We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic beach fish restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sha Sha Seafood

Sha Sha Seafood
Kapuhenwala Rd | Marakolliya, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
0776938409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Tangalle
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic beach fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ok, so, on the one hand, no electricity or fancy linen....but, if 4 tables on the beach, each candlelit, with a small palm leaves beach bonfire floats your boat, book and eat here! The quality of the seafood (mullet, shown to me before cooking- super fresh, plus prawns), were all cooked superbly, delicately flavoured and handled with care. Though basic the rudimentary vibe adds to it's castaway romantic feeling. Very friendly and exemplary service, excellent food, setting to die for... No music, but the waves crashing and breaking provide a suitable backdrop. Go, you'll love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    12
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a date here with my husband and we couldn't have asked for a more romantic setting.
It's a tiny little place on stilts right on the beach with tables and chairs in the sand, and tons of candle light.
And the food was spectacular! We had prawns and mullet, both caught fresh today and they had us select what we wanted from their platters before it was cooked. And I have to say, I wasn't overly excited at the idea of having potatoes but they were great!
You must try this place; it is truly fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place as it was on the top among Tangalle restaurants. It situated on a beach quite far from central Tangalle beach. So it took time to get there on tuk-tuk. Also we had to walk on dark beach. Place is romantic lit only by candles. Prawns and calamities were average, nothing special. They doesn't have a toilet and this is not very convinient. Book the table in advance. So it's nice to try if you are living nearby. But we tried better seafood in Tangalle.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arundel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple stunning serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful seafood, secluded setting no electricity, lit by candles and moonlight. We had the choice of prawns or fish served with ginger and potatoes, fresh and delicious, highly recommended and Not to be missed

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location is the winner for Sha Sha, it is basically a shack at the very end of the beach, only accessible from the beach- walk as far as the crocodile bar & then another 200 metres. They dont have a menu, they serve whatever fish or lobsters they get that day- served with potatoes, ginger & cold beer. We had lobster which was just delicious & on a second visit red snapper.Lobster seemed to be rare when we where there so best to call the owner & check what they have in before you go, that way they can put it aside for you.The only down side is the large ammount of miniture flies that appear at sundown, so I would advise going there at half four, have your meal, watch sunset at 6 & then leave

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sha Sha Seafood also viewed

 
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Sha Sha Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sha Sha Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.