We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manahara Cabanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manahara Cabanas to your Saves list
Manahara Cabanas
Mahawela Road | Moraketiyara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We travelled during the off season and ended up having the place to ourselves for the night! We had an initial problem with animals in the roof but we're able to change cabanas with no hassles. The rooms were comfortable but very musty at first. Bathrooms haven't had a good clean for a while.

That said, pool was fine, view was spectacular as was the proximity to the beach and the food for both dinner and breakfast was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Mawella for 11 nights out of season and had the place to ourselves for a few nights. It is a beautifully quiet area. Beachfront - and swimmable ocean, we were out body surfing 3 times a day often with a 1km stretch of beach to ourselves (get your own boogie board before you go there, difficult to find in Tangalla). Breakfast was included and varied, all delicious, great seafood available and veggie options. Meals were among the best we had in Sri Lanka, highly recommended, and very substantial. Thanks to Mr Lal. The owner is very helpful - if you have any problems let him know and he's likely to get it fixed. Massages, steam bath available. The inside of the rooms are slightly run down (and dark) but it didn't materially affect our stay. Given the price we considered the whole deal exceptional value. All rooms have a little balcony with ocean views and there is plenty of space in the lovely gardens. We enjoyed seeing monkeys in the trees on a few days

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here with two families with older children. The place is located at the beach with a lovely garden and a swimmingpool. The cabanas are simple but sufficient and with a nice terrace and view of the garden, swimmingpool and beach. A few minutes walk from the resort fishermen are doing there work. Actually we bought a lobster one morning from one of the fishermen and the cook at the resort prepared it for lunch. The resort is a bit remote, maybe 10 minutes by tuktuk from the centre of Tangale. When we were there the shops closed at 7.00pm and there were hardly any restaurant in town. Most of the restaurant are on the beach. This place is a gem and great value for money. We think it is important to stay at places run by Sri Lankan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is nicely located near a large and secluded beach which is something rare nowadays. The staff was nice and caring and organised a baby cot with mosquito net for our son. This is however about the only positive thing I would say about the hotel. The room hadn't been cleaned properly and did not offer value for money. I'm simply glad we only stayed there for 1 night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a very pleasant evening at Manahara - a good meal and the hotel has an excellent location on the beach. We were annoyed by the fact that we were leaving early in the morning. The manager did not have change and promised he would give it to us in the morning before we left, however he was not available when we left to settle the amount due to us which left a bed taste in our mouths :(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Cute cabanas at the most perfect beach, with a nice swimming pool . Very friendly staff! Food is very good and a good price! Tuctuc from the hotel, at a good price also. The cabanas can use a little update. The beach is perfect with no people around! There are no crocodiles in the sea as said in a previous comment! Perfect for a good relaxed sun bathing time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I would like everyone to know that the Manager of this hotel is a really nice man. I booked on Agoda and when we arrived we unfortunately did not have rooms, a problem between agoda and the manager, that said, i was pretty pissed off at the time, we had driven a long way, it was late at night and we were all tired so this news did not go over to well. The solution was that the manager had already arranged rooms for us at another hotel, personally drove in front of us to the next hotel, and could not stop apologizing, he was really upset that he had to do this, and it was geniune, i really felt his sorry. It was more an agoda problem than his, and i understood this, so i cannot comment on his hotel, but i would like everyone to know that this is one honest good person, one of the few people in Sri Lanka that was not all about getting our money.

Sorry i wish i new his name but i would like to say thanks to him, for all his efforts and hospitality a few weeks ago

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manahara Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manahara Cabanas

Address: Mahawela Road | Moraketiyara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Manahara Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manahara Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manahara Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.