We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Luxury Eco Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Vil Uyana to your Saves list
Jetwing Vil Uyana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Luxury Eco Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved staying here, there's a child like niceness to the luxury surroundings which we found charming. The villas are arranged on their own individual stilt islands around a lagoon filled with wildlife, not too close to infringe on each other. They are comfortable and roomy. The spa is great, the rooms half in and half out of the jungly island it's on.
The Resident Naturalist is a splendid fellow, so enthusiastic, so knowledgeable. We went searching for the lorises he discovered three years ago, at night in the jungle with red light head torches, what fun.
The food is patchy, not what you'd expect but we didn't care. The access road is so bad it's quicker to walk the last 500m from the main road, past the wild peacocks and the crocs. We had a very good time here. Different is good, this was different in a very good way.

Room Tip: They all look good, we had a water dwelling or some such, only downside was steps down to the loo in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Jetwing Vil Uyana on Trip Advisor. We are an Eco-reserve in every sense of the word. One of the unique features we created is the wetland concept that was man-made that also attracts quite an array of bird species. The environment has been well settled for wild life as well as butterflies, dragonflies, and our very own crocodile. Being an Eco-hotel our priorities are connected to nature activities which is why we have our own Eco-professional, the resident naturalist who specializes in all nature related topics.

One of the unique features of the hotel is our unique design and the different categories of dwellings. Most of our guests are very fond of this beautiful property as you have mentioned. We believe our little haven is tranquility at its best. Hope to welcome you to our little paradise once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    129
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
146
521
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed four nights in Vil Uyana in a Forest dwelling. A huge bedroom, comfortable bed with lovely views over the jungle, massive downstairs bathroom and plunge pool - spectacular luxury, at a spectacular price.

The open restaurant has excellent Sri Lankan food - some of the best we had during our trip. Staff in the restaurant were also great and went out of their way to help and be of service. The hotel was also really well located for visiting the cultural triangle.

We didn't experience any of the mosquito attacks that other guests have mentioned here, even though it rained quite a lot the days we were there. The wildlife is also spectacular - loads of birds, lizards, butterflies etc and you get to see lots of it walking from your room to the main buildings (not for the faint-hearted the monitor lizards on the path...).

So to the niggles (and these are niggles - I'm only bringing them up because given the price of the rooms, you do expect everything to be close to perfect):
- the spa: we had decided we wanted a few treatments so went to the spa to ask about what was available and possible timings. The young man who met us couldn't tell us anything about the different treatments or what timings would be available. Despite us saying any time, he (and the other colleague who showed up) just looked lost. So we left - which was a shame as I had been looking forward to trying out the spa after what people had said on TripAdvisor.
- we wanted to do one of the walks with the naturalist to try and spot Loris. The first day we were told it was raining too much to visit the Loris area. The next day, the naturalist apparently was having a day off. The third day, I heard staff tell another guest that the naturalist was having a day off, then they told me the area was flooded so still not possible. Jetwings make quite a lot out of their 'naturalist' but I never spotted one (nor could I find one in the Jetwings Warwick where we also stayed). Found it a bit of a shame as the wildlife around the hotel is really spectacular and I would have loved to learn a bit more about it.
- and finally, we did have a few issues with bills - things being charged that shouldn't etc. The staff were good and did sort everything out, but you do need to check the restaurant receipts/bar bills properly.

Overall I would say that if I were going back to this area, I would certainly stay here - it is a magnificent hotel in an excellent location - but I think they could do with a bit of a stronger drive from the management to iron out some of the small issues which stop them being really top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana!!
We were delighted to welcome you to Jetwing Vil Uyana and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are grateful to you for the time taken to upload your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor. It shows the way you feel about our product and services which is truly an honour.

We are incredibly apologetic for the inconvenience caused at the Spa and during your check out. We will look in to this matter seriously to ensure these disappointments will not occur and also if there are areas we need to improve let us assure you that will be done.

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had gone for our honeymoon and it was simply great. The atmosphere is so amazing, you dont want to leave. Its a place away from all the busy life and is perfect for privacy.

The room are well designed specially for honeymooners. and the plunge-in pool also was great for us as my wife and i could jus lie there in the day.

The fine dining experience was nice with a variety different palates.

only problem was that walking outside was a bit creepy as it's all jungle especially in the night. we had to call for a buggy to get to the main area.

oh and yea the spa is also super for a relaxing massage.

the price is lil high comparatively but its ok once in a while :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review posted on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to note that you have experienced out unique features of the property and the professional service of our associates. It was a pleasure having you with us. Thank you for the recognition of our team and their efforts in making your honeymoon an enjoyable and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Vil Uyana did not disappoint - even with a solid day of rain.

Our party of four stayed in two standard rooms which made up their own independent villa. Worth checking out if you cannot afford (or don't want to) the marsh/ forest/ water rooms which are the only rooms advertised on Jetwing's website. (We booked through Agoda).

The food was fabulous - but a word of warning: the spelling is a tad misleading . Our 13 year old ordered the starter of cold gammon, and ended up with smoked salmon! And beef lever was beef liver.

The three girls on the trip treated themselves to massages which were terrific. The sole male spent up to two hours on one of the two bikes in the well equipped gym while awaiting our return.

Bird life was fantastic - kites, herons, cormorants, peacocks, kingfishers - you name it, it was all there.

Somewhat off putting was the crocodile which set up shop in the lake close to the swimming pool: needless to say, nobody was swimming which was a bit of a shame.

The rooms were spacious, clean and the outside bathrooms were fabulous.

This is luxury and worth the money for what is a very central location.

Great place to stay and worth the splurge.

Room Tip: Check out agoda if you want to stay here and dont want to stay in one of the luxury villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana!

We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana. On behalf of the entire team at Jetwing Vil Uyana I wish to thank you for your patronage and the lovely review posted on Trip Advisor. I will share your compliments with our team and we are very proud of the cuisine we offer, the facilities, the service and of course the breathtaking surroundings.

Thank you for your kind words.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Wowee... This place is super. Even the air stewards on our flight got excited when we told them our first stop was at the Vil Uyana. "best hotel in Sri Lanka" we were told... It didn't disappoint.

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our honeymoon (having spent one night stopover in Colombo). It really was everything you could hope for especially for a honeymoon. The individual chalets are spread out in the marshes and, even in the "basic" level room that we had booked, were beautifully appointed. Huge open bedroom / living area, massive bath, rainfall shower, lovely toiletries, and we had a "congratulations" cake waiting for us in the room and a few other little honeymoon touches. Nearly all rooms have a private plunge pool.. We went in but it was freezing!!!

Our only regret is that we didn't book a third night. Partly because it was just a lovely place to stay, and also because we found out that honeymooners staying a third night get a bunch of perks (dinner and wine, massages, champagne breakfast etc). NB check that first though as that might not be 365 days a year and might have been a special offer.

Food in the restaurant was very good. Sri lankan food was the best we tasted on our trip, western stuff was beautiful presented but "ok" taste wise. They had a good wine list but, as with the whole country, it's really expensive. You're looking at £35 for some of the brands I get at the supermarket for a fiver.

Lovely infinity pool which we swam in during a one-off heavy downpour, and the grounds are amazing. Loads of wildlife, especially birds.. Great for an early morning stroll. They also offer guided night hikes to see the rare Loris. Our guide was great and very knowledgeable. Sadly we didn't see a Loris but then we were told we didn't have to pay because we hadn't seen one. ( was supposed to be $30pp).

Pros:
Beautiful rooms
Lovely spa
Great for wildlife
Secluded
Small (think there are 25 chalets)
Good location (Sigirya rock only 15 mins drive away)
Nice extra touches (honeymoon things, loan of torch / bag / sarong)
Gorgeous bathrooms
Nice food - you have to order the Sri lankan breakfast (but get 1 between 2)!

Cons:
In middle of nowhere (so you can only eat in their restaurant... No bad thing as food was good, but if you're staying a long time and get bored it's worth considering)
Plunge pools very cold - even in sunshine

Would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All are lovely by the looks of it. We were in cheapest category and couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled that your stay with us was such a success. Thank you for your kind words which will be passed on to the rest of the team and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Adviser. We trust that your experience of the highly distinctive Jetwing hospitality was more than satisfactory.

We are always honoured when newlyweds choose our property for their honeymoon and it is a privilege to be part of such precious memories. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we wish you both a world of happiness as you take your first steps together as husband and wife.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Me and my partner spent 4 night here ( and we wished we spent another 4 nights) and we truly had a wonderful time filled with world class hospitality. If you want some time to unwind away from the buzz in the city this is the place, you will get plenty of attention and privacy. We enjoyed the setting, the food, the service by a great bunch of staff and excellent attention to detail. They even conveyed phone messages to the dinner table. Now that is truly world class hospitality. Not only this, when we were checking-out they even put our luggage in the car before we arrived at the car - now this is impressive to work out which car and do this in advance.

Key points:

(1) Service was incredible and it is very close to being world class ( i have been to various boutique hotels around the world and this is the only place in SL I have come across that gets close to world standards)

(2) Staff very helpful and got great skills - they even agreed to lend us their binaucilos to go elephant watching.

(3) We stayed in a paddy dwelling - excellent room decor only downside is lighting should be improved atleast near the wash basin. Room was cleaned to a very high standard with excellent attention to detail.

(4) Food was of high quality - salt level can be brought down in some dishes as not everyone takes lot of salt. Example, the quail meat on 31st night was too salty.

(5) Wifi - Excellent

(6) Activities (Elephant watching) - Slighly over priced but you can get much cheaper if you walk/cycle and talk to locals.

(7) Mosquitos - Given the setting you would expect this to be a huge concern. We were surprised Mosquitos were not an issue although some nights we experienced Mosquito attacks when dinning. Reccomend wearing long trousers in the night.

(8) Checkout could have been done more swiftly - it took a while due to issues with card machines.

(9) The shower water pressure was inconsistent and once I got stuck in the shower with no water. We complained and after 5minutes water was back but there was no courtesy call back to check if it worked!

If I sound very fuzzy please excuse because for price you pay you expect every box to be ticked perfect so I hope the management take not some of our feedback

We will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Water dwellings are nice but more dearer. We stayed in a Paddy Dwelling and to be honest we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind such a detailed review about your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana on Trip Advisor. We always welcome guest feedback as it helps us to improve as we move towards perfecting ourselves in service and value. We are pleased to note that you have experienced the unique features of our property and the professional service of our associates.
Most of our guests are attracted by nature as this location provides many opportunities for nature lovers. We also organize nature trails such as bird watching, the Elephant gathering, village tours and our unique night excursion being the Loris watching which is only available at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We do however apologize for any inconvenience caused if we fell short of our standards during your stay. We have taken your comments in to consideration and we will improve the areas you have mentioned.

Once again thank you for your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana and sharing your holiday experience with all. We look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel is approx 1 kilometer from the main road down a bumpy dirt road. This is rural Sri Lanka so this is part of the experience! Hotel is spread across 24 acres with lots of space between villas. We stayed in one of the higher range villas with our own private terrace and pool, with a large bedroom and WC on upper level and a large open air bathroom on ground floor.

However, construction seems rather old and when it rained heavily on our first night, we had 3 leaks come through the thatched roof into our bedroom at 1am (including onto our bed). This wasn't part of the "experience" we necessarily paid $500 a night (full board) for so we complained and were immediately moved in the night to another room and then back to the same category of villa the morning after.

The food/beverage is very good with an internationally experienced Sri Lankan chef who makes a real effort to be creative with consistently good quality food and reasonably priced wines given the location.

Attitude of the waiters, housekeeping and grounds staff is very sweet and their genuine desire to please makes up for many other shortcomings.

If the room rate was lower priced, I would rate the resort with 4 stars, but at this price range, they need to deliver more.

Room Tip: Get a villa overlooking the lake with privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. We always welcome guest feedback as it helps us to improve as we move towards perfecting ourselves in service and value. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused but I must insist that this is a very rare occurrence. We are disappointed that this incident marred your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Our hospitality as well is generally considered excellent and we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality and cuisine. Our team takes all your comments constructively and will improve the areas you have mentioned.

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating four main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquillity seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Vil Uyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.