We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair review: Jetwing gets almost everything right.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Vil Uyana to your Saves list
Jetwing Vil Uyana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fair review: Jetwing gets almost everything right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Jetwing is the luxury resort chain of Sri Lanka. This property is set in a remote and serene wetlands location about 5km from Sigirya. We stayed in one of the "normal" rooms and paid about USD 250/night with breakfast. Most rooms however are chalets with their own pool and significantly more.

What is good: This resort manages to get most of the details right that a luxury resort should. The room was tasteful, spacious and always immaculate. Grounds of facility very nice with surprisingly good wildlife viewing. Restaurant makes truly excellent food. The food and bev price markup of roughly 75% above "street price" is offset by the very high quality and generous portions. Breakfast very generous. Tip: if you are up for it, order the sri lankan rice and curry option for breakfast, and you get a slightly stripped down version of the extremely tasty version from the dinner menu - included in your room price!

What is not so good: very remote location means you are captive and it is inconvenient not to take all of your meals at the hotel. Hotel staff not that adept at helping with unusual requests. Excursions offered by hotel to area attractions are very expensive.

Tips: if you are a bit more rugged, avoid the hotel excursions and walk up the 1km to the main road where you will be quickly picked up by a tuk tuk. We consistently paid only 450 Rps to Dambulla, 300 to Sigirya.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    114
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
139
458
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We arrived at nightfall and stayed one night, departing the following day around noon so my review is based upon the short time we spent. After a long day spent exploring the surrounding areas, it was such a pleasure to be met by the friendly reception at Jetwing Vil Uyana. We were greeted with the customary cool scented towels and an assortment of refreshing juices. Our check in procedure was efficient and the friendly staff made us feel welcome. We had two chalets: one on the lake and the other on the marshes and both had great views. We had dinner in the resort restaurant with a sitar musician accompaniment and it was excellent. At night our beds were turned down and the mosquito net was set up. A Goodnight message was spelled out with neem tree leaves. It was lovely to wake up in the morning and sit out on the balcony, listening to the birds and watching the beginning of the day. If we had stayed a bit longer, we would've opted for more activities available (birdwatching for example). Instead, we simply enjoyed the hotel grounds. I loved the hotel landscaping and the environmentallly friendly architecture. The lush green surroundings and the incorporation of water in the design and lotus flowers, made it a very peaceful place to be. The Library was a wonderfully relaxing place to relax with a good book or simply to reflect while looking out onto the lake or the opposite side, onto the landscaping and lotus flowers floating in the water. The chalet itself is all open plan. One needs to take care with the many steps within the chalet as there are different levels going from the sleeping area to the bathroom and to the lounge area. In addition, the toilet area is open despite being in the corner of the chalet so not recommended for people who have privacy issues. The resort is suitable for people who like nature and wildlife, who enjoy quiet luxury, and who need a retreat. It is more suitable for couples of all ages (or solo travelers needing time alone) but not families with young children. It would be ideal to stay here at least 3 - 4 days to enjoy the facilities and to benefit from the spa as well as to explore the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake and close to the reception seem to be the best. Although there is a torch in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review written on Trip Advisor. Though your stay was a short one, we are happy to read through your detailed experience and comments about Jetwing Vil Uyana. We were pleased to note that you have experienced our unique features of the property and the professional service of our associates.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to the team. It is rewarding when guests voice their appreciation of the service delivered by associates.

One of the unique features of the property is our unique design and different categories of dwellings. We are proud that the design and the architecture of the property is the creation of a Sri Lankan and she has won a big challenge in putting up an eco luxury hotel in a wetland eco system.

Once again we thank you for your recommendation of Jetwing Vil Uyana and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Unusual room layout but a super holiday. Peaceful and relaxing. Food excellent and staff friendly and helpful. Very private as the rooms were quite a way from each other. Rooms well equipped and loved sleeping under the mosquito net.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely although on beside the lake. Think the lakeside ones looks as if they had better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay. It was my pleasure to read through your review. We were delighted in reading the favourable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of our visitors.

We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The chalets/villas are built on the reed covered marshes and having stayed there 2 years ago we felt that this time around was even better - the Marsh villa was extremely comfortable, clean and had a better layout than the Forest villa we had previously.
A beautiful setting, wonderful service and excellent food contributed to a memorable stay in tranquil surrounds

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to welcome you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana and make your stay another memorable moment. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful time again with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

One of the unique features of the hotel is our unique design, and the different categories. Most of our guests are very excited with this beautiful property as you have mentioned.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we take this opportunity to invite you back once again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Ayubowan,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Individual chalets with all mod cons and style. But that is not the best bit, as the staff and hotel set the highest standards which is matched by the great meals served overlooking a lake teeming with wildlife. Wish we were staying more than the 3 nights we had there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your short and sweet comment posted on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and services provided during your stay. It was indeed a pleasure having you here with us and may be you can plan your next visit for a longer period to enjoy more of our property.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent one night here after making a swift exit from Kandy and the awful Theva Residence, and we were delighted with the place! It reminded me of a large Bronze Age village (for anyone who’s ever been to Flag Fen), with thatched chalets amongst the reeds joined by wooden causeways over the water. It’s a great place to see wildlife – indeed there is a crocodile who lives in the lake.

The food was excellent as ever and well up to the standard we got used to in Sri Lanka. The rooms are very spacious but maybe getting a teeny weeny bit tired – and I only say this because we stayed at Ulagalla afterwards, which is a similar format, but probably a bit newer and had a bit more of a luxurious feel. The gym at Vil Uyana is excellent. It is well air conditioned and well equipped. I can definitely recommend it – it’s a great place to visit Sigiriya from and its location was conducive to a great night’s sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. On behalf of our entire team at Jetwing Vil Uyana I wish to thank you for your patronage. We are very proud of the cuisine we offer, the facilities, the services and of course the breathtaking surroundings.

Being an Eco hotel our priorities are connected to nature. Most of our guests are truly attracted to this property as this location provides many opportunities for all nature lovers as we are built in a man-made Eco reserve and the environment is well settled for birds, butterflies, land monitors, Loris and our very own crocodile.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana with us. We look forward to welcoming you again at Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We started our tour of Sri Lanka with the cultural triangle and a three day stay in Vil Uyana. Luckily we had a night in Columbo before we were driven northwards. We found the service fantastic - no doubt due to the excellent attitude of the manager who spoke to all guests during the course of the evening to enquire if they had had good day. We enjoyed the wildlife and peaceful setting and it was an ideal base for visiting the two former capitals and climbing Sigiria's Lion rock.

We thought that the food was excellent, and enjoyed the style of many small courses for the evening meal.

The little houses were beautiful to look at but my husband and I found it was rather dark ( we like reading in bed) and we were constantly looking for things as there was very little storage space for clothes and no long hanging at all.
We are in our 60s so would have appreciated comfortable chairs rather than the cushions and mattress style seats on the floor of the beautiful lounge/bar areas. There was nowhere where 4 people could comfortablely sit to chat. Obviously this would not be a drawback to younger people. There are also a lot of little steps and no hand rails which is also a problem if one is not disabled but yet not quite so nimble as one used to be.
Despite these minor criticisms it was a wonderful experience to stay here and I would recommend the hotel to all my fit friends.

Room Tip: They all look lovely. We were very near the restaurant/reception area which we found convenient some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana! We were delighted to welcome you at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are also grateful to you for the time taken to write a review on Trip Advisor. Although we trust that you have enjoyed our other facilities we understand that your accommodation experience did not reached your expectation. We will examine the situation to minimize such short comings for future guests.

Once again thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating four main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquillity seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Vil Uyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.