We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckingham Place Restaurant

Buckingham Place Restaurant
Wellawathugoda Road | Rekawa Village, Netolpitiya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
+94 (0) 473489447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 61 Restaurants in Tangalle
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Dessert, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were staying just to the West of Tangalle, but went to Buckingham Place for an evening meal, en route to turtle watching at Rekawa.

Greeted by Sir Nick of Buckingham himself, a most welcoming and hospitable host. An interesting, eclectic and very well executed menu catered for the mixed tastes of myself, my wife and our 17,15 & 10 year old kids. (Kids give the chips 5 stars, 6 if they could).

Very relaxed and unhurried. We were kindly shown around the rooms, which are extremely well thought out and inviting.

Thank you Mr B, we very much enjoyed our evening with you - when we pottered down to the beach we were lucky enough to see a turtle laying her eggs, so all in all a unique and enjoyable evening from every aspect.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham Place Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Today I’m thrilled to read your kind vote of confidence in our restaurant – your excellent review is a complete surprise and certainly, one that's most welcome.

That we serve non-resident guests by reservation is a well kept secret so far, but, with a few more reviews like yours this will hopefully change sooner rather than later.

At risk of being completely misunderstood by conservationists - clearly the turtles and chips are a hit out at Rekawa, though I'm obviously reassured too that our overall menu mix can satisfy tastes across generations and, that turtles still come home to nest.

Please return to Sri Lanka and Buckingham Place – it’s not such a bad place to stay either!

Sincere thanks and warmest regards to you all – it was a pleasure to serve you and then read your kind review today. Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Foodie treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you're looking for quick and easy meals, then this is not for you. Flavourful, fresh, works of art and taste explosions - each meal. It's all about you and your desires.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham Place Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Many thanks for treating us to a review of our restaurant. With such a glowing testimonial I naturally worry that expectations of future diners may be ‘on the high side’ but, I guess my reservation only will spur us on to improve on what we do!

You were both delightful guests to host and I’m sincerely happy you had such a great time on Sri Lanka and, that you are recommending this islands unique hospitality to everyone you can.

We look forward to serving your next Rice & Curry....

On behalf of Chef, his team and everyone at Buckingham Place

Warmest regards, Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Liked everything from the location, rooms, scenery, ambiance, food, could not fault it in anyway, Will be coming back soonest. Wonderful tranquil experience.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham Place Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you once again...

I’m absolutely delighted with your generous praise for our restaurant and that you have reviewed it as a separate entity to the hotel. As you know, we plan to expand on what we do and eventually move the restaurant to a new building. This combined with extra menu choice and some innovative ideas will hopefully put the place firmly on the map for non-resident diners.

Currently we operate a strict ‘reservations only’ policy and on rare occasions our limited capacity sadly prevents us from welcoming everybody. I aim to alleviate this with our plans as just as soon as I can.

On behalf of the team I send sincere good wishes to you both and remind you how welcome you are at this hotel!!

Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Nick's restuarant serves up some of the best food in Sri Lanka with wonderful surroundings. This is our second stay at Buckingham Place and we will be back!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham Place Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
What a lovely surprise, a separate and terrific review of our restaurant. Thank you very much indeed.

Welcoming you both back to the hotel and seeing you enjoy yourselves in our restaurant once more was a huge delight and without doubt reward enough for us all. At the risk of repeating myself - thank you for returning, thanks too for your good custom, plus, thank you for the hugely entertaining time we shared with you all.

I suspect you may now become regular travellers to Sri Lanka which will of course be good news; just please make sure that when you do come back, you return to see us all at Buckingham Place at least one more time!!

Warmest wishes to you, you never fail to impress us either... Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckingham Place Restaurant also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Buckingham Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckingham Place Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.