We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surya Garden Best Place - Real Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surya Garden Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surya Garden Guesthouse
Save
You added Surya Garden Guesthouse to your Saves list
Pubudu Mawata, Seenimodara, Tangalle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 53 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surya Garden Best Place - Real Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed three lovely nights at this wonderful place where everything is done to make you feel at home. The owner Manuela is an Italian lady.
The rooms are beautifully decorated. Nothing is missing. A lot of attention is paid to the details. Staff takes time to listen to you and is always at your disposal. The food is very good.
The beach was lovely with big waves and fairly clean
I recommend this hotel to any one who would love to paradise experience cost of Sri Lanka
Thank you very much !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Surya Garden resthouse is a wonderful little place!!! It is really good value, not too expensive, small (only 3 bungalows for now, planning to build 2 more). The owner Manuela is an Italian lady (quite a character!) and the place is very nicely decorated. Basic but "chic". The restaurant offers both sri lankan and italian food, everything truly excellent. The staff is very nice, cares for you like if you were an old friend needing some rest. Discrete but caring and helpful. 

The bungalows are in the garden, about 100m from the beach and the days we were there, there was almost no one on the beach but us! We went in early August which in theory is not a good time of the year (best is december to april). There were lots of waves, the water was never still but you could still bath and it's actually very fun to play in the waves. If you are just careful, the whole combinstion of the resthouse and the beach made it for us the best place in Sri Lanka!

It was a great way to end the trip, a couple of days in paradise... :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent 4 days in Surya Gardens and had a great time. The place is perfect for a relaxing holiday, thanks to the charming surroundings and very friendly and helpful staff. As guests we felt very welcome and and enjoyed the hospitality. This stay was what we were looking for after a long and stressfull European winter. We enjoyed the excellent food, prepared from fresh, local ingrediences and adpted to our taste. The staff helped to organise interesting excursions to Tangalle marked, Budist rock temples, Flying Dog watching, national parks and the Highlands. In short Surya Gardens provided exellent opportunities for relaxation and gaining new impressions in the mixture that we chose ourselves. We very much like that Surya Gardens use fresh locally produced products -fish, shrimps and vegetables and furnish the guest house with locally produced materials, f.ex. the matresses are made from coconut fibers and cutlery is made by local artisians. This gives a special feeling of simplicity and being close to the roots - that we recommend you to try for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We (2 adults and 4 children) spent 6 fantastic days in Surya Gardens - much too less. The beautiful resort in the middle of nature with palms and lizards, the wonderful lonely beach where the boys discovered their passion for surfing, the nice restaurant with local and Italian food - and in particular: the increadible friendly and helpful staff caring for our welfare. All this made our holidays unforgettable. Thanks to the whole crew!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Forget about your everyday worries and the rush, the predictabilities, the efficiencies: this is a place to unwind and put your feet up with a book and a drink. The sea was a little rough when we visited, but with a body board lots of fun to play in!

The comfortable, airy, spotlessly clean, thoughtfully designed bungalows (loved the "outdoor washrooms") are nestled behind a well maintained flowering garden and behind the "dinning hall". The faint sound of the waves crashing can be heard when the overhead fan is not being used.

The eating experience was a tasty adventure. Timeless in the delivery, order a cold drink while you wait and enjoy the chirping of the birds (or take advantage of the WIFI). We loved the food we received, although it was not always what we had asked for. The super friendly staff and owner (once her coffee had been consumed :)) were very accommodating to our specific needs and quite frankly despite the process, the quality was wonderful.

We feel lucky to also of had the chance to purchase some lovely designed jewellery from a local designer and would urge anybody looking for good quality at reasonable rates to inquire.


Of great appreciation was also having a room available for our driver to stay in.

A great stay and wish everyone at Surya Garden all the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This little wonderful guest house just before Tangalle is a fantastic place to stay lowkey in one of Sri Lanka's nicest beaches. Things go slower at this little place with individual neat bungalows. The secluded wide 1km beach in front only has the guesthouse and local fishermen using it. The staff and food are great, but it's served at the local pace, so you just have to plan ahead. But the bottomline, is if you want to relax and just not think about the wider world, this is a perfect guesthouse! And the Italian food there is outstanding!

Room Tip: Don't worry about it! Just check in and they'll give you whatever bungalow is open. No worri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surya G, Manager at Surya Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear WanderingT, thank you for your nice words about our guesthouse, We appreciate it very much. While trying to make our services better step by step, we will always keep this atmosphere and spirit of Surya Garden as you found and as you also like. You are welcome to visit us anytime again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in early January having originally planned to stay for 4 or 5 nights. The bungalows are large and stylish and thoughtfully appointed with an unusual outdoor bathroom and a great veranda area. They were spotless and also cleaned during our stay. It is very peaceful and quiet at night. The setting is idyllic- just 3 bungalows in a large jungle garden which rambles down to the beautiful beach. The restaurant is a very pleasant place to relax. The excellent food is prepared to order- you can choose from Italian or Sri Lankan. The virtually deserted beach is very long and sandy with a few private villas and one other place with bungalows further along. The sea is relatively safe here compared with other places in Tangalle - but when we went you had to go quite far out beyond the breakers to actually swim- and there were still some big waves. The beach is idyllic- wide,sandy and palm fringed with a lagoon at one end. In the evening you'll see fishermen hauling up their boats. The staff are friendly and helpful and the owner Manuella is thoughtful and very knowledgeable. Overall it was a really special atmospheric place and good value for money too. You can't really walk to any night life or other restaurants - which was fine for us- but might be a problem for some people. You will find people for the neighbouring villas will occasionally drop by to eat so you don't feel completely cut off! However a rickshaw to Tangalle will cost around 350 rupees (rickshaws might try to charge more from Tangalle to Surya Gardens when you first arrive!) and it takes about 15 minutes-so you are not really cut off. You could also visit anywhere nearby in a rickshaw just as easily as you could from Tangalle- for example the rock temples. There is also an Ayuvedic doctor or can offer treatments in Surya Gardens. We didn't take any, but he was highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surya G, Manager at Surya Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Wildswimmer, we are bit late with our response, but just like to say - thanks for your nice text - it is very appreciated; and, actually, we hope that interested travelers will read it, as you inserted many usable observations for them too. Indeed, we are not a crowdy place and there are not restaurants and bars close to us, but this belongs to our special atmosphere and keeps the spirit of place. And who likes, he can take a tuk-tuk and reach the town of Tangale in 10 minutes :-) We hope to welcome to Surya Garden some days again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surya Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Garden Guesthouse

Address: Pubudu Mawata, Seenimodara, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique Surya Garden Guesthouse in Tangalle is a charming, small resort right on the unspoiled and uncrowded sandy Tangalle beach with an Italian-Sri-Lankan management. You will enjoy and valuate the very nice private atmosphere, quite different from other 'standard' hotels.The three bungalows, open-air restaurant, as well as other facilities are hidden in the large and carefully maintained tropical garden. The three spacious bungalows (for 1-2(3) persons each) are each very special in their own unique design and character. They are simple, but decorated with taste and love. All bungalows have large open-air bathrooms, fan, mosquito nets and private veranda.The Surya Garden á la card restaurant is known for its authentic Singhalese and Italian cuisine, ranging from perfect fish, chicken or vegetable curries up to fresh Italian pasta.The extensive garden just in the front of the large sandy beach offers not only enough space for the enjoyment of the tropical flowers and trees, butterflies and bird but also places for relaxing Ayurvedic treatments.Surya Garden is well secluded but also well connected to the town of Tangalle that is just few kilometers away. The surroundings are quiet and ideal for enjoying nature and the unique spirit and beauty of the southern Sri Lankan shores. Surya Garden Guesthouse is only about 240 km from Sri Lanka's international airport and 220 km from Colombo. With the opening of the new highway Colombo-Galle it is thus easy to reach the place within few hours. The guesthouse is a perfect base to explore the south of Sri Lanka: watching whales in Mirissa, elephants in Uda Walawe, birds in Bundala, leopards in Yala or deep tropical rainforests in Sinharaja. All within a few hours distance from there. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surya Garden Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.