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Don Hendrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.