We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury in the jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sigiriya to your Saves list
Hotel Sigiriya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigiriya, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Room Rate
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury in the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our trip around Sri Lanka and after enduring a Sri Lankan bus journey to get there we were not disappointed with the hotel choice. On the drive to the hotel by tuk tuk we were immediately struck by the beautiful scenery surrounding the hotel, notably the amazing Sigiriya Rock. On arrival at the hotel we were provided with a complimentary drink and then shown to our room which was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The fridge and free access to a safe were also nice touches. We found the staff to be very friendly and despite the size of the hotel and number of guests staying they seemed to remember us from day to day. Although the hotel is used by tour companies for its coach parties it did not feel crowded or impersonal, despite the fact there were approximately 80 French tourists staying when we were there.

The location of the hotel is ideal for spotting nearby wildlife; in fact you won't have to travel far. We were entertained by a troupe of 30 or so monkeys tipping the contents out of the room maid's trolley and throwing the roof tiles off the roof for almost an hour one afternoon. We were also awakened at 6am one moring with the monkeys running across the roof of the hotel, but this is to be expected in the middle of a jungle!

The only complaint we could make echoes another reviewer (stratford123) about the restaurant. We had the buffet lunch on our arrival but found it to be expensive as we don't eat that much for lunch so we asked if there was another menu we could order from that evening. My girlfriend ordered the rice and curry and was given 6 bowls of various curry dishes and rice and I had to help her finish it. When I ordered the same thing the next night the quality of the food was still excellent but it was all put on one palte and in far smaller quantities. The restaurant staff always tried to get us to eat from the buffet but at nearly 1500Rs. we found it too expensive, though the quality of the food was excellent.

Overall, we were glad we chose Hotel Sigiriya as a little bit of luxury at a fraction of UK prices. Although the restaurant slightly disappointed us the quality of the room, surrounding scenery, attentive staff and the hotel itself can't be faulted.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    298
    104
    16
    9
See reviews for
106
314
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We are a family of 5 from UK .kIDS ARE 10,13 and 15

We used to back pack around Asia and Africa in late 1980's, but had never been to Sri Lanka

Hotel is a good safe and comfortable place to start a holiday in Sri Lanka and aclimatise. We stayed our first two nights here before we went onto more adventurous things.

Rooms were clean and comfortable
Lounge and pool area were charming ,with great views of the Rock
Service effcient and friendly
Buffet was good and varied
Great place to explore Cultural Triangle from

Highlights/Tips

a. Best Bits
- Lake Minneriya National Park - visited at time The GATHERING ( loads of Elephants- as good as Africa)- beautfiul location.
- Sigiriya Rock - superb views, interesting history, exciting climb if you are nervous of heights!!
- AYURVEDA Massages etc- tried both Hotel Sigiriya ( more western style) and local 'authentic' centre.Wife and eldest son prefered former ,I prefered latter
- I(Dad) went to see Sri Lanka vs India at Dambulla International Cricket Centre with driver( family stayed by pool) - great experience in every way

b. Other bits
- Elpehant Safari( not organised by Hotel) - fine for youngest but very touristy and did not go far- it was expensive
- Polonnaruwa- intersting but very expensive even by western standards.Bought Cultural Triangle Ticket, which made it cheaper.However this only covered this sight , Sigiriya and Anuradhapura- not Kandy or Dambulla- and was still very expensive . When we come back to this beauiful would visit the Rock again but not Polonnaruwa.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights with Mercury Direct as part of a 4 day tour. What a beautiful hidden gem it is! The room was perfectly acceptable, clean and tidy, with kettle and tea/coffee. The food was good and plentiful, but the most amazing thing was the view from the open-air lounge bar. Sat there on the evening of our arrival watching the sun go down over the rock, thinking about the climb the following morning was amazing. So was hearing the wild elephants very close by in the forest. After climbing the rock, and a visit to Pollonaruwa, I visited the spa for a 60 minute full body massage, which was very good, and also very reasonable at £18. Just what the doctor ordered!!
I'd recommend this hotel as a stop off when visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blighty
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights following a disappointing stay in the sister hotel, Club Dolphin. This was a complete contrast with pleasant background music and the sound of wildlife. As in other reviews, the great thing is having a view of the Sigiriya Rock behind the pool - it makes for a fantastic location.

We arrived fairly late in the evening, the check-in was efficient and we were given a complimentary glass of juice. The room (Superior) was clean with A/C and tea/coffee facilities and a flask of water (not bottled). The towels were soft and clean (unlike the Dolphin).

Dinner was a pleasant experience and very relaxed with an open-sided outdoor dining room - they had a table reserved for us for every mealtime too. We went for a la carte the first evening which was fine and reasonably priced

The next full day we spent some time by the pool which although overcast was nice - the pool attendant was very conscientious and brought out towels/cushions for guests. That afternoon we went up to the rock itself - this was a mission, as every full moon day it is a public holiday so was packed with locals. This meant a lot of argy-bargy gettting up the steps and back down but worth it for seeing the view at the top and the sheer impressive nature of the site. Incidentally, the entry is inlcuded in a 'Cultural Triangle Round Trip' ticket, unlike most places!

Back at the hotel we had both booked massages in the on-site Ayurveda Spa. This was a bargain for 3000LKR for a full body massage for 60min (prices are VERY cheap compared to the UK) The chap was very thorough and it went on for over 75min in the end! Unfortunately the relaxing experience is somewhat ruined by the road running past the villa that the treatment rooms are in - beeping horns and 2 strokes being the culprits

Dinner again was pleasant, we went buffet for 1500LKR and there was a good spread. The desserts had run out by the time we got there but the other dishes made up for it. Due to the public holiday they weren't allowed to serve alcohol but the fresh fruit juices are worth trying.

Only one minor negative - the person who made up the room went to all the effort of making a nice pattern with the bedsheet and a hand towel but forgot to replace the bath towels! Other than that all was fine, a plus point being the solar hot water as this place has pretty good eco-credentials. Also, watch out for the widlife - lots of small squirrels and monkeys playing in the trees :)

Check-out was fine albeit they tried to charge for the pre-paid room (177USD for 2 nights), but this was quickly resolved.

Overall a very relaxing experience - would probably go back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed one night here with daughters on a tour of Sri Lanka. Bar and restaurant areas pleasant, good food, nice garden with pool. Rooms were a bit basic - bathrooms even more so. Bats hang around outside your rooms at night in the eaves. The view of Sigiriya Rock is awesome and if you climb the rock you can find this hotel if you look!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Sigiriya is such a lovely place. And this is a great hotel. I liked the fact that it blends in with nature, has a fantastic pool with views of Sigiriya rock and has a spacious dining area. The rooms are also big, comfortable and clean. Bathroom isn't as clean as I would like it to be, but it was fine.

We had a slight problem with ants falling on our bed (I have no idea why, but they kept dropping from the ceiling! The manager said it could be because the monkeys were running on the roof). But anyway, we didn't want to wake up the next morning covered in ants, so we managed to change our room, which was fine (no ants!).

Staff is nice, and they responded to our needs well.

Overall, a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed here as part of group tour for two nights.

Stunning view of Sigriya rock from the pool which suffered a bit from sun cream etc and was cloudy. Good quality rooms with comfortable beds and decent shower. Tea/coffee making facilities and an electronic safe were good touches and not always seen elsewhere although the tv did not work for some reason.

We both had full body massages (separate rooms) and these were good quality and reasonable value for money (3000 rupees for 1hr) .

Breakfast was a decent buffet choice, but dinner was a bit hit and miss. Most people went for the buffet (decent selection but fairly westernised - 2nd night included beef and ale pie) and on the top end at 1300 rupees pp, so we opted for the a la carte menu. Rice and curry was excellent and enough for two to share if you weren't particularly hungry and much better value than the buffet at half the cost if you ordered one each. Rest of the tour group noticed this and ordered the same the following night, although I'd say the quality and quantity was lower as a result.

Food was inconsistent elsewhere - limited good lunch menu with some group members thinking the food wasn't too good,although this is often the case elsewhere.

All in a all - a good place to stay. If the food had been more consistent, the pool clearer and everything working in the room we would have rated it five stars.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sigiriya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sigiriya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.