We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sigiriya World Heritage Site

Sigiriya World Heritage Site
Central Province, Matale District, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Attractions in Sigiriya
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The journey to the top is more exciting then the destination. The painting in the cave is artistic. The view from the top is pretty nice, make sure you go all the way up.

Tips : you don't have to hire a guide, it is very easy to be self-guided.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    72
    18
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The ticket is very expensive, 3900lkr, but sigiriya is still worth the visit. The views are amazing. There was not much people either, so being able to be up there almost alone was a great experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Crazy king!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Is not only a rock, it's an incrdible place with lots of history, beginning with a ilegal king afraid of the legitimate one building a palace/ fortress on top of a huge rock, where there is remaings of statues,monasteries, lakes, pools and a impossible series of ideal women at that time, painted at a side of the rock (painters secured by ropes...). The attraction is full of tourists and we have to climb more than a 1000 steps (including ones at steel stairs, that are not for hight dizziness persons...), but te 360º view is astonishing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disagree with just "a rock"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I totally disagree with people who say this is just a "big rock". The whole complex is an amazing technological feat conceived by an ancient ruler who used cisterns to store water and constructed conduits from which the water flows from on high. It also has some amazing cave paintings of dancing women who were admired by many travelers in ancient times. It is very much worth the cost and the climb. Yes, it is quite strenuous in the heat, but I don't see any way around that without compromising the integrity of the site. I think the challenge of the climb lends to the tourist appreciation of the achievement of building this amazing place. My husband and I are in our mid 60s and moderately fit, and I stress the word moderately. We were able to make the climb, winded and hot, but not totally spent. I was glad we did this and Dambulla on separate days. To me this was a "must see".

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, england
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“ITS A BIG ROCK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

First of all the travel which looks an hour from Kandy actually takes half a day on these crazy roads. The attraction is much to expensive if your paying the 'foreigner rate of £15' (how many years can Sri Lanka continue to get away with this). The climb is out of the question for anyone not very fit or wary of heights. I wondered if for this price a first aid or safety officer couldn't be visible, as many people struggle in the heat. On the plus side the views are truly wonderful from the top of the mound - but this has to be weighed against the downsides I have listed. If you have time for this attraction or Dambulla Cave Temple most definitely opt for the latter.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sigiriya World Heritage Site also viewed

Sigiriya, Central Province
 
Sigiriya, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 

Been to Sigiriya World Heritage Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigiriya World Heritage Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.