We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Vil Uyana to your Saves list
Jetwing Vil Uyana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived on 11 June for a two day visit with our daughter and son looking forward for a well earned break for the family. Vil Uyana surpassed our expectations in everyway with tranquility, welcoming and friendly service, fantastic room and great food.

Vil Uyana offers a great opportunity to relax and unwind from the day to day city life in an atmosphere of wilderness while enjoying the essentials we are accustomed to, such as Wi-Fi to be still in touch.

The jetwing group's efforts to care for the environment and uplifting life of the rural community surrounding the hotel is commendable.

It will be a favourite place to revisit.

Room Tip: Paddy rooms close to the reception have an easy walk for meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your lovely comments and for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you were happily surprised with your stay indulging in the surroundings and enjoying being on with nature.

As you have mentioned Jetwing Vil Uyana is the kind of peace and serenity that is hard to find and the experience is unmatched by any other. Your kind words will go a long way in inspiring the team.

Thank you again and we eagerly await your next visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana to host you in the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    128
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
146
518
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Been there 5 times already, and loved every minute of it.

Easily one of the finest hotels in Sri Lanka, and definitely the best in the large Jetwing chain.

Absolute tranquility. Quite indescribable really. Chalets surrounding a small lake. Paddyfields all around the hotel and also inside it. Totally silent, except for birdcalls - there's a huge range of birds around.

There are four types of rooms - two with pools and two without. All exceptionally comfortable and the ambience is amazing.

The food is amazing and so is the service. Thoroughly enjoyed breakfast at our own pool, delivered on golf carts by the excellent staff.

Water features everywhere in the hotel - ponds and pools.

The spa experience was also one of the best I've had in Sri Lanka.

Great for moonlit walks after dinner too. The best experience for couples.

Unfortunately, it now takes about 5 hours to get there from Colombo, because traffic keeps increasing and the road to this part of the country hasn't been widened. The hotel is also a bit pricey now, and I usually wait for the off-season for tourists and catch a discounted rate.

Will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments and your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay indulging in the area and watching birds and wildlife. It was indeed a pleasure to have you again with the Jetwing family. Also we are happy to inform you that we have added a New Category named Garden dwellings as our starting category and now altogether we have five different categories of Dwellings which are Garden, Paddy, Marsh, Water and Forest.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana with us and everybody else. As a regular customer and a repeat guest of Jetwing Vil Uyana, once again we invite you to come to this little paradise as it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived Vil Uyana 07th June,2013 with my family & friends. Its great just by the appearance of the Reception. A Warm welcome with a unique superb view.
I loved almost everything there... the view, the birds, the atmosphere, the wind, trees,a walk lake, lotus...everything. The extreme natural. The calm atmosphere itself drives your tired hectic lifestyle in colombo. An excellent place to have a good rest.

Thumbs up for Water Dwelling (Room no 112/111) & Forest Dwelling (Room no 132)...
Loved slow classical music at the restaurant.. A great photographic view.. Felt sorry when leaving..!!!

Room Tip: Water dwelling - 111/ 112 Forest Dwelling - 132
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana and that we were able to turn your moments with us in to a lasting memory. There is nothing that warms our heart more than a guest who truly appreciates all our efforts. We were pleased to know that we managed to meet your expectations in most aspects of service. Your kind compliments have been passed on to our entire team.

Once again we thank you for your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana and sharing your holiday experience. We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you back to the Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed with my wife for 02 days in Jetwing Vil Uyana on 30th & 31st May & had wonderful unique experience. All staff served in a friendly manner and both days General Manageress speaks with every guest personally. We experienced delicious food and mind blowing villa concept in Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We loved and hope to stay another time in Vil Uyana. No words to say because its EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

How about having your own luxury home with a private pool in the middle of a forest? How about you have all the privacy in the world, with delicious food, comfort and people to look-after you? How about having a bubble bath in candle light and having a candle light dinner on top of a watch home on top of a tree, overlooking a lake? Vil Uyana offers them all.
I stayed at a Forest dwelling, the best of their rooms as they said. There is a nice private pool at the entrance, yet covered with trees and hidden from outside world and when you enter the two storied dwelling, you see the entire ground floor is your washroom with a nice large bath tub, a pond, sitting area and a shower area. Upstairs is one large luxurious bedroom with wooden floor with two balconies facing the Lake, Paddy and Forest.
Staff was extremely helpful and their quality of service is something they have been maintaining in all of their hotels. One drawback i see is food. It was disappointing to see that they do not have a buffet meals even in a weekend when the hotel is fully booked. That means you have to eat whatever they have in their standard menu. Food was not bad, but lack of options, little food servings was a major drawback for this lovely, unique hotel.
I would recon this as the best hotel for Honeymooners.

Room Tip: Forest dwelling is the most expensive yet the best. You have two storied house with a private swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. The heart of the Jetwing brand has always been unmatched hospitality. As you have mentioned one of the unique features of the hotel is our design, and the different categories of Dwellings. Among these unique categories, Forest Dwelling truly does give a calm, private and soothing effect over and above its unique experience. Also our team is greatly dedicated to hospitality and customer care.

We believe in personalized service to all our guests and we offer a fine dining restaurant experience to our guests. Therefore the restaurant serves a Set Menu or an A la Carte menu where you will receive a freshly cooked meal to your table that is prepared with class and loving attention. This is to emphasize the boutique luxury concept of the hotel rather than a resort concept. I have however, passed your comments to our Executive Chef regarding diversifying the menu to give our guests a wider choice.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we await your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Superb staff,location,foods and unique way of greetings.Felt like at home.I stayed at a Forest Dwelling, there was a huge difference when we regard about other hotels and eco loges.This is the place to be.Everything is excellent.Loved to go back again and definitely will.I recommend the hotel for anyone in any age.

Room Tip: Forest Dwellings are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at Jetwing Vil Uyana. We always welcome guest feedback as it helps us to improve as we move towards perfecting ourselves in services and value.

It was pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

PriyanthikaWijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana was great.
The staff was excellent, the service was amazing and the hotel was very clean.
We also tried the spa there, very relaxing spa in the nature.
I recommend the hotel for every couple, family or group of friends going to sigiriya.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments which were a joy to read through. It was our pleasure to make your honeymoon a memorable and pleasant experience. I thank you once again for your feedback and for your patronage. We await your next visit to host you in Sigiriya once again and wishing you all the best as you take your first steps together as husband and wife.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating four main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquillity seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Vil Uyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.