We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful & charming boutique hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Tangalla

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Tangalla
Save
You added Coco Tangalla to your Saves list
355 Mahawella Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tangalle
Benenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful & charming boutique hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights in this delightful hotel. The room was comfortable, cool and stylish.
Wonderful open air bathroom. Plenty of comfy places to sit around the hotel. Great pool. Delicous food.Very attentive staff without being intrusive, We would have liked to have stayed longer . Slight drawback closeness of the road . Sea too rough by the hotel but great fun to take a tuk tuk to nearby Paradise bay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
71
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a very pleasant small hotel with several personal touches.
The staff were attentive and produced good food from a very small kitchen.
Our rooms were rather small and did not have a view and I guess, from other reviews, that it would be worth asking for the room with balcony overlooking the pool. The en suite shower room was simple but fine.

The hotel is next to the sea with a rocky shoreline. Sunbeds are available at the pool-side and there is seating on the balcony overlooking the pool.

The dining room has open sides and overlooks the sea. It is a pleasant place to enjoy the excellent food. The hotel does not have a liquor licence but, not only were they happy to send out for some beers for us, they served us complimentary wine with the meal.

Just a point for the owner. The eccentric key fob is a nice touch but once in the room you can only close the door by sliding a bolt. This makes it difficult for a second person to enter, especially if you are in the shower.

All in all a pleasant place to stay for two or three nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We recently stayed in this lovely property for 3 nights. We were fortunate to have the room overlooking the pool and the beach which is the only one with a balcony and excellent bathroom. Although I peeked into the other rooms which were stylish although smaller, but didn't have the fantastic views. The staff were friendly and helpful (organised a whale watching trip at Marissa) and suggested other trips out including the fish market. The food was excellent, varied and extremely fresh. Great walks along the beach. Amazing to watch the guy climb the trees in the grounds and get the coconuts. Had fun watching the antics of the monkeys in the grounds. The pool was like getting into a warm bath! Truly sad to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony deluxe room, otherwise try not t have the room overlooking the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were lucky to spend 3 nights in this establishments and we had an amazing time. We were lucky enough to have the room with the balcony and the view on the pool and the see.
The service was great during all that time and the food is simply the best we had (for non Sri Lankan food) with fresh soups and fish. (
It must be said that eating there has a small price (for Sri Lanka) but it's completely justified.
The Showers are spacious and we loved the pool.
The Wifi did not work in the room but we were supposed to be on holidays so no biggy really :) (and it works in the reception area)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Such a lovely hotel overall - particularly the communal areas - and staff were charming. Had great massage nearby that hotel arranged. Good also great. Just a shame about the main road being so near and our room looked out onto the dining area (and therefore not as private as others).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el015e
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Oh we loved this place so much and we were very sad to leave after 6 days of lounging around at this beautiful house! We had a beautiful deluxe room with a super cool outdoor bathroom, and the rest of the house is stylishly decorated. Without sounding negative there were no real highlights as everything was wonderful - the service, the staff, the pool, the food and the location right on the beach and all the little extras that they did for us to make our stay special! Thank you to everyone at Coco Tangalle.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mui Ne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Colours, company, cuisine and service: Magical!

A wonderful birthday lunch with great views over the Indian Ocean.
Inspiring house and garden designs with best food in the area, on par with the Last House.
Proximity to the road is not an issue. Road from Colombo is speedy and set to be more so.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Tangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tangalla

Address: 355 Mahawella Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tangalla is a 6-bedroomed black and white colonial villa, this Tangalle hotel is managed by the owner of The Kandy House and The Last House. Book by the room or as a whole house, it is well suited for couples and families. The main house has four bedrooms and an adjoining annex with an additional two bedrooms. The interiors are stylishly decorated with a mixture of modern furniture and period antiques, local art, with infusions of colour and exotic fabrics. The living and dining areas introduce some art deco features. All to create warm and informal rooms to relax.For couples planning their Sri Lankan beach wedding, Coco Tangalla is a beautiful luxury villa, ideal as a stylish wedding venue, offering delicious food and exceptional service. With a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit in the area, it is situated very conveniently to explore. From Coco Tangalla you can visit Yala National Park on safari amongst the word’s highest concentration of leopards, or enjoy the company of large herds of elephants at Udawalawe Reserve, or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Blue Whales have become a key part of any trip to the island. Whale watching Sri Lanka style can be organized with trips from Mirissa only 45 minutes away. Or for chance sightings while Dolphin watching Sri Lanka. Closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella’s fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea.Alternatively a short trip away are the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa’s architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There’s the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at the Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Tangalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.