We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing complex, spacious rooms, great food and the friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aliya Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Aliya Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aliya Resort and Spa
Audangawa, Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Sigiriya
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“amazing complex, spacious rooms, great food and the friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We arrived three days after the official opening, a month after the pre-opening. I would like to give it a 5* but I cant despite the amazing complex, spacious rooms, great food and the friendly staff. I do understand that certain things still had to be fixed (elevator, running water for bath tub, …). Just it will never provide the same luxury than other 5* hotels. And with due respect, that’s what I expect for that price. Otherwise than that I can highly recommend a stay there. They offer (free) driver accommodation as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    25
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
55
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If first impressions count then you will not be disappointed here, once through the massive wood security doors the drive up to the hotel is very impressive indeed. The reception area is massive with some very stunning artwork on the walls and magnificent views out over the country side towards the Sigiriya hills. Check in was smooth and efficient and our room was simply lovely. Spacious and very well appointed with a massive big comfy bed, a spacious en suite bathroom with a large walk in shower and a balcony. Breakfast in the restaurant was buffet style with a huge selection to choose from and was plentiful and delicious. Dinner was either a buffet or a choice from the Al Le Carte menu and was very tasty and reasonably priced as were the drinks from the bar. The pool was impressive and spotlessly clean and the nighttime lighting of both the pool and the hotel in general was outstanding. We did not select this hotel as it came as part of a pre arranged tour package but we would have no hesitation recommending it to others.

Room Tip: As close to the main hotel as possible if you have any walking difficulties etc other than that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I would recommend anyone to sample ALIYA it's brand new and by 31st January still the aroma of fresh paint lingers in the rooms. Amazing reception with a panoramic view over the pool Ina. Distance sight of Sigiriya rock, Dining room open non air-conditioned left of reception also the lobby bar, Reception needs a bit more alert staff, the tent style rooms are great for couples, the rooms are plush and simple with wide space, garden and style looks impressive, all in all with the little work going on finishes it will be one hit resort in the area so it is now and wish to congratulate the developer,,, well done

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

It’s usually a bad thing when anyone mentions the elephant in the room. So its really refreshing when
this isn't the case. At Aliya, (Sinhalese for Elephant!) there are more elephants in the room than you
could shake a stick at. (Why you'd want to shake a stick at an elephant is beyond me anyway)
There are elephants on the bed, in the bathroom, on the walls; there are even elephant toiletries in the
shower!) The hotel is extremely new and we were warned that there may be a few teething issues. If
there were any they can all be overlooked because a) the hotel itself is fantastic, and b) the staff were
incredibly helpful and appeared to genuinely enjoy their work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

"Aliya = The Elephant" newly opened hotel in Sigiriya. 170kms minimum 4H drive from Colombo passing by 117 km block Dambulla Habarana road you can find this paradise. By entering to the hotel lobby we were like "WOW" hotel was that much amazing. The big pool view to the Sigiriya feel like come swim i'm all yours. Food/Rooms/spa / night club / indoor playing area and specially luxury tents nothing to say thumbs up.... My favorite is elephant drawing on the lobby wall by Da Cruz.
You must lucky to stay atleast 1 night at this resort.
Good luck "ALIYA"....

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We had only one night at the hotel and were very sad we couldn't stay any longer. The hotel is wonderful as were the the staff. Everything was spotless and the Service was impeccable and the staff were very eager to please but not over the top. The pool area is great with a view from the end of the infinity pool to Siberia rock. We were given a tour of the hotel by Anura including a peep at the tented accommodation which looks lovely (he'll also give you a personal gym session of you can tear yourself away from relaxing by the pool).
The rooms were spacious and we didn't have any of the teething troubles others seemed to on these reviews. My only minor complaint was the the pillows were too hard and high for me but that's a personal taste. I am sure if I had asked they would have changed them.
We will definitely return, get in now before they become established and it gets busy or the prices go up.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I booked this hotel by booking.com. at the end they charged more than the booking.com - price and more than the 22% tax. do they have to use these tricks?
the setting is really wow with perfect vue of Sigiriya Rock, a phantastic pool area, huge room with a little terrasse. it could be really relaxing, but it is not because of many groups - a lot of noise
food is excellent.
staff very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms away from the road might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aliya Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliya Resort and Spa

Address: Audangawa, Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concept and Design Embracing one of Sri Lanka's most beloved animals, the elephant ('Aliya' in Sinhala), the Aliya Resort & Spa is set in the lush forests where elephants roam free. An artful blend of contemporary architecture and the minimalistic style with an authentic Sri Lankan touch, the resort aims to provide the distinctive experience of a villager's uncomplicated lifestyle. Location - Sigiriya, Sri Lanka Accommodation Each chalet's chic yet simple structural design has been carefully planned to blend in with its natural surrounding and have been built to comply with green building guidelines on energy and environment. The resort consists of 96 rooms that come equipped with all modern comforts, illustrating a discreet opulence. These rooms have been uniquely designed with the colours and motifs of Sri Lankan batik with themes mostly inspired by the elephant, giving them an artistic appeal. In addition to the chalets, the resort accommodate 18 spacious luxury tents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Aliya Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aliya Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.