We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Last House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Last House
Save
You added The Last House to your Saves list
Pubudu Mawatha | Seenimodara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Guesthouse is located at a perfect long beautiful beach and very well kept. The cuisine is high class and offers a lot of different styles. The whole house offers its guest a perfect hideaway from noises (except for birds and the waves) and stress. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moratuwa, null, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

One of the VERY BEST PROPERTIES I've experienced. Ideally should be listed under small niche luxury boutique hotel not as B & B due to its superior features. Its one of the classiest architectural designs by late Bawa being his last product. Perfect Beach. Idealic getaway. Hope trip advisor would classify correctly as a small hotel.

Room Tip: For a small party or family request for Cinnamon Hill Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This slightly rustic, beautifully designed Geoffrey Bawa retreat was as close to perfect as we could have imagined. Rooms are spacious and comfortable in a simple way --good fans and mosquito nets, true rainshowers with hot water, nice linens, and good lighting for reading. The grounds give view to the beach beyond, which offers long walks, no crowds, and good surf for those who like waves. Food is fresh, especially fish and seafood, with some local specialties such as egg hoppers and onion sambal for breakfast which should not be missed. The open areas provide great seating for looking at the sea, lounging, and reading. Staff are kind an unobtrusive, but ready to assist if you need. Wifi is available in the common area if you need it, but after a few hours here you won't want to be checking it. The comfort of this spot, its soothing colours and relaxing, remote atmosphere made us regret leaving it for points beyond.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely; ones in the main house have good sea views, but might not be suitable for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to imagine a hotel closer to perfection than this. Everything from the slendour of the beach to the open and balanced architecture to the excellent cooking and the teeming wildlife is a delight. The staff were very kind towards our three kids and Ananda, the manager, is informative, helpful and hugely professional.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I couldn't fault our stay at the Last House in March 2013. Architecturally alone, the place is a masterpiece. To fully appreciate it, I'd recommend doing ten minutes' pre-reading about Geoffrey Bawa's work on the internet.

The Last House is wonderfully isolated. There is no access to the hustle and bustle of Tangalle, thankfully. However, you are afforded the priceless pleasure of a private beach at the bottom of the garden. I say private, you do of course share it with the fishermen, who are all friendly and unobtrusive.

Food is exceptional, and the service is friendly and personal. You are never sharing the place with more than two or three other parties, so the staff remain attentive throughout.

We took staff up on the offer to arrange a night-time trip to a beach along the coast with a local turtle conservation NGO. It was obviously an incredible privilege to see these magnificent beasts in the wild. But we ended up being part of quite a large group, which became a little oppressive and I wasn't absolutely convinced that we weren't disturbing the animals by being on the beach in those numbers.

Likewise with the whale-watching. Six hours at sea to catch a glimpse of a whale and a loose-handful of dolphins. In retrospect, I'd rather have been on my back in the garden at the Last House with a book and a bottle of beer.

Speaking of which, the Last House doesn't have a bar or any alcoholic drinks. You can ask for them to go out and get some but you have to pay for the Tuk Tuk to bring it out for you. This is a quirk and is kind of nice, but it was a long journey to get there and I spent much of the latter stages fantasising about a cold beer. We had to wait for a few hours for the beers to get there after our arrival. I think it'd be a nice touch if staff could offer guests a cold lager on arrival. I accept there may be local sensibilities at play here, but when catering for an international audience, these things make the difference.

If there was a sixth star, I'd award it.

Wonderful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful here and each has its own architectural character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

In summary, this is an amazing place to stay – like having your own beautiful summer house on the beach, staffed by a discreet team and with a brilliant chef.

This place is pretty special and unique – originally designed by Bawa as a private house. There's only 6 guest rooms so you'll always feel like you've more or less got the place to yourself. Each room has its own style and design, but all are in the Bawa style of linking the outdoors and indoors – ours (Moonamal) had an outdoors bathroom (as well as an indoors), with private terrace and seating areas, which is great if you don’t fancy lounging about in the central seating area.

The pool is nice and a decent size, but you also have direct access to the beach from the bottom of the garden which is ideal. We went swimming and body-boarding most days and had a great time. The food was simply amazing, some of the best I had during our stay in Sri Lanka. However, it's not cheap by their standards but the freshness of the fish and talent of the chef make it worth it.

The service is designed to add to the feel of being in your own home - they pretty much leave you completely alone except for meal times. But there is always someone around if you need them (even if you have to walk in to the kitchen to find them). It's also worth noting it's very secluded – we loved having the equivalent of a private beach, but if you want to spend your days ‘doing’ and trying lots of different menus, I'd consider looking around before booking, otherwise, this place is pretty amazing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. If you can afford it, get the suite on the 1st floor of the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

A wonderful boutique hotel in a beautiful peaceful location by the beach. Service was unobtrusive, the food was excellent. Ananda and his staff made us feel very special. This was the best hotel of the eight hotels we stayed in in our three week tour of Sri Lanka. We stayed four nights and could have stayed longer. The lobster dinners and the barbecue were memorable. Not licensed but they can organise delivery of beer and wines with absolutely no mark-up.We loved the long walks on the empty beach and the body boarding even for four "silver surfer" was wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in NA (called after a flower) It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Last House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last House

Address: Pubudu Mawatha | Seenimodara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s beach and chic at this Tangalle beach villa. As Geoffrey Bawa’s final example of his infamous brand of architecture throughout Sri Lanka, this six-bedroomed seaside escape enjoys space, ventilation and barefoot luxury in a private location. Decor throughout the property is largely a mix of fresh white walls and grey polished cement floors, serving as a backdrop to a mixture of antique and contemporary furniture, all adorned with bright colours. Bedrooms enjoy views of the sea or a lagoon, set in tropical gardens with a central swimming pool. Whether with family, friends or as a couple, This Tangalle Hotel - The Last House is a truly serene tropical hideaway planted beside the Indian Ocean. It can be booked in part or as a whole house, and is staffed (including a chef) to accommodate up to 14 guests. Well suited for couples and families, and situated at the end of unspoilt Mawella beach. The house is also a perfect venue for your Sri Lanka beach wedding.The Last House provides for a quintessentially seaside holiday combined with a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit on the south coast. From The Last House you can visit Yala National Park to see Sri Lanka's highest concentration of Leopards, see elephants at Udawalawe Reserve or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Alternatively try whale watching from Mirissa, only 45 minutes away. Or closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella’s fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea.For sights nearby, take a short trip to the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa’s architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There’s the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Last House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.