We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, good choice, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Beach Villa Restaurant

Frangipani Beach Villa Restaurant
Medaketiya Road | Medaketiya Beach, Tangalle, Sri Lanka (Formerly Frangipani Beach Villas Restaurant)
+94773148889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 56 Restaurants in Tangalle
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Pasta, Sri Lankan, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our local cooks are happy to serve you fresh fruit juices, snacks or full dishes, as fresh Seafood, Rice & Curry, Chinese, Italian or salads.Upon request we organize private BBQ's (min. 5 pax) on the beach with traditional music and torches.Chill-out with some Cocktails, Wine or local Sri Lankan drinks in our Bar with some Lounge music.We buy our fresh and organic food every day at the Tangalle harbor and at the local market.
milano
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“Good position, good choice, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nice place just in front of the sea. Romantic for dinner and very quiet. Ok also only for drink something whith the feet in the sand. And, incredible for sri lanka, the service is fast!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great rice and curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We ate here two times during our stay in Tangalle. Mostly because it was in walking distance to were we stayed, but also because of the nice rice and curry, the fair prices (it is not as expensive as the profile indicates) and the nice refreshingly young team that runs that place. They also offer games for diversion in case the preparation of food takes some time.

The food was great and so were the people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were introduced to this restaurant by our driver Parakum and we were so impressed we went back again. Delicious fresh seafood and tasty mojitis!!! (Even if we did drink them out of their mint supply!!)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“sympathic and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

eat there once a very nice rice and curries, had to wait a little bit as it was cooked fresh. did also respect my food allergies (MSG, soya, etc) and prepared the food accordingly. nice staff and good atmosphere next to the beach in a calm environment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a grilled prawns at night, tasted fresh, and the sauce was very delicious, but more expensive compared other places.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frangipani Beach Villa Restaurant also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Frangipani Beach Villa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Beach Villa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.