We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, lovely food and great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Turtle Bay to your Saves list
Turtle Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalamatiya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tangalle
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, lovely food and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just spent one night and most of a day at turtle bay. Beach was stunning. No one (virtually) on the what must be many km beach apart from a few fishermen. How many more years it will be like this i wonder. Sea was very choppy and not for little ones to swim in but we spent a number of hours building sea sand barriers on the beach ( most bashed by the sea as soon as they were finished but the kids loved it).
Hotel also had a large pool and a small kiddie one that the kids loved and there was mo one else about as they were all on safari. They need to re-tile though as some of the tiles were chipped and our 6 year old cut his foot, though not badly, as they seem to have used kitchen tiles around the edges. Strange and not a major issue but as with all Sri Lankan hotels we've found always some strange thing that knocks them off getting what they aspire to as a higher rating.
The hotel is situated at the end of the beach with a stunning view , sitting a few metres above on the hillside.
Rooms were large and beds comfortable.
Food was very good. I had fish and wife had sri lankan curry ( though we had to impress we wanted local cuisine as we love the curry, rather than standard tourist fare). It was excellent. Couple next to us had a whole cooked fish ( which sadly as my wife is fussy and doesn't like it i couldn't have) which looked phenomenal.
Staff were amazingly friendly ( and it was genuine) by the time we left the 6, 10 and 11 year old all had an extra vocabulary in Singhalese to take home , also written on a napkin.
As with all Sri Lankan hotels you pay more than an equivalent standard hotel in many established major resorts but what you got at turtle bay was worth it. Virtually no one else, empty awesome undeveloped beach, lovely food and great staff. Enjoy it while you still can, before Marriott, sheraton and the others ruin it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    49
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
49
150
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
richmond uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location, 2 miles of unspoilt beach on your doorstep, very scenic, wonderful sunsets (drinking margaritas), what's not to like!

The staff are all excellent, my thanks once again to Lalith and Percy, who were so helpful, and of course all the others members of the wonderful hotel staff, Mahesa, Ama, Nadeeka and Supun. We were treated royally. The food is excellent, especially the Sri Lankan traditional fish & prawn, and vegetarian curries - all top notch.

We are already considering our next trip there in 2015!

Room Tip: Top floor, but ALL rooms are very nice with views of the ocean and beach. There are only 7 rooms any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

we recently stayed at the Turtle bay and it really was the perfect place for what we wanted.
If you need a few days after travelling around just to relax in a small and unhurried hotel this is the place.
The position is amazing, overlooking a totally unspoiled beach , entered by a gate at the bottom of the garden. you can walk for ages and just see local people pulling in their fishing nets (help is always appreciated), The sea was too rough to swim in but paddling was fun and the hotel has a wonderful pool.
We ate at the hotel and the food was very fresh, usually fish caught that day.
The decor was fresh simple and stylish.
We had a massage whilst there, walked to the local harbor passing pretty houses and very friendly people with no hassle whatsoever.
We moved onto Marissa after this feeling totally relaxed and just wished we had stayed here a few more nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is truly the perfect location on a hill overlooking a magnificent unspoilt beach. With seven rooms which are a good size with nice decor and everything you need, the view out on to the pristine Indian ocean is breathtaking. The position of Turtle Bay means you have a perfect view from the restaurant, pool and all sunning areas. You don't realise how good the staff are here until you travel around Sri Lanka. Nothing is too much trouble for them, with an efficient and friendly service at any time of the day. The food is very good and I recommend the Sri Lanka breakfast.The hospitality in this part of the world is truly exemplified here and we hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Room on top floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is such a special place. The hotel is on its own, overlooking a beautiful sandy beach, set in palm trees with its own pool. Our ground floor room opened out onto the poolside terrace. The manager was extremely helpful and generous. We had a free beer and a bottle of wine along with free massage. He offered us the use of the hotel tuk tuk and driver free of charge for the morning to visit the local visit. We walked around the point to the next fishing village which must have had at least one hundred boats. We watched the one or two boats based on our beach fishing every day and this was seine net fishing and involved many people pulling the net ashore. Fishing is poor at the moment due to alleged over fishing by India. We chatted to another guest who had stayed last year and he thought that the chef had changed and the food was not quite as good as previously. We enjoyed our meals. Thank you Turtle Bay for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand end of the building looking from poolside have best view and also possibilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

First of all this hotel is not in or near Tangalle it is around 20km east of it. Coming from the main road you will have to survive a terrible lane leading to the hotel which is not in the middle but at the end of nowhere! Once you've reached the place you will be spoiled by the beautiful beach and the nice little hotel. (Swimming, like on so many beaches in Sri Lanka may be limited though)

Unfortunatly there will come the moment you will have to eat and that will be the very instant you'll regret sitting at the end of the world. Food at the restaurant must be ordered well in advance so that the cook will know what to buy and what to cook but don't expect it to be what you've ordered though. Frankly speaking it was average at best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stopped by and had lunch. A lovely seafood stir fry The food and service was great with wonderful views of the ocean The staff was friendly and the manager Mahash was very helpful
I look forward when i could stay here one day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay

Address: Kalamatiya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tangalle
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Small Luxury Hotel by the Beach of Kalamatiya, the first Bird Sanctuary of Sri Lanka. The hotel commands a 180' degree view of the Indian Ocean. The beach of the Hotel is a breeding ground for Turtles. Turtle Bay consists of 7 spacious and luxurious rooms. The restaurant offers gourmet food with personal attention. This is an ideal hideaway for couples and honeymooners. The two main National Parks namely Yala and Udawalawe located within 90 minutes drive from the Hotel. In house Turtle hatchery in it's private beach is a highlight for the guests. Kalamatiya Lagoon is located within five minutes of walking from the hotel which is a Bird Watchers Paradise. Traditional Lagoon Boat Trip for Bird Watching is not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Turtle Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Tangalle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.