We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ganesh Garden Cabanas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ganesh Garden Cabanas to your Saves list
Ganesh Garden Cabanas
Madilla Beach, Tangalle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Very tasty food and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights there. The Food was very tasty and we enjoyed it. After 3 weeks traffeling it was one of the best food we ate. Cabanas were quite ok but after rain falls cockroaches said 'hello'. The location is fantastic and we loved to stay there.

Ah, the massage is... in our opinion: poor.
No good massage.

Thanks to garnesh garden for the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    104
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
39
171
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Ganesh cabanas is undeniably located in a beautiful part of Tangalla which is by far the most beautiful beach Iv seen in Sri Lanka... But my experience was ruined by the rude,aggressive and pretty pretentious attitude of staff and particularly the manager...Sri Lankan people are generally so warm and friendly but the staff here seem to think that one Tripadvisor award means they don't need to try anymore with their new customers... I only stayed one night after the constant harassment from management about why me and my partner didn't eat dinner at their place the evening before,why we were leaving etc... I was pretty shocked also when I asked a waiter for a menu when I arrived and was pointed to across the room to go fetch it myself....for the most expensive accommodation in Tangalla,it's hardly the welcome I thought I would be getting... The location is stunning and the gardens are well kept,but the customer service taints that...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rude, arrogant and aggressive is a better description.

The impression location of the venue is destroyed by the rude and arrogant staff at Ganesh. To describe why I thought this...

- Orders for food (or tea) take at least 90 mins
- The owner asked our driver to leave the venue as he was informing us about other locations in Sri Lanka (which weren't Ganesh)
- The NY celebration went from a chilled party on the beach to the local hangout for revellers that had had too much drink & drugs til 6am
- Rooms dirty and cleaned once a week

Do yourself a favour and try somewhere else

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stayed some days in tangalle @ ganesh garden and really enjoyed it.
the hut was clean and nice in a palm garden.
the food was very good and the service excellent.
the staff was very nice and very helpful with organisation of scooter, driver, day trips etc....
you have direct access to the beach with hammocks to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Actually I am writing right from the Ganesh garden, we where supposed to stay here just one night but we extended our stay captured by the super chilled vibe and the beauty of the place. All the cabanas are hidden in a beautiful palm garden right on the beach where squirrels play. Our cabana was clean and very cozy. The staff is chilled and very professional. The bar / restaurant is very good and shows a beautiful natural architecture as all the place, nothing to share with the mangroves one where we've been yesterday: too much touristy and made to be liked by european tourists. 
Best choice in tangalla.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We nearly stayed one week in ganesh garden and it was beautiful. When you want calm down, it is perfect. The beach is nice, the restaurant ist good. It take a little time to get your meal, but we are on holiday. The cabanas is build out of nature thinks, the beds are comftable.
The people in ganesh garden were very friendly. My wife was ill in these days and the ganesh people bring us to pharmacy an bring the foot in our cabanas. Thank you for that.

The cabanas cost now 40, 50 and 60 US Dollar. The prices for die meals are normal standard for Sri Lanka, the drinking is all little bit more than in mirissa or unawatuna.

We were also here on new years day and I am wondering about the two last comments ("Horrible"). At every night was totally quiet in ganesh garden. At december, 31th it was a great new years day party. About 300 people made a big party at the beach and in at the restaurant of ganesh garden. And at 3.30 a.m. it was quiet, not at 5.30 a.m. And there was no loud music. But for all the people it was no problem, because it was new years day !!! Everybody had a nice party, O.K., except of two people.

We come here, because a friend of mine in Frankfurt, Germany, recommend ganesh garden.
And it is the same paradise, they told us.

schelli from frankfurt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This has been by far the worst place I have ever stayed in, coming into the site the gardens and beach are lovely and the niceness ends there. We stayed on New years eve night, little did we know that this guest house also serves as a nightclub on the 31st of December, we almost got beaten up for asking to turn down the music at 5:30 am, What a horrible way to begin our new year !

The hut itself was very dirty, with little light coming in and the staff never come in to clean it. As for the restaurant, well you better order your breakfast and lunch together as your lunch could very well take 2-3 hours to be served to you and this is with no one else there so i am not quite sure what they were busy with.

Save yourself the time , trouble and money and go next door!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ganesh Garden Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesh Garden Cabanas

Address: Madilla Beach, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ganesh Garden Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganesh Garden Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganesh Garden Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.