We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Sigiriya Rock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sigiriya to your Saves list
Hotel Sigiriya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hotel Road, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great view of Sigiriya Rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel has recently re-opened after their renovation, but it is apparent that some part of the hotel is still under renovation. The hotel itself is lovely - nicely decorated, reasonable size pool, a bar overlooking the pool and the Sigiriya rock and a restaurant with great atmosphere. We had dinner at the hotel. We were told by the staff at the hotel that there are wild animals roaming around the village at night time and therefore they have electric fence round the hotel boundary and they don’t recommend us to go out at night. We weren’t disappointed to have dinner at the hotel at all. They have an a la carte menu and also a buffet – I had my best rice and curry in Sri Lanka there!

For the room itself- it is probably due to the recent renovation, the room still smelled of paints. Because the door of the room doesn’t fit the door frame properly, we also had to spend the night with some insects! Considering that the hotel itself is so lovely, we would have thought that the rooms could do a little bit better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    411
    135
    20
    12
See reviews for
176
420
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not only a great location for accessing Sri lankas golden triangle this is a superb place to stay. Recently reopened following extensive refurbishment it was a wow for us. It a ls o gives chauffeur guides good accommodation too. This hotels buffet food was wonderful ingredients are locally sourced and prepared by a passionate team of chefs they wide really well in Srilankas chef competition. Definitely excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

lovely hotel, beautiful setting, the croissant hut in the village great food but be prepared to wait-but worth it! pool nice and relaxing, service great too. i left some clothes by mistake and they managed to get them to me with the help of our driver too-over and above expectation of service!

Room Tip: rooms opposite front of hotel are better than the row behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Don't book through Otel.com - the link takes you to Sigiriya Rest House, a completely different hotel. They have charged us the full Sigiriya Hotel price and we are now struggling to get a refund.

I'm sure the hotel is very good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose this decent hotel during our stay. The infrastructure looks more like a home converted to hotel. the rooms were spacious enough with basic amenities. They had a mini bar too( forget using it for the price). the surroundings were quiet and breakfast was of buffet type. The dosa variety in food is not that good to try. You might have to walk a bit out to find any departmental stores. over all, have a quiet walk near the pool having view of the sigiriya fort and cool breeze.

Room Tip: choose a room a bit away from restaurant side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is lovely to look at with great views of the Lions Rock however due to the surroundings, the bedroom was covered with insects. But I could live with that. The worst thing was that I received food poisoning. But worst still is that our guide told us that regularly people get food poisoning at the hotel (despite my normally cast iron stomach). Very regularly. Surely this is unacceptable. The staff were very good in trying to help but it ruined my climb up the Fortress which was the reason for being there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of sri lanka. Was a lovely hotel but took a lot of getting there. We had to fly into male 10 hrs, then wait around for 5 hrs, then 1hr flight to sri lanka finally meet the rep who then tells us its a 4 hour journey to the hotel. The hotel was very clean and staff were lovely. Wide choice of food served for breakfast as well as the evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
3.8 mi away
Aliya Resort and Spa
Aliya Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 9 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#3 of 9 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#6 of 9 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
6.7 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 12 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 stars 2,254 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 9 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sigiriya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sigiriya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.