We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Tangalle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gems Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gems Garden to your Saves list
Gems Garden
Madilla Road, Marakolliya Beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 51 Tangalle B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Tangalle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time at Gems Garden and stayed longer than originally planned. The guesthouse is located on a private stretch of the beach with a lagoon at the back.

Ruwan and his sister were very welcoming, and cooked us some very tasty curries in the evening.

We recommend hiring a canoe in the lagoon for wildlife spotting and go swimming in the luxury swimming pool down the road (it's free!)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here in the beach Cabana and Found the place really welcoming. The Cabana itself is very large, if a little dark, with a great fan and the best shower we have used yet in Sri Lanka. The owner and family instil a great atmosphere and are incredibly friendly, which really made our stay here. Breakfast and dinner were served on a raised veranda area overlooking the beach, with some cool lighting and somewhere to play your own music (or the music left here by many a previous traveller) which was nice in the evenings. The included breakfast was a little basic, but we were impressed with the rice and curry served for dinner which was very good! Definitely a place worth staying if your planning a trip to Tangalle.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hi, we just showed up at Gem's Garden and we had a great stay. We have spent nights here in the end of August but we could have easily stayed longer. The cabana was really nice and we loved the bathroom. Really very clean, large and great shower. Also the hammocks on the beds are very nice, They have a great design which makes them very comfortable. Usually we prefer an aircon room, but the fan was just great. Breakfast was included and also very good. Actually we did not see the menu but we just discussed with the family what we liked to have and they aranged it for us. They also prepared a great Sri Lankan meal, which was just amazing. The guesthouse is right on the beach which is really comfortable. We have used the pool at a nearby resort (800m) which was also very comfortable. We came here with our 2 year and we were welcomed as we were family. We had great chats, great laughs, it is a very special place with special people. We loved it!

Room Tip: We would recommend to book in advance, to be sure to be able to stay here :-).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Hello everyone,

We stayed at the Gems Garden Guest house for two nights. We had the cabbana, so we can only rate this.

The cabbana itself was nice and big for a price of 3500 with fan and hot water (off season). Breakfast was not included.

They have their own part of the beach with several beach beds and chairs to sit on.

The owner and his sister were always there for us to help us in every situation. The best of our stay at Gems Garden was definitely the food! We had traditional Sri Lankan breakfast in the morning and a whole fish for dinner, which was one of the best dishes we had during our stay in Sri Lanka.

In summary, we can recommended this place. You might get cheaper rooms in Tangalle but you shouldnt miss the food there. Best regards,

Sarah and Alex

Ps. I had some trouble to find the phone number to ask them in advance if they have a room free. After searching a while in the internet, I've found the following number:

0094717103069

Hope it will help others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at Gems Garden in June. I stayed in the garden cabana which has two double beds, a fan and is extremely clean - I actually asked whether the place was brand new. The cabana was great value with rooms inside the guesthouse even cheaper. Breakfast was great and the rooms / restaurant are situated about 20 meters from the beach. I was there during off season so there was practically no one on the entire beach which was amazing. There are a few other guesthouses that are slightly more expensive and closer to the beach a bit further up. However, if you're lookin for value for money a clean room and decent food I can't recommend this place enough. There are a few bugs due to being close to the mangrove but nothing the mosquito net couldn't sort. We ate at another guesthouse on one night - the food is basically the same at each place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aigle, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Gems Garden. The beach in Tangalle is beautiful and empty! Best beach we saw in Sri Lanka! Although the waves and currents are strong and it's difficult to swim! Ruwan, the owner of the guesthouse, is always pleased to show you the best spots! We shared really nice moments with him in the mangrove, swimming in the ocean or playing carom. Gems Garden is a nice place to stay if you want to experience something local, and share true moments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was very comfortable in our room in Gems Garden. It's further down on the beach than most of the guest houses in Tangalle and there are only two rooms and a cabana. We were the only ones staying there, so we had a very private and relaxing stay. Ruwan and his sister were very kind hosts and were eager to help us plan our days. The food is great - authentic Sri Lankan! For the price (2,000LKR for a room in the house), it was the cleanest I saw while traveling in Sri Lanka. We spent hours chilling on the patio which is on stilts above the sand. My only complaint is that I felt that the food and the lagoon tour given to us by Ruwan were expensive in comparison to the amount we were paying for a room. Regardless, we really enjoyed our stay there - it was a nice change of pace from the busier places we stayed in Unawatuna and Hikkaduwa, although the beach in Tangalle is rocky and not as good for swimming as other locations.

Side note: they have two dogs, which were puppies at the time that we stayed there. Just another aspect that made our stay homey and fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gems Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gems Garden

Address: Madilla Road, Marakolliya Beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family guest house on the beach with a great open-air Sri Lankan seafood restaurant. The restaurant and guesthouse are located at the famous Marakolliya beach of Tangalle where beautiful sunsets are no exception. With four rooms available, two regular rooms in the guesthouse and one separate two cabana, every guest will feel at home. The simple and clean rooms are all equipped with a personal bathroom, fan, mosquito net and will contribute to the beach vibe. There are Balcony,private entrance, seating areas,dressing table,Hot shower,2 large bed,mosquito net,towels in the separate cabanas. You will enjoy the very special family atmosphere and experience the relaxing holidays you were craving for. Can provide accommodate turtle visit,Lagoon visit, airport service, or any other further travels. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Gems Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gems Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.