We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Vil Uyana to your Saves list
Jetwing Vil Uyana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at Vil Uyana for 2 nights whilst visiting Sri Lanka, and it was one of the best hotels I've ever been to. Lots of the reviews made me a bit nervous about being so close to wildlife (that we might end up with lizards in the room) but this wasn't the case at all.
Very luxurious surroundings, lovely rooms, and just amazing to be somewhere so tranquil and so enveloped in nature. The western food was at times slightly random, but otherwise we had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    114
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
139
459
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BODMIN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

If you get a chance to stay you must.
Rooms 5* as far as we are concerned
Food also 5*
Amazing area and a joy ... we could have stayed longer but the itineray was tight.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

we spent 3 nights at Vil Uyana. This is marketed as an "eco" hotel and - for once- they really meant it! This was not a marketing ploy, it was evident that the planning and running of the hotel really took environmental concerns seriously.

we stayed in a paddy dwelling which was huge!!! The room was beautiful and immaculately clean. amazing views and really well fitted out. I agree with other comments about storage space but it was not that important. the other thing we didnt like was that it was TOTALLY open plan- so no privacy on the loo as it was essentially in the same room as bed and sitting area! Shower and bath were wonderful and we had a little plunge pool too. The room service was excellent- our kettle broke and they came to replace it very promptly.

The restaurant was amazing. the best service and food as you can get. sometimes it was hard to find anyone to serve you in the bar but everyone was really helpful. it was such a relaxing place to stay, the library area was beautiful overlooking the lake and the pool was clean and well maintained.

we did two excursions- one to Sigiriya rock and one to see Elephants. The Elephant drive was great and worth it- although the guide did not do much other than come along with us. The Sigiriya rock was very expensive- the guide jsut came along and joined in, he provided a local guide who expected a tip and the guide did nothing. we would have been far better off getting a taxi and doing this ourselves.

the gardens and grounds were well kept and interesting. we saw the croc and land monitor and amazing birds we also walked left out of the hotel past local villages, children playing cricket and the lillies on the reservoir, it was really interesting.

on the way there we visited Dambulla Temple. This was good but you have to have knees covered and the museum was not interesting, so only buy ticket for the temple.

I would rate this hotel very very highly, it was great and we had a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This was the first of four hotels in our Sri Lanka tour, and was a great start. A long drive from the airport, but staff were very welcoming and we were soon shown to our paddy fields bungalow. A huge, open plan room on different levels with a plunge pool and balcony seating area. The only slight improvements I would suggest would be more lighting to enable easier reading, and bedside cabinets as the shelf above the headboard is not the easiest place to retrieve water, or see the time from? The open-air restaurant and infinity pool area were very pleasant. There was a choice of western or local dishes, all well cooked and presented. The location is quite remote, but all the better for it and the bungalows are well spaced, making it easy to enjoy the peace and relaxation. I would be happy to recommend this hotel (unless you are looking for a busy night life). Take your mosquito repellant. Everyone said that they were not a problem, but we managed to get bitten more here than anywhere else in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We spent one night here as part of 2 night tour while on holiday in Sri Lanka. The first thing we said on arrival was that we should have booked 2 nights! This is a perfect place to simply relax in a wonderful environment. Rooms are individual chalets built over the water, and are both expansive and luxurious. We arranged the trip through a guy called Mervyn Perara and the arrangements and driver were first class. He did have to charge us extra when we requested a stay at the Vil Uyana rather than use one of the more standard hotels in Sigiriya, but it was worth every penny. The evening meal at the hotel was delicious and surprisingly cheap given the overall standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

The Vil Uyana gets most things right - the generously sized individual bungalows, the DVD/CD set up that let's you play you own music, the outside library and the quality of the food. It is not a cheap place but fairly priced I believe for the quality of ammenities

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010 via mobile

Paradise but with a few problems


A fantastic Eco hotel set in marshland. We had what they called a forest view but actually overlooked the lake. It included a very private swimming pool I.e, not just a plunge pool. Altogether fantastic facilities.

The problems can easily be put right:

-there is literally nowhere to hang anything. What passes for a wardrobe was a joke. As most guests stay for several days you do not want to live out of a suitcase.

-the lighting in the suite is so poor it is impossible to read by. As it gets dark at 6 this is a bore

-the food and the menu sometimes miss out. The food for example is not as good as the tea trail bungalow where we previously stayed. One night at dinner the 3 choices of main course were all spicy which is not great if like me you do not like spicy food.

Altogether pretty good but could easily be made virtually perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating four main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquillity seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Vil Uyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.