We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sigiriya to your Saves list
Hotel Sigiriya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigiriya, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Room Rate
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Sigiriya. The rooms were comfortable and had character (although a double bed instead of two singles pushed together would have been more comfortable!). The pool area and bar had lovely views of Sigiriya Rock, and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Dinner, while buffet-style, offered a huge selection to choose from and the Sri Lankan curries were especially tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    298
    105
    16
    9
See reviews for
107
315
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bethanne95
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel Sigiriya was a great base for visiting Sigiriya, and also for a day trip to Polonnaruwa, which was about an hour away. The hotel rooms were decent, nothing fancy but clean and a good size. The pool area is as nice as it looks in the pictures, and they have a great little area which looks out on that fantastic view. The buffet was pretty good, which a medium size range of eastern and western options, though obviously the local options were better. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We are a family of 4 hand all was just perfect. Rooms are ok , food fantastic, they have western but also local specialties and both were great. The staff is very professional and above all this location is the best to visit the lion-temple/rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

There were 4 of us in a party, but we could only book one room for three so we split into two groups. So thankful I ended up in another group! While the hotel's location is great with the view of the rock, the room given to my friends was awful. It smelled like rotten wood, had all sorts of insects, was dark and looked out onto another wall. The staff was also less than helpful - inflexible and not taking responsibility for the well-being of guests. In the morning when we picked our friends up a monkey was breaking glasses left on the breakfast table and the staff passed by without paying any attention to the great mess created by flying glass. The price was also completely unjustified for the quality of rooms and services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The room was just ok with the quality being just a little better than average. It was reasonable clean however can not rate as warm and cosy. Instead of a double bed, two singles were combined. No wifi in the rooms only free wifi in the lobby / bar area
The property otherwise was well kept. The lobby and lounge area were good and the Rock view from the pool was outstanding. I really liked the pool and the bar area which was quite nice. There is one restaurant for dinner and breakfast buffet. The dinner buffet was quite good however there were only limited choices on breakfast menu. The staff is generally helpfful and friendly with the reception going out of the way to help you.
We had a little instance with our driver and the front desk was very supportive and went out of their way to help us.

The location of the hotel is very calm and peaceful and mountain biking in the forest would be memorable. Needless to mention the proximity to the Sigriya rock.

All in all - good for 1/2 nights stay and I would come back here again as well but will probably ask for a better room quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Service was to notch. Everyone was so friendly and the room was fantastic. The lounge and pool is overlooking Sigiriya rock. It was great to be able to chill and relax after a long day walk/climb of the Lion's rock. The rock is just 10 mins walk away from the hotel, which is very convenient for us.

And oh, the breakfast spread was superb! We had variety of Sri Lankan food and western. And it starts at 6am. I was travelling with friends, we woke up at 6, had breakfast and head to Sigiriya rock at about 730am. Spent about 4 hours there till 11am and head back to the hotel. It was a great experience overall. The locals are very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The bar area was spacious, nicely decorated with a great view to Lion Rock. The room had aircon,a safe and minibar in room. The buffet food was quite good in comparison to other hotels. I liked the pool area which felt quite luxurious and it was nice to swim with a view of the rock.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sigiriya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sigiriya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.