We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Save Saved
You added Jetwing Vil Uyana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We tried to book a paddy dwelling but they were full and ended up with a forest dwelling - we are so glad we did. It was fabulous. The room was very spacious and our balcony overlooked the lake (with its own crocodile) and over our own private swimming pool. The bathroom was down stairs and partly outside. The bath was to die for being huge and made of stone which was sunken into the floor and next to a pool full of fish - so romantic! The service was great - the staff friendly and efficient. The food was really really good - especially the breakfasts. I have stayed in some of the best 5* hotels around the world (Four Seasons, Zoetry, Oberoi) and this is as good as most. My only negative comments are - there are no wardrobes so I had to live out of my suitcase (but an iron is provided) and the towels and bed linen could do with replacing.

Room Tip: Forest dwelling every time - number 138 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing on Trip Advisor and for leaving behind such kind comments. It was our pleasure to make your holiday a memorable and pleasant experience.

One of the unique features of the hotel is our design of different categories of dwellings. The Forest dwellings truly do give a calming, private and soothing effect on top of its unique experience. Our team is dedicated to hospitality and customer care. We are proud and confident about their performance and our cuisine at Jetwing Vil Uyana is another key ingredient to our customer satisfaction.

It was an absolute pleasure having you here with us and looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    108
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
136
429
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. The staff was great and the room and bath room were very nice. The food was also very nice for Sri Lankan standard. Dessert weren't all that. The hotels tour are too expensive so book with a local agency or go by your self.

General info for Sri Lanka: we had 2 good drivers. Airport, central and south - Viraj +94 779154713. If you want to go to Arugam Bay (east coast) - +94 777212630 for Sanju. If you want to go by train try http://www.blueline.lk/, where you can book from home or just go 3rd class. We did and it was fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind a review on Trip Advisor about your stay. We truly appreciate your comments and all your recommendations to other guests.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic food, amazing location, great room with our own pool. Bit hacked off about waiting an hour for our room on arrival (had lunch while we waited) but will put this down to me being grumpy after 18 hours of travelling.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are greatly pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. Although we trust that you have enjoyed your stay, we are incredibly apologetic for the inconvenience caused on arrival. As we were in a full house situation and the check out time is at 12.00pm it took a bit of time to prepare the room. We will look into this matter to ensure this disappointment will not occur with future guests.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a Forest dwelling villa and it was spectacular. Great concept, love the coffee set up and that the unit had an ironing board. The chairs on the upstair's balconies excellent having their holders for coffee, beer, etc. However a great unit can't compensate for constant poor service. Very few of the employees here seemed happy. Luke warm greeting when we arrived, both the bellhop and the front desk, woman wait staff at restaurant had a constant scowl, and no warm greeting when we arrived. Many of the waitstaff the same except for Nalangju sp?

When we first called for a buggy for dinner, we were told ok sir. 15 minutes later I called again and he said they are busy and will come soon. I told him next time just tell us upfront, we would understand, rather than just wait outside. The same exact thing happened when regarding another problem we had with the room...someone will come now. I had to call again. Finally, upon checking out, we asked for a buggy twice from reception to the exit...it never came...we walked.

Finally, the food at the restaurant is sub par. Meats overcooked, bread very dry. And please, the menus are disgusting. Old and tattered, stained, misspelling, type face fading. Napkin had a large hole.

This place needs work. I stayed at all the best resorts in Sri Lanka over a 3 week period, and this was the low. But the villas are nice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Although we trust that you have enjoyed our accommodation and other facilities, we were disappointed to hear that food and other services did not reach expectations. The Jetwing brand generally provides unmatched hospitality and most of our guests strongly believe in Jetwing hospitality.

I have passed your comments to my colleagues and we have taken these comments very seriously and if there are areas we need to improve on, let us assure you this will be done.

We are incredibly apologetic for the inconvenience caused and that we fell short of the standards we are held to during your stay. We sincerely hope that you will return to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great place nearby Sigirya. Big hotelrooms with nice verrandas. Nice restaurant with set diner menu of good quality. Expensive yes but worth every dollar. We did a great lorris tour at night on the premises of the hotel and saw 3.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your comments and hope to see you at Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesbawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had excellent honeymoon there and it was a memorable experience for ever in our mind. We were in Forest Dwelling and it was amazing huge, very comfortable and relax. Our own pool added more values to our stay there.

Food was excellent but not enough spicy for Sri Lankan. But they were very flexible when it comes to food. Nice experience.

Staff is very friendly specially restaurant staff. But in restaurant there are some lady staff who do not care at all sometimes about the guest. They do their own chats without attending to the guest. I think hotel management should consider this factor otherwise it will be a disappointment to guest. I felt it most as I was attended well by all other male staff in first 2 days and final day there were only ladies and one inexperience male who did not care atleast to come for guest tables.
When it comes to the price, it is little bit expensive but when considering atmosphere it created up to some extent it is reasonable.
Buggy gives very good feeling and drivers are very friendly.
We experienced bicycle riding in last day and it was great.

Room Tip: Forest Dwelling is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Yes as you have mentioned Forest Dwellings truly provide a calm, private and soothing effect on top of its unique experience.

My sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused in our service and hospitality, as this is a factor that we are generally well-known for in a positive light. We will rectify this issue to ensure it does not occur in the future.

It was an absolute pleasure having you and we wish you both a world of happiness as you take your first steps together as husband and wife. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaika
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polhena
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I live in Sri Lanka and, having been working hard, decided to take a weeks break, totally alone, here on the island. I couldnt face another airport!! Vil Uyana is amazing...the dwellings are huge , comfortable and well equipped even down to the straw ladies sun hats. The food (I love garlic buttered prawns) was wonderful and the staff could not have done more. I spent one week by the pool with a book, feeling absolutely in heaven. Just great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana with us on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to know that you had a lovely time in our hotel. This location has now become a prime location for bird watching and for other nature lovers. We organize nature trails such as bird watching, Safari tours, Village walks, sightseeing tours and the most unique being the Loris watching during the night which is only available at Jetwing Vil Uyana. On your next visit maybe you can grab this opportunity and get a wonderful experience during your stay.

Once again thank you for patronizing Jetwing Vil Uyana and look forward to hosting you in Sigiriya again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating four main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquillity seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Vil Uyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.