We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location, dirty rooms and” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manahara Cabanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manahara Cabanas to your Saves list
Manahara Cabanas
Mahawela Road | Moraketiyara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Bad location, dirty rooms and”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Manahara Beach Cottage & Cabanas is about 8 kms. away from Tangalle. That means taking a three-wheeler or a bus every time you want go to Tangalle. If, like me, you have no problem in taking a bus (just Rs. 10), it's not a problem at all... But taking a bajaj can become a very expensive habit.

When I was given my room, the first thing I noticed was a big dead bug on the floor being eaten by thousands of ants... Some minutes later, as I opened the wardrobe, another group of insects was eating what seemed to be a piece of fruit. When I talked to the manager about the state of my room, he just answered me that a person would be sent to kill the bugs (nothing was said about cleaning the dead bugs or the rests of fruit).

The staff didn't seem to enjoy their job much and they only seemed to be interested in the guests at breakfast and dinner time. The menu is absolutely a rip off, as their prices are twice higher than those in any other guest house in Tangalle... I used to have dinner on the beach of Tangalle, where the prices (and the food) were much better.

Room Tip: Room number 6 is usually infested with insects
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed here in January at the end of a 10 day tour. The room was great, the staff really friendly, food good, but the location was outstanding. We had a gorgeous mangrove fringed beach practically to ourselves, we could have stayed for weeks! A complete contrast to Mirissa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent 10 days at Manahara over the holidays and enjoyed every moment. Our cabana was very comfortable with air conditioning and mosquito netting. They even had a baby bed for our 13 month child.

The accommodation is perfectly suited to the environment. A little rustic but that is why one chooses this type of property.

We visited many beaches and towns in the area and were always happy to be back on Morakitayara beach, the sea was much calmer and more pleasant for bathing. The property is set back from the main road so there are rarely any touts or other tourists on the beach, a nice change from the beaches closer to Tangalle.

We love seafood and were treated to fresh fish, prawns and lobster everyday. The breakfast is equally nice with tasty fresh fruit and omelettes made to order.

To top everything off, the staff was especially pleasant and helpful. After 10 days we got to know then quite well and were made to feel very welcome. They are genuinely kind and helpful people and they made our stay all the more enjoyable.

I would highly recommend Manahara Beach Cabanas to anyone thinking of travelling to the south of Sri Lanka. Perfect location, excellent food, comfortable accommodation and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

A peaceful place with a fabulous bathing spot (bay). Suberb place to put your legs up and read or play some board games. Highly recommended for family get-togethers, cooperate brainstorming sessions and retreats. The menue consist of Eastern and Western foods.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

It is really great and quiet place. The best on Sri Lanka. Beach empty,no people, only white sand and warm ocean . The most beautiful sunsets! Added to this is a great kitchen in small restaurant and personal care of guests for a pleasant resort owner. Small sweeming pool make all perfect. Cabanas simply but good enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I'm prompted to review this as I had very nearly cancelled my booking due to finding a very adverse review on another site. Our excellent driver, Mervyn Perera, had recommended this resort, prior to our leaving UK. I then found the review but listened to Mervyn's suggestion that we drive there and if we were unhappy we could curtail our booking.
If you are looking for a four star resort with entertainment laid on and rows of sun pointers, forget it. But if you want an adequately furnished cabana with private verrandah housing comfortable seating to while away hours reading and sipping beer, a minute's stroll through well kept gardens onto the soft golden sand of one of the loveliest beaches I've seen, then this is for you.
Once on to the beach, it's possible to walk 15/20 minutes in either direction and not meet a single tourist. You might encounter children taking a short cut along the beach to school or fishermen hauling in their catch. Indeed it was a real treat to wander onto the beach before breakfast and watch the fisherman haul in their catches up onto the beach.
The food is excellent with a wide choice from an a la carte menu. Don't forget to ask for jumbo prawns at breakfast if you want them for the evening. They need to order them in fresh. With so many wonderful places to visit in the world we may not return to these parts again but if we should do so, I know where we"ll be staying.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Manahara is in a secluded location approx 8km away from Tangalla town (but easily accessible by bus or 3 wheeler). The beach is quiet and you can take peaceful walks along it. The staff at Manahara are a very helpful and friendly team who made our stay enjoyable and the accommodation is good value for money. It is nice that there are not many cabanas/ rooms so it has a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manahara Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manahara Cabanas

Address: Mahawela Road | Moraketiyara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Manahara Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manahara Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manahara Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.