We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Paradise Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lagoon Paradise Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lagoon Paradise Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200 , Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Loved the place (visited in July) due to recommendation of other Czech guys.
Cool pool and a beach that was completely empty. You can rent canoe for free and observe birds etc.

What I loved:
clean beach
great hotel staff (employee Michal was very helpful and teached locals how to cook tuna fish)
great food (lobsters and fish fresh from the fishermen)

The only cons were:
quite a big spider in the room
not possible to swim in the sea due to really strong currents (you can walk about 400m to the nearby "lagoon" that is hidden after rocks, but honestly it is very small with depth of one metre.
a bit more far away from the city (about 200 rupee to get there by tuktuk)

In general, the affordable hotel, out of main season you can get great discount.
I felt there as VIP. :)

Room Tip: take superior suite in case you can afford them, but better check the room before accepting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    36
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
51
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my partner and his family for 3 nights in December 2011. The hotel itself looked like a building site upon arrival, lots of construction work going on all around the place. Our rooms however, were modern and fairly clean. We were invited to a 'devil dance' show in the hotel on the night of Christmas Day, including a buffet and special show. To cut a very long story short, the fire dancers seriously burned myself and my partner's mother by accidentally running a flaming torch over our arms (they weren't supposed to touch the skin). I received second degree burns (I later learnt) and no staff member was able to help with first aid. They drove to a hospital where I was treated quickly, but inefficiently and subsequently my burn became infected (it required 3 more hospital visits). To add insult to injury, the hotel tried to charge us for medical supplies of theirs (bandages etc) and charge us for the night of the performance and the show itself! They finally agreed to cut some money off the charge for the stay but had appalling manners and refused to help in any way. The owner saw what happened and didn't once come to speak to us. The place should be closed down - they have high prices but apparently no responsibility for their guests.
On a separate note - there were loads of steps without rails, large drops without covers (e.g. by the swimming pool) that would make it impossible to feel relaxed if you took children.
Be very, very careful!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The address was given by the previous hotel in Ella.
it was a great place. its really good for family holidays for a reasonable price.
Highly recommond

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights. The rooms were splendid for the price we paid but the service and food was extremely atrocious. The food was over priced and the quantity served was inadequate. Once we ordered out meals it took over 1 and a half hours for them to serve us. Some staff members were very impolite and did not provide the service required.

Although the pool was one of a kind with its funky under water coloured lights. The view from the restaurant was breath taking and over all the place itself is very relaxing.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed in one of the old rooms. Got it for really good price. Of course the room was really basic, but enough for short stay. Other facilities in the hotel area were really nice. The beach was peaceful but not good for swimming. Hotel pool was lovely. Restaurant was a bit overpriced if compared with quality. Funny waiter mixed everything in our order! I went here looking for relaxing time and found it. I would recommend this resort for couples looking for romantic time together. Maybe families would enjoy it too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We wanted to stay for two nights and in the end we stayed for eight. We had the (thanks for that) only bungalow right on the beach and we loved the remoteness and peacefulness of the coastline. Sitting on the veranda of the bungalow we had the whole ocean in front of us. The beach is stunning and you can walk for a long time before meeting other tourists. Service is attentive, professional but never intrusive (the front desk manager, whose name I can’t remember, was always helpful, caring and highly qualified) food excellent, pool and public areas spotless. 50€ for the bungalow with breakfast is good value for money in Sri Lanka where, generally speaking, accommodation options are, in out perspective and compared to South-East Asia, neighbouring India, Central Asia and even the Middle-East, bad value for money. Prices increased enormously over the past two years so expect to pay more than what is listed in any travel guides.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Best tip:
-Walk five minutes up the road to restaurant Lotus Land. The lovely old local couple makes you feel like one in the family, and we had our best meal on our whole trip there. Much better value than the resorts as well. They cook everything from scratch but trust me it was worth waiting for :)

What we loved:
-Far away from the crowds
-The swimming pool was perfect, clean, in a beautiful setting and not too crowded.
-The staff at the restaurant were lovely, friendly, helpful and nice to kids.
-Stunningly beautiful, pretty much empty beach (not for swimming though, as too much waves, at least when we were there in Feb/March).
-Sunset, cold beer and BBQ fresh fish at the tiny Sha-sha restaurant nearby the resort, down on the beach. Limited menu but amazing location.

What could be improved:
-Get some cribs and high chairs to make the place more convenient for families with small kids.
-The bedroom photos on the website is actually from the deluxe rooms. The standard rooms looks nothing like them, which is not clear from the website.
-The food in the restaurant was a bit hit and miss. Nice breakfast but mostly average dinner dishes.
-A bit strange that you had to ask for cleaning, ask for new towels and new sheets etc. Why put back dirty, sandy sheets on the bed or only give two fresh towels to a family of three?

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are new and really nice. The bathroom on the bottom floor were much larger than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagoon Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Paradise Beach Resort

Address: Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200 , Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagoon Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One who will arrive at this magnificent resort would definitely think that this location may be a nature‘s gift to the area. The resort is sparred in five acres of land contrast with landscape including all facilities. The complex consists of 2 bungalows and13 rooms with a combination of a magnificent Lagoon Sea view. The crystal clear aqua sea water and the wide and golden sea beach are unpolluted with the reminisce of seasonal monsoon. The construction is being done in accordance with the landscape of the location. The area is covered with green shady plant’s with creepers rolling round the trees Plants such as mangroves, coconut, banana and other Indigenous trees were always habituated by endemic birds and also in several month of the year full by seasonal birds arriving from many overseas destinations .The turtles encroached the shore to lay down eggs in the area where resort is located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lagoon Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Paradise Beach Hotel Tangalle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Paradise Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.