We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low point of trip to Sri Lanka” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ibis Guesthouse
Madilla 27, Tangalle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Tangalle B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Low point of trip to Sri Lanka”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The low point of my trip to Sri Lanka was having to climb in and out of the greasy mosquito nets at Ibis that looked as if they had never been washed and had the god knows what of many a traveller on them. The bed sheets, towels and pillows smelt musty and damp. The rooms were dark and dingy. Not the romantic get away I was hoping for at all.

The food was expensive and not the quality or quantity I would expect from the prices they are charging.

We asked to arrange a taxi to Ella. The German owner gave us a price of RS 9000. A few days later when we went to book it with the driver, the price went up to RS 11000. When we queried the price with her husband, he quoted RS 12000!! We asked why the price had gone up. The husband said it was because of rain and landslide on the road, and we would have to drive through the jungle. When we asked her, she said it was because of increased petrol prices?!?! Make up your mind please! When we did drive to Ella, we drove along the main road and there was no evidence at all of landslides or jungle diversions. It's really sad to think that they are on the make money wise, and trying to squeeze as much money as they can out of unsuspecting travellers.

Plus points:
The Sri Lankan waiters there are friendly, and it is a beautiful spot of beach. But they need to pull their socks up, as there is much cleaner, nicer, cheaper accommodation and food along that stretch of beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

I think there was a misunderstanding in the price for the taxi.
The Ibis Guesthouse is not cheating their guests.

The bedsheets and the towels are washed after every check out of guests – don´t worry!
Also the mosquito-nets are washed regularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    26
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
7
57
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went to this place based and good reviews I had in guide books. I had a room for 4500Rps without breakfast.
Room was ideal with a great view. Place is ideally located and everything has been made so that you just want to stay there. Staff is nice BUT I had a bad experience.
They arranged a driver for me who was incredibly expensive and did not leave me any place for negotiation. So I would not advise you to arrange transport with them.
Except that, I loved this place.
They have a large choice of food but it's definitely not incredible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is run by a sri lankan man and his german wife. The best feature of this resort is the surroundings - it is right on the beach but there are palms everywhere so when you look out of your room you feel secluded. The food was delicious - we at at other places on the beach but ended up eating most meals there. The rooms have everything you need and are great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Under the surface of a lovely decorated beach hotel we unfortunately experienced an unhelpful and aggressive hotel owner. On our first night at 11 pm we thought we had lost our room key. We had to wake up the owner. At first he refused to provide any assistance. When we finally found the key he completely freaked out and his German wife backed him up. We were shocked by his unappropriated and unexpected reaction. He wanted to kick us out of the hotel in the middle of the night. We were afraid of being physically attacked by him (which did not happen though). He was either not able or not willing to address a simple guest request. We refused to leave the hotel during the night but we were ordered to leave at 6 am which we happily did after this experience. This disrupted our peaceful mind and travel in Sri Lanka. We can therefore not recommend this hotel. Don't stay at this place, there are plenty of other lovely guesthouses along the coast!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
the brother of the owner, who was still awake, tried to help you: he was ready to break the door look, he wanted to give you matrazes for sleeping on the balcony in front of your room (all other rooms/bungalows were full), he was helping to such the key. Also the wife of the owner was ready to help suching the key when she was waked up and explained, that there is no extra key. You refused all. When you had the idea, that the owner or the staff has taken the key from you, the owner got very up said. You can trust Ibis Guesthouse and the staff members for sure. Suddenly the key was in the trouser pocket of one of the guests and all the trouble was for nothing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Tangalle is a perfect, basic beach get-away location, and from what I saw, IBIS is the pick of the beach bungalow accommodation there. Whilst all of the beach places have restaurants (and all seemed to be basically OK), the food at the IBIS was the best. The breakfasts were also good. The service is friendly, and generally pretty good. People expecting attentive 5 star service should probably avoid this sort of basic bungalow accommodation - at this price you shouldn't expect it. Tangalle reminds me of the Thai islands (say Ko Samui, or Ko Phan An) 10-12 years ago - beautiful beaches, simple friendly bungalow accommodation.

Room Tip: I'd personally prefer a bungalow over the upstairs main building, as they seemed slightly cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and has a very quiet location with nice beach. Room is very clean with the big bed. No hot water but they told us they had. Room is very hot so we had to open the windows in the night. We didn't book in advance so we could only wait to 7pm to check in but next morning 9am they asked us to leave.

I must say it is a lovely place but the service is really rude. After we checked out we told them we put our backpacks there and our wet clothes were out of the room and we would come back to take them. But just after 20 mins I came back to take the clothes I found they THROW them on the floor!!! How could they do this!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

we try our best, that the service and the stuff in Ibis Guesthouse is always very friendly and helpful. Only if you make them up said, they are up said.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

After three weeks travelling around Sri Lanka we were ready to recharge our batteries. We looked at a few options along the beach road, but we're glad that we chose to pay a little extra and stay at the Ibis which is a cut above the guesthouses we'd seen. It offers a variety of rooms and plenty of options for passing the day in the sun or shade. We enjoyed the leisurely breakfasts and a variety of evening meals as well as a Lion beer or two. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was above the restaurant was clean with comfortable beds and good mosquito nets. Though as others have mentioned an extra lamp or two would have been useful.
Overall a good choice for a few days relaxing and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to view various rooms, there are different styles for different budgets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Guesthouse

Address: Madilla 27, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Guesthouse has 5 nice doublerooms, 2 big A/C familyrooms and 5 bungalows on the beach. All rooms/bungalows have hot water, a sea view balcony or a big terress. Enjoy delicious western and eastern food in the Ibis Restaurant. Celebrations and conferences can be organized for you.Water- and beachsport, katararan trips on the near by lagoon can be done. Herbal Massages you can get in the Ibis Massage Pavillon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ibis Guesthouse Hotel Tangalle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ibis Guesthouse to your Saves list