We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel and room; terrible food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Vil Uyana to your Saves list
Jetwing Vil Uyana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel and room; terrible food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I've rarely been literally wowed by a hotel but when we arrived with my wife in our bungalow room with private swimming pool we had rarely been as excited in our entire lives! In fact, we were so excited that we went straight back to reception to ask if it was possible to double the length of our stay (and happily for us it was)!
The bungalow, facilities, the hotel itself, its architecture, etc. are absolutely world class.
The only downside of our stay was the food which simply wasn't up to par; which is especially annoying since this is literally the only place where you can eat within miles so you end up being stuck with really bad food (and painfully slow service)

Room Tip: Do choose a room with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. And we are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We are incredibly apologetic for the inconvenience caused at the restaurant. I have passed your comments to our Executive Chef, who will be looking in to diversifying the menus to give our guests a wider choice. We will look in to this matter seriously to ensure this disappointment will not occur with future guests.

It was pleasure having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    130
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
146
522
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

The most prominent aspect one notices in Sri Lanka is their consciousness towards the environment and their value of cleanliness. New Zealand is the other country which treats the earth, water and air with the respect Sri Lankan's do. 

Sri Lankan's are extremely courteous and pleasant people. I attribute this to their lack of understanding of the English language a trait similar to the Thai's who are also extremely courteous and pleasant (and I mean this as a compliment) because these races have been unadulterated thus far.

Our stay at Vil Uyana though started at a sour note when we discovered that we were booked in the "Internet Quota" of standard rooms; apparently they have two rooms at the periphery of the resort which look to be make shift rooms, occupied when the resort is full. Bookings.com must make a note of this.

Having forgiven this experience and the proactive approach of the resident manager, we then realised that we were indeed in a place closest to nature. The tranquil lake with its virgin inhabitants including few rare reptiles, ducks and fish created a wonderful opera to be enjoyed from the cutely designed pool. 

The resort boasts of some rich flora and fauna including rare varieties of herbs.

The food is average but it hardly mattered as the minds preoccupation with natures hallucination overtook all disappointments of the material world.

We were trying to reestablish the connection with mother earth; if not here it would be difficult to imagine where else could we have achieved it!!

Let me get back to it as we still have a day left in heaven ...

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana! We were delighted to welcome you at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are grateful to you for the time taken to upload your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor, it shows the way you feel about our product and services, which is truly an honour.

Our people, our country is incredible and it is a great pleasure for us to have such energetic hospitable associates within our company as well, as they contribute a lot in terms of our growing success of hospitality in Sri Lanka.

E-bookings have become a very competitive tool in today’s hotel business and can be complicating when it comes to certain points and system errors. Therefore we apologize for the disappointing start to your visit at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

I appreciate the fact that you have mentioned our environment conservation and green initiatives that we have implemented, indeed our “Tree for life” program has planted over 3500 trees and we also educate most of the school children about environment conservation and energy saving from their little age as a CSR project.

With regards to the food, our chef and the team take pride in their food and are very passionate about their spices, we will be even more careful when catering to different tastes in the future.
Jetwing Vil Uyana is a true gem to escape with your family and we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again the near future. Please do contact us for any future assistance with Jetwing Hotels Sri Lanka.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Everything was fantastic about the Jetwing Vil Ulyana. We only had a
standard triple room, but it was still perfectly luxurious, great amenities, absolutely
fantastic large open air bathroom, all the "dwellings" as they are called and the grounds
were stunning. The cuisine and service was all excellent. Everything was beautiful to look at, the swimming pool was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. One night we asked the waitress at the restaurant what a certain condiment contained (maldivian fish flakes) and the next morning, the chef had typed out for us the recipes for two of the dishes that we really loved. Another very special touch was that the manager came to the restaurant every evening and literally said hello to each table, introduced herself, asked if we were happy with everything, asked if we needed anything, and then left her business card to call her personally if we needed anything. The wild peacocks throughout the grounds were a lovely bonus. I also had a couple of treatments at the beautiful spa, they were extremely professional, 5-star. A special thanks to Chamani, for her fantastic massage and facial.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would hope to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave behind some lovely thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your comments and all your recommendations. We have different categories of dwellings such as Paddy/ Marsh/ Water and Forest. Most of our guests are very excited to get different experiences in different dwellings.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food and the services provided during your stay. Our team is very dedicated to hospitality and customer care. We are proud and confident about their performance. We will definitely share your thoughts with our team and they will be pleased to hear your kind words. We always talk to each and every guest and make sure that all their requirements are fulfilled, as our utmost priority is to keep our valued guests happy.

Thank you again and we eagerly await your next visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Lovely hotel in fantastic setting. A nature lover's paradise - eagles, egrets, monitor lizards and countless other animals to view around the site. Possibly slightly understaffed and food menu a little uninspired, except for the evening meal, but otherwise a great place to unwind. Go for the single villas with their own pool - swimming in the dark with fireflies above you is unreal.

Room Tip: Go for the single villas with their own pool - swimming in the dark with fireflies above you is unre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write a review on Trip Adviser. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Most of our guests are fascinated by our surroundings as this location provides many opportunities for nature lovers. Gray Slender Loris is the most unique feature at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Although we trust that you have enjoyed our accommodation and other facilities we are disappointed to hear that our food standard did not reach your expectations. However we will take your comments in to our consideration and improve the areas which you have mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Myself and my Husband came here for a couple of nights on our honeymoon in 2007 and it was pure luxury and heaven. The open air bathroom was stunning and the butler service was lovely. We got on so well with him. The food and restaurant where amazing and the whole experience was unforgettable. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm regards from all of us at Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya, Sri Lanka. We are happy to know that you did enjoy your honeymoon at our hotel. We would like to thank you for your visit and for the comments you made on Trip Advisor, it means a lot to us and it will energize our team morale to go even better in the future. It was also very encouraging to read your comments about Jetwing Vil Uyana food and we will convey your compliments to our team.

We are happy to be of assistance if you need any in the future, we would be delighted to have the chance to welcome you back some time soon.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

we spent 2 nights in Jetwing Vil Uyana. we enjoyed evry moment! the nature, the staff, the exellent room!!! waitting to come back/// thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to upload your reviews on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your stay was a memorable one and we appreciate your recommendation.

Nature surrounding us is a gift and we are blessed with a positive team of hotel associates. Any guest who patronizes us would definitely be delighted by our hospitality, luxury setting and nature.

Please do contact us for your next visit or for any assistance with Jetwing Hotels. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We spent four days in a forest bungalow and we enjoed the experience to live into the jungle with all conforts. The private pool, the confort zone, the bathroom in the open air, and sleeping room at the second floor with its balconies made our stay memorable. The staff is friendly and pampered us.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was indeed our pleasure to hear from you and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Being a very unique property in this area trying to deliver different guest experiences at all times, our breathtaking wetland eco system and the design of the hotel structure plays a big role in our reputation as a stellar hotel. It is no wonder that during your four days in a Forest Dwelling you have taken some good memories back home with you.

We appreciate your recommendation on Trip Advisor and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating four main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquillity seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Vil Uyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.