We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of luxury in the hurly burly of Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Vil Uyana to your Saves list
Jetwing Vil Uyana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Staffordshire Uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An oasis of luxury in the hurly burly of Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed two nights, which were two of the most luxurious nights of our holiday in Sri Lanka. The staff, food, accommodation and setting are just perfect. If your budget can run to it, try and book a forest room. They are sumptuous and have their own small pool. Stop looking. Just book it.

Room Tip: Try and budget for a Forest room. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    114
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
139
459
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed several days and didn't want to leave. A perfect base for discovering the many ancient sights around Sigiriya. The staff could not be more helpful. Food was great. Stayed in a Forest Dwelling which was just AMAZING. Private pool, excellent amenities, glorious bedroom upstairs, and so peaceful. Would recommend to anyone as its one of the best places I've stayed at. They'll look after your driver if that's how you're making your way around Sri Lanka (I recommend SL Driver Tours and request Manju who was excellent). Book through SLH and join the SLH club for free to potentially get a free upgrade...

Room Tip: Forest dwelling was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. The heart of the Jetwing brand has always been unmatched hospitality. Also we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food and services provided during your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battaramulla, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Jetwing Vil Uyana has got to be one of the best eco resort world wide and deserves the numerous awards it has received. This is the perfect location to rest and take time out. Set in marsh and paddy fields the accommodation is made of a series of villas - Marsh, Forest or Garden villas. We stayed in the Garden Vila which is single story and very calm, luxurious and stylist the other units are on two stories and some have their own pools.
We opted for half board and were extremely impressed with the range of dished and the quality of food. Breakfast was choice of continental, american or sri lankan and many of the ingredients and
locally sourced. The evening menus was interesting and varied and used lots of the wonderful fruits and vegetables of the region.
The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Chaminda the resident naturist took us on a night tour to look for lorsi mammals. There is a conservation programme run on the site and we were lucky enough to see 5 including a set of twins.
It is really a truly wonderful eco hotel and one that I look forward to returning to again very soon.

Room Tip: mosquito repellant for when you are walking in the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled that your stay with us was such a success. Thank you for your kind words which will be passed on to the rest of the team and thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We trust your experience of the highly distinctive Jetwing hospitality was more than satisfactory. One of the unique features of the hotel is our design and the different categories of dwellings such as Garden, Paddy, Marsh, Water and Forest, which provides an unforgettable experience with its own location and facilities.

Being an Eco hotel, our priorities are committed to nature activities which is the reason we have our own eco professional, the resident naturalist who specializes in all nature trails. And one of the latest trails as you have mentioned is the Loris Watching which is available only at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Once again thank you for the lovely comments on Trip Advisor and for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again at Jetwing Vil Uyana to gain an even better experience on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Started our vacation from Dambulla and choosing Vil Uyana was the best choice we made. We booked paddy dwelling but the families wanted to change to marsh once we were there onsite. The management was very flexible on this an accommodated our request without any hassle.

Vil Uyana has unique style of being a echo lodge but having all the luxuries built in. The food and the restaurant was supper and the staff was very friendly. Great place to relax and enjoy a serene environment with nice pampering ;-) !!

For us Dambulla, Kandalama hotel was THE place in that area uptil now, but now there is good competition !! two great hotels

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on the Trip Advisor. It was indeed a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed not only the facilities but also the food and the services provided during your stay. We believe in personalized service to all our guests and we offer a fine dining restaurant experience with an open concept. The hotel itself is designed as an open concept and the restaurant is also open to enjoy Mother Nature.

Thank you for your thoughts and comments about our beautiful property and looking forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Being an adrenaline overflowing Sri Lankan, I've visited upscale to roughing out style joints in Sri Lanka on every long weekend possible. Vil Uyana was a total table turn for me as I've never seen such an awesome different place locally. For that matter internationally.

Throw a bit of extra bucks and go for Forest Dwelling which is out of the world with a private pool. The rooms amenities were really nice and duplex style chalet all for you was cool. Except for the factor that any one can walk in while you are trying to let loose yourself which annoyed me a bit because you are in the pins looking towards the entrance while you are in your own pool :( they should have laid the pool behind the chalet and since it's not literally possible at least I advise the Management to fix a gate at the entrance. Few times the courteous room service guys were trying to walk in with a smile while we were in the private pool and I had to scream (politely) and chase them out which left me with unnecessary guilty conscience.

Apart from above it was an awesome holiday where we really cherished the a-la-carte style (in Sri Lanka almost everywhere you'll find buffet only) and the 7 course meal was delicious.

Me generally once I visit a hotel I never return as there are many other to explore but Vil Uyana is something that I should go back for it's unique style. I hope the Management would fix a gate or give another alternative solution for Forest Dwelling so I can chill without being worried who'll come. Thanks very much Vil Uyana for the fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Nothing but Forest Dwelling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

we stayed for 2 night and this is a wonderful place , we really enjoyed it, all the credit should go to the minor staff from cleaner to the bell boys and all except the management.

food was excellent and they went out of the way to please everyone.

management was crap, we didn't have power during the whole night and had a bad sleep. to be fair it was raining , but the power was out only in what we were staying at.

the guy who call himself the naturalist or what ever he call himself first should be given a lesson in pleasantry. and the same goes to the reception staff and the manager who was looking after the place because the hotel manager had gone to a meeting in another hotel in the west cost.

i think all the bad stuff were a reason the manager was not at the hotel, and few deputies were running it on their marry way.

if not for those , the place is wonderful. the road definitely should be fixed, but it also give its own character to the hotel. while we were staying the road got cut off due to the rain.

if the management get their act together, this is a one in a million place to have a relaxing holiday. again , the management and the reception will ruin it for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay. We are incredibly apologetic for any inconvenience caused during your stay due to the lack of service. I understand that your experience with us may not have been to expectation. And we will examine the situation to minimize any glitches in our service.

We do apologize for any inconveniences caused as our hospitality is generally considered excellence bar none. We apologize that we fell short of these standards during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will return to experience what Jetwing Vil Uyana truly has to offer.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I booked a standard room here during the off-season. Our stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana was wonderful. They are a top-notch eco-lodge that had done a great job in cultivating the feel of jungle, rice paddies and river, while still maintaining the luxury feel. Our standard room was a beautiful, spacious room with our own balcony complete with couches, an outdoor shower and a nice bed. The entire hotel grounds had small touches that made you feel like you were staying someplace special. From the lanterns to light the paths to the beautiful Sri Lankan mural in the restaurant, the decor was tasteful, but not overly extravagant. They obviously succeeded in making this a wildlife friendly hotel, as we saw birds and bats flying overhead, a lizard sunning itself and peacocks wandering the paths. The staff was attentive, without being intrusive or pushy. We loved the infinity edge pool right next to the river and with a view of some of the villas that sit over the river. Eating at the restaurant was a welcome experience. The decor was welcoming, but comfortable and we picked the chef's set menu, which was a great choice. The chef was obviously top-notch, serving tasty courses cooked with care and presented beautifully. With the location near Sigiriya, but also not far from the other cultural cities, we will definitely stay here on our next trip to Sri Lanka. We will remember Vil Uyana for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were extremely happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday at Jetwing Vil Uyana and would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor. We value all the feedback we get and share them with the team as it helps us in sustaining high motivation levels and in continuing to provide the level of service to meet our guests’ expectations.

The hotel does offer a truly unique experience and it is quite easy to fall in love with it. As you have mentioned the hotel has been centrally located in the Cultural Triangle in Sri Lanka, where you could explore the whole area whilst rest and relaxing at Jetwing Vil Uyana. It is indeed a good base for the area.

Once again we thank you for the lovely comment and also choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana as your holiday destination. Look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,
Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating four main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquillity seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Vil Uyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.