We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great location, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Pumpkin Cabanas

Little Pumpkin Cabanas
Marakolliya Beach | Medilla, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
+94727876539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 46 restaurants in Tangalle
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, Great location, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were recommended the Little Pumpkin Cabanas by our guest house and it certainly did not disappoint. We went for the crab which we were shown before it was cooked, it was a monster! Something that size in the UK would set you back £50-75, but for this place it is usual! We also had a little one to go with it! Service was excellent and although we did wait a will for the meal to be served we were always with a drink in hand over looking the beach hoping for a turtle to appear!! Once it had arrived it was deliciously meaty and covered in the secret sauce! So tastey.
You have to eat here and make the most of the best seafood and great service. When we come back to the south coast this will be on our list again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    34
    13
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oh what a sauce!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food, fantastic secret sauce, big portions, attentive and fast service, very friendly staff, fabulous view!
Try the prawns!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Where the heart meets its rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have travelled far and long in Asia and there are those special places which you never forget. Little Pumpkin is one of them. When we first got to Marakolliya beach we spent our first night in Ganesh Cabanas but decided to move out. We had a lucky strike by finding a vacant cabana at Little Pumpkin. The place was already a hit for us from the night before as we had dinner there and loved it.

We stayed there for 4 nights but, had we been travelling for longer, I am sure we would have spent a couple of weeks there. Marakolliya beach is already a beautiful place on its own but having the luck of being hosted at Little Pumpkin was the best.

The cabanas are fairly priced and very comfortable. The food always excellent, the cook Malika put together some nice dishes for us and his Sri Lankan breakfast was by far the best I tasted here.

Dudley and Jaliya, the managers, were both very nice and ready to help us in anything we wanted. But we have to say that one of the nicest things of this place is Lokuman's smile. Lokuman is the guy serving the guests at their tables, Jaliya's son. If you do go there, both to stay or for a meal, you will understand what we mean.

This is one place We would definitely go back to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good seafood, great location and the friendliest people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This tiny little restaurant is hidden away at a corner of the beach that is quiet and scenic.the seafood is delicious and closer to the local tastes than the other restaurants along the beach. The family running it is exceptionally kind.....my friend met with a motorcycle accident, they not only nursed his wounds but also offered to repair the bike! Nevertheless, the quality of their food stands on its own, it was definitely the best lobster I've had in Sri Lanka!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We ate at little pumpkin twice and both meals were excellent. If you like seafood this is the place with great prawns and catch of the day. Owner was very friendly,the setting is idyllic overlooking the ocean and the prices werent too expensive compared to other restaurants in the area. Highly recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Pumpkin Cabanas also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Little Pumpkin Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Pumpkin Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.