We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything at your fingertips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Blue Horizon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Horizon Hotel
Save
You added Blue Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
Yeddhehimulla | Unawatuna, Tangalle, Sri Lanka (Formerly Blue Horizon Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 52 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Everything at your fingertips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Blue Horizon GH has all that you need. Its right on the beach and easy to find from the bus station in town. You can wear a path between the beach, restaurant and your balcony, its only a 25m round trip!!!
Food good, tea hot, beer cold...what else do you need?
We had a room with a huge balcony and chair swing, 3 people $10 US a night. We stayed for five nights and loved every moment.
The hardest part was trying to beat the local boys in cricket, they have some demon fast bowlers!!! (the game commences at 5.00pm each and every night)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lured in by a very friendly old man who seems to run the show, we immedeately booked a good value room. Located right at the beach, this guest house is great to relax and enjoy the Sri Lanka sands at Tangalla. The restaurant is beautyfully located and decorated and food is ok as well. The room is a bit basic but don't let this bother you as the view more than makes up for it! It's about 1km away from the bus station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here out of season but the view and location were fantastic. It's a short tuk-tuk ride into Tangalle but we stayed at the beach for the most part.
We stayed in a large room (with two double beds) at the top of the hotel, the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and did I mention the view of the beach and sea were lovely! ;-)

We also ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and had some delicious lobster at a very good price for our dinner. We certainly had none of the bad experiences described by other reviewers.

We also tried to do the turtle watch at night on a stretch of the beach not too far away (9 km). Unfortunately August was not the best time so we didn't see anything but also didn't have to pay anything. I think it was the only time in Sri Lanka where something didn't work out so can't complain too much.

Anyway we enjoyed the Blue Horizon and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here just after new year. I wouldn't recommend either the accommodation or the food. The room (apparently we had the best) was stuffy and dark (because the windows were stain glass!) without any space inside because they had put two double beds in although it did have a great view!

The family who run the place are superficially friendly but seemed really just interested in what money they could make from us.

The food was appalling- no variety, no vegetables, very small portions, no flavour, rubbery cold fried fish . This is a shame because the location of the restaurant is lovely. One night they had a barbecue (which was disappointing) and pumped out music from a radio until 11pm- which is late somewhere like Tangalle- and showed no consideration for their paying guests, just again, a desire to make some money.

It's a shame, if they concentrated on their service and food rather than how they could make money they would actually have a good place.

I wouldn't recommend this place unless as a last resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We didnt stay here because there is no hot water or AC, but we came here to eat almost everyday as the food was lovely..i had the lobster! the old man who owns the hotel is lovely too and you feel like you are in Sri Lanka! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

we stayed here for nights, had ground floor room 1st night 1000 LNR, then moved to top floor the next 3 nights, it has an entrance to the room and also a balcony looking right out to the beach and sea, this room I would recommend it is 1500, best thing to do is first thing in the morning open the double doors and lie in bed and you can see the sea,
thw owners are friendly and very helpful,
the rooms are basic but clean, the wifi is fast,
food ok, cheap the fish very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No fixed abode
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed just the one night and paid LNR 1 000.

The property is right on the sandy seafront and it’s ideal for walking out of your room and directly into the Indian Ocean within 10 seconds.

Our room was a walk in and we probably got the litter of the runt. It was small, dingy and not particularly clean. The double bed was OK, the pillows were not, but the ceiling fan did keep the room cool.
No TV, fridge, safe, hot water or wi-fi, but they do have an internet cafe on site at LNR 100/hour. It works fine.
Restaurant food is averagely priced but poor quality, cold and uninspiring, the beer is just over room temperature but if you send it back, it does return much colder.
Go for the beach and water, stay a night or two but don’t expect much more for your fiver per night.
As ever, more information, photos and candid comments on our Blog (see profile for the address or Google “ktelontour”) or drop us a line directly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: Yeddhehimulla | Unawatuna, Tangalle, Sri Lanka (Formerly Blue Horizon Guest House)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly opening guest house with 2 rooms, both with private bathroom, fan and mosquito nets. One room has hot water and small kitchen. No A/C. The guest house is located only 100 m from the famous Unawatuna beach. Daily cleaning can be arranged. Airport pick up and drop off can be arranged with previous notice. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.