We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal rip off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas to your Saves list
Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas
n.u. Jayawrdana road | Medaketiya beach, Tangalle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Royal rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Seclusion, close to the beach and friendly animals...if this is what you are after then Frangipani villas is a must stay. What they forget to mention is that you'll be ripped off, there is nothing to do unless you fancy paying overrated prices for one of their 'Ayurvedic' massages which leaves you feeling traumatized, oh and by the way is carried out in the corridor. Friendly animals? Yes bed bugs...and for that matter the worst bed bugs I've yet to discover on any of my travels. Bed bugs so friendly that resulted in a visit to a hospital! Staff were overly helpful once they realised they were royally ripping us off. On asking for a nights refund due to the over friendly bed bugs occupying our room we were presented with 200 rupees barely enough to cover any hospital costs or medication. A slap in the face!
A stay at Frangipani villas hotel of horrors isn't quite complete without an order of their menu. Bland, meagre in portions and totally lacking in the taste sensations of the rest of Sri Lanka. All in all...if you fancy a different Sri Lanka experience stay here. Bored of the clothes in your backpack then also stay here as you'll need to throw out the majority of your infested clothes and purchase a whole new wardrobe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    30
    14
    6
    12
See reviews for
25
76
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews, and I have to agree with all of the very positive ones. I think that everything has already been said, but here it goes again. Great staff, nice owner, amazing setting, excellent setup, great rooms, good breakfasts. The food took a while to be prepared but that is the same everywhere. Definitely one of the best locations and hotels in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Of course, choose one of the rooms facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good sized rooms, comfortable, clean, big balconies, hot showers, good food, right on the beach, cool staff, reasonable price, wi-fi (that actually works), great!

Stayed here for two nights and loved it. The place is run by Nalin, a cool and friendly bloke who seems to have given jobs to most of his mates. The result is a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We had a puncture in our hire car as soon as we arrived and the staff were super-helpful, to the extent that I wasn't actually allowed to get my hands dirty as they changed the tyre for me. Thanks very much! The next day, one of the guys, Fasloon, came with me to a tyre repair place and got it all sorted for me - now that's good service!

By the time we left the place we felt like we were mates with the staff here, they were that talkative and friendly (not in an annoying way though - they do leave you alone a lot of the time).

The food is typical Sri Lankan fare; dahl, curries, roti etc., but done to a high standard and in good sized portions.

We stayed in an upstairs room with a fan, no A/C, in November, and it was fine.

We'll definitely go back here if we return to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are probably more private than the downstairs ones as the seating out the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Frangipani for a week in October whilst visiting schools in the area with a group of colleagues.

Our days were long and tiring and it was an absolute delight to return to the Frangipani every evening! The bar / restaurant leads straight onto the sandy beach, where you can relax in a deck chair or help the local fishermen pull in their fishing nets.

The service at the hotel was excellent. The friendly staff, led by the young owner Nalin, made our visit very enjoyable. They went out of their way to help us relax and unwind.

The food was good quality, with a mixture of Sri Lankan and Western cuisine. The fresh fish and crab were particularly good.

The rooms are spacious and clean. (Could we have the towels changed more often Nalin?)

I would recommend this small, friendly guest house to anyone venturing to Southern Sri Lanka and I am hoping to return with a group of friends next year!

Room Tip: I stayed in an upstairs room and a downstairs room. The downstairs rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Frangipani Beach Villas is the perfect guesthouse for those looking for a relaxing time in beautiful Paradise like surroundings.

As many has already pointed out, the staff is outstanding! So friendly and serviceminded. You wont find yourself bored or alone, ever. There is always a deck of cards that needs to be played, a game of caram going down vollyball being played or you can just having the time of your life in the waves.

To comment on, and to give my point of view on the fact that some people has been disapointed with the food, i personally loved the food. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here for one week straight and we were happy, or more than happy, every time. We enjoyed fresh crab, fish, curries, (Pumpkin curry, yum!) western food, sallads, deserts and more. The chef is also adorable, Augustine. The size of portions are huge! Huge!!

The rooms are lovely, beautiful and gives you just the right holidayfeel. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the patios have just the perfect amount of privacy and life about them.

Every morning, incence is lit in the hallway under the beautiful teakstaircase, fresh flowers are brought in to worship Buddha and Ganesh. This is a touchin, genuine detail, wich gave me a very relaxing and beautiful start of the day.


We were all really sad to leave Frangipani and everybody there, but im pretty sure we'll see eachother again, until then, greetings from Sweden to all of you, and a big thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My female colleagues and I stayed at the Frangipani for nine nights whilst we visited schools in the area.
The location of this small hotel is exquisite - directly onto a beautiful beach with stunning views. Local fisherman add character and friendly locals offer an insight into daily life.
Hospitality at the hotel was superb and service was second to none. The staff really looked after us and advised us on excursions and shopping trips. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The menu is varied, offering fresh seafood dishes, traditional Sri Lankan cuisine and good old British favourites like chicken and chips - to name but a few.
Our double room was very spacious, housing two double beds and a large wet room.The furnishings and decor were basic but fit for purpose. An added extra was a small gecko, which we named Mikey, who kept the Mosquitos at bay!!
Free wi-fi was a welcome extra, which enabled us to stay in touch with family and friends back in England.
Bedding and towels could have been changed more frequently and a broken bathroom sink tap fixed before we left, but apart from that we had a really enjoyable stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This place is amazing. The food is good, the rooms very clean, big and with hot water, the atmosphere is amazing. The people who work here make your stay in sri lanka one never to forget...they will do anything to please you. this is THE spot to make your holliday complete!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas

Address: n.u. Jayawrdana road | Medaketiya beach, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frangipani Beach Villa is located in a quiet and peaceful part of Tangalle, directly on the beach, with a magnificent view over the ocean. Stepping outside in the morning with the coconut palmtrees surrounding you, the soft white sand under your feet and the sound of the waves makes you feel like you are still dreaming. You can make long walks along the outstretched palm fringed beach. One of the charms of Frangipani Beach Villa is no mass tourism but a quiet and unspoiled place where you can discover the real Sri Lanka. As there are only 8 rooms you will find yourself in a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. This combined with the warm Sri Lankan hospitality and great service will make you feel at home. At Frangpani Beach Restaurant you can dine under the stars or in our natural style restaurant. Enjoy the exotic, fresh seafood and traditional Sri Lankan dishes. Frangipani Beach Villa is conveniently located as it is just a short walk from the centre of Tangalle. It is known as a beautiful fishing town in the deep south of Sri Lanka and provides a perfect starting point for excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.