We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious sea food, beach and sun set view and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Landing Restaurant

Turtle Landing Restaurant
No. 443/3 Matara Road. | Pallikkudawa, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
716840283
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Tangalle
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious sea food, beach and sun set view and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Yesterday we finally got to try the #2 of Tangalle restaurants and the experience delivered!
We arrived at 7pm and was shortly after served delicious devilled shrimps and bbq tiger prawns accompanied by perfectly cooked rice with touch of vegetables, a fresh salad with, crispy fries and a taste ginger sauce to go along with it. The owner also told us a bit about the history of the restaurant (goes back to 1978!) and he arranged for us so that his neighbour could take us see turtles' nest at the Rekwa beach. We got to see 3, off season! Definitely worth a visit so give it a try. Remeber to order lobster or tuna in advance if you are up for something special.

Maren & Chris, Norway

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous lobster and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had the fresh lobster and calamari. Both were excellent and plentiful. You also know it's all freshly cooked as it didn't come out within five minutes of waiting like many restaurants you go to and it was all piping hot which is also hard to find in Sri Lanka. The ginger sauce was also delicious. The owners are lovely and this place deserves the excellent rating. Would definitely recommend you go. It's opposite the moonstone villas just west of Tangalle town with lovely views over the ocean.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The food here was wonderful and good value for money. The fish was fresh that day and cooked to perfection. Set just off the beach it was lovely to hear the sea whilst eating the food. Gutted that we are leaving tomorrow or we would have been back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Visited in july of 2013, we had prawns with an amazing ginger-garlic sauce on our first visit.
Mom ist cooking, son is serving, both are very kind and the place on the beach romantic as can be.
The portion was more than enough and the taste the reason we decided to try lobster a day later.
This meal was quite similar to the prawns a day before and came with fried rice. Additionaly it was served with salad and baby-bananas for dessert (Maybe we should tell that we had no problems with our stomaches at any time).
If you are nearby Tangalle, you should try, maybe you could even try their accomodation, which is directly above the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We came to enjoy the beach, which is next to the restaurant but the owner was so nice that we decided to have lunch as well. I had my first lobster ever for 3000 and my wife had prawns for 1500. Both were great and the garlic sause was awesome.

Mm from Slovenia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Landing Restaurant also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Turtle Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Landing Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.