We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Vil Uyana to your Saves list
Jetwing Vil Uyana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I don't understand the previous negative review's this place is fantastic. On arrival we were upgraded to a forest dwelling which was absolutely stunning
Everything was first class....No it wasn't cheap but was worth every penny and yes i would do it again
This is by far the best place to stay in Sigiriya

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments which is a joy to read through. It was our pleasure to make your holiday a memorable and pleasant experience.

I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to your next visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

SIncerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    114
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
139
458
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

This hotel is very different from any place i have ever stayed in. We had a marsh hut which was huge and very private. We didn't have our own plunge pool but the main infinity pool took care of that need. We stayed here 2 nights and I was happy that we took the extra night as you will want to spend some time here enjoying how close to nature you are. I loved our walks to dinner as it was so quiet and peaceful. We saw peacocks and monkeys on the grounds while walking to reception. the view from our patio instantly took away the stresses from home. The meals were top notch as was the service. We did sightseeing during the day but always loved coming back to our hotel a little early. We were here for our honeymoon and this place was perfect for it. As others have said, the inside of the rooms are without much character but the surroundings totally make up for it. The layout is amazing and the ambiance here is off the chart.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I found the place on TripAdvisor and immediately fell in love with it. Rooms are quite pricey (about USD 200 per night)) but then once a while one should splurge and I will be happy to do it again at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

My wife and I started our journey to Sigiriya from Taj Airport Garden Hotel, Seeduwa (near Colombo airport) leaving at around 10 AM in the morning. We stopped at Kendy en-route to visit the the sacred Tooth Relic and finally reached Sigiriya around 6 in the evening. The Vil Uyana property is spread in a beautifual expanse of green and we were mesmerized from the word go. The check-in was warm and the cottage was - O my God ! - beyond words. No review or photo can do justice to the well laid out rooms, creatively designed and thoughtfully equipped - we stayed in a Marshy land cottage and that was the base level. They have an interestingly situated reading room to leisure around in the sleepy afternoons. Veg. Food was available and good. Staff was couteous and efficient. Wifi signals are claimed bur very weak, if at all you can catch them. Anyway the property is designed to surf the nature, not internet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

On walking into this resort-hotel your first impulse is to say "wow". The complex is built in zones and you enter through the lodge into the "paddy fields" zone where the villas are built on stilts above the water. Paths run along the field margins, and then wooden walkways head out to each suite. The main building is grandly built in a similar manner, with the 'library' overlooking the main lake and the restaurant above, looking down on the infinity pool, itself alongside the lake.

Staff immediately greeted us warmly and gave us cool towels and a welcome drink. Unfortunately for us the positives to check-in ended here. Our booking was lost in the system, somewhere between Expedia and Jetwing. We had only booked the day before but that is not adequate excuse. The staff were polite but the promises of "just a few minutes" started to wear thin. We asked if we could drop our bags to go and collect our driver and head on to Sigiriya, but they again said "no more than 10 minutes". Eventually our reservation was tracked (after I forwarded the confirmation email from my Blackberry), or so we were told - but the room we had reserved was not available. Did we mind an upgrade? Did we beggary! Unfortunately that room was not ready, just 5 more minutes. We had a beer and watched the minutes tick by. Eventually we were shown to our room - and it was spectacular - more later - but by now it was after 3.15pm (we'd arrived before 2) and though our driver made a valiant effort we were too late to climb Sigiriya rock and get down before dark. As this was perhaps the one thing I had picked out as a "must do" in the "ancient cities" of Sri Lanka I was bitterly disappointed. The perils of a somewhat hectic schedule and limited flexibility in departure the next morning, but primarily due to inadequacies in the administration at the Vil Uyana and their parent, Jetwing. We made do with seeing the sights at the base of the rock before heading somewhat wistfully back to Vil Uyana.

Once at the hotel we set about enjoying the unashamed luxury of our one splurge of the holiday. The room upgrade was to a 'forest' suite and it was wonderful. Secluded doesn't do it justice - ask for 136. You won't regret it. Huge bedroom with twin balconies overlooking bamboo forest and lakes; plunge pool the size of a small swimming pool. An open-air bathroom with large fishpond in the atrium area. All imaginatively conceived and immaculately executed. The wander to the villa took us along 400m of winding paths with plenty of wildlife surprises en route (5ft lizards, various frogs, peacocks and more bird species than you can imagine) but thankfully no crocodiles (though they do live in the surrounding lakes so watch your step!). Dinner in the restaurant was simply excellent and surprisingly good value for money given the 5* resort (indeed we have paid more for less well executed Sri Lankan specialities in the 11 days of the trip). I do however feel the restaurant lacked something. Intimacy, perhaps? The rattan chairs were too large to sit back in so one had to perch on the fronts to get to the (slightly too high?) tables. The lighting was a tad too bright and the effect of the table candles was totally lost. Maybe I'm being a bit picky but when everything else is set up for romance, the dining experience did kind of knock it all back a bit. The service was spot-on, however.

What else? Oh yes, the gym and spa. Again, beautifully conceived. Shame the a/c didn't work so it was far more pleasant to run round the paths in the breeze despite the humidity. I guess this was a temporary blip. Again the staff were wonderful.

One final niggle was check-out. We paid our bill and asked about organising getting back to town (Vil Uyana is 10km off the beaten track). This seemed to cause minor issues. Maybe most people arrive via tour bus. Or with a permanent driver. We initially asked about a tuk-tuk but after this seemed to be ignored not once but twice, we tried more forcefully and were told Rs600 or so. They did seem more keen to get us a car. No price quoted. Again we asked the question and were told Rs3,500. No wonder they wanted us to take the car! I know the resort is 5* and all, but quoting that price for a 15 minute journey when a full Sri Lankan banquet in their restaurant is around Rs800, and more pointedly a car and driver (including fuel) can be hired for a whole day for around Rs6,000, was outrageous. I don't like having hotels take the micky because they perceive you are a captive audience. It's an arrogance that can put me off a place for good. Fortunately we called our tame tuk-tuk chap from the previous day who got there in 20 minutes and charged us Rs600. Handy invention, the mobile phone.

To sum up? Fabulous concept let down by a few niggles which Jetwing should address and I have written to them to that effect. Would we go again? Absolutely but I would call the hotel directly to check my reservation which in this day-and-age should be unneccessary. Oh, and at the same time I'll ask them to test the a/c in the gym and the lights in the restaurant. Oh, maybe I am picky,...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

From the moment we got there we were amazed. Its such a wonderful place hidden away!

We had a paddy room which was very spacious and roomy, the shower in particular was great. While the hotel is small, it looses nothing by this, in fact it adds so much! There were harldy any other families couples there, on an evening we only saw 2 other tables at dinner. The food was top notch and a muscian played soft beautiful music while we dined.

We also saw the house croc! But its a baby so not scary!

The facility was clean and we booked into the spa as well. While mne went well, the lady massagin my wife's had managed to tangle her long hair into a right mess! This meant a slightly painful night untangling it, but this wasnt a big enough issue to count against them.

We went to lions rock and had an elephant ride while we were out there as well, both were brilliant, would defintelty recommend them to you.

The staff did have a slight issue with understanding English, but again not a massive problem.

Overall it was a truely peaceful, beuatiful and relaxing place to be. If we ever visit sri lanka again, we will have to stay at vil uyana. Might need to save up a little, but its a must!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I stayed at the Vil Uyana from 9th - 11th April 2011 and I can't fault the wonderful location and the peacefulness of the main hotel and its surroundings. The rooms are fantastic with a minimalist twist and the wildlife around (we stayed in a lakeside lodge) was amazing. We had pigeons roosting on our glass topped shower area and a cheeky lizard taking a peek too! However be aware, all this wildlife means that there are bugs! I had a nighttime encounter with a large black beetle in my bed that must have been amusing to watch! The main hotel has an amazing infinity pool and has a wonderful peaceful atmosphere, the staff here are very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.
My only slight problem was that I was hassled for tips by the room staff the night before we left; I was a bit naiive and thought at first that the flower and questions about whether we had enjoyed ourselves were genuine until the man wouldn't go until he had received a tip. This needs addressing as otherwise the hotel was perfect but it left me with a rather sour taste.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We actually came to the vil uyana in march 2010 and Feb 2009. We could not fault the place the accommodation was very private and spacious, lovely private pool. The food we thought was excellent and the staff went out of their way to help make your stay perfect. We will go back soon. The only thing is the travel from the airport to the hotel it is about 4 hours, but worth it when you arrive. We also stayed at the saman villas which also had private pools, but couldn't match the vil uyana.
What I would say is don't be put off by the previous 4 or 5 reviews, I sometimes wonder what these people want out of their holidays, they probably are the sort of people who moan and complain were ever they go.
Well done everybody at the Vil Uyana for making both our stays a wonderful and pleasant experience. The best place to stay in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Vil Uyana, Rangirigama, Sigiriya 0094, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating four main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquillity seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Vil Uyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.