We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sigiriya Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sigiriya Village Hotel to your Saves list
Sigiriya Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

On arrival at Colombo airport we were shown to our waiting driver who then drove us for nearly 4 hours to the Sigiriya village hotel. After a long flight the journey to the hotel felt like it was never going to end and the final 1.5 hours the roads were very uneven and bumpy. If you have never been to Sri Lanka before, be warned the driving over there has a lot to be desired our driver seemed to be very impatient blaring his horn nearly every 5 mins or so it seemed, but this is just the way they drive. The hotel on arrival was very nice very open plan and the rooms/bungalows were scattered around the grounds in little village plots ours was called the Paddy Field Plot, room 123. It was very spacious likes others have said the walls in the shower room could have done with a lick of paint but i wasnt there to admire the paint work it was just a bed for the night and somewhere to wash, so was perfectly adaquate. The food was amazing and the view of the rock from the resturant and pool area was lovely. We went with Mercury direct for a 7 day tour and this was our first hotel. After breakfast on the first morning we visited Anuradhapura, the first capital of the island . we went to see the sacred Boo Tree, world famous Samadhi Buddha, the remains of the Brazen Palace and rock carvings.Day 2 - after breakfast we went to the ancient city of Polonnaruwa, the second capital of Sri Lanka and then went to see the ruins of the Royal Palace, Lotus Bath and Polonnaruwa Statue and visited the Gal Vihare which hasd splendid statues of the Buddha carved out of rock. Day 3 - After breakfast we went to the Sigiriya Rock Fortress which is a World Heritage site dating from the 5th century AD, If you can manage to climb to the top it is well worth it for the amazing view. Just take your time its not to bad honest! At the start of the climb there are a number of willing helpers (for a few rupees) that will assist you to climb ( i think they would get in the way personally, but some people did use them) In the afternoon we visited Dambulla Rock Temple again it is a World Heritage Site and the most impressive of Sri Lanka’s cave temples which includes over 2000sq metres of painted walls. There is quite a lot of steps up to the cave so be warned if its hot make sure you have something to drink with you. Day 4 -After breakfast, we went to Matale and visited a Spice Garden and a Batik factory to experience the variety of spices and the batik paintings, then we were transferred to our next hotel Mahaweli Reach hotel. You will need to go to that hotel to read the rest of our hotel report (if your interested).
If you need to know anything about this hotel please ask

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    338
    124
    24
    10
See reviews for
156
296
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

A pleasant stay much better than expected. Buffet food OK.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Staff very accommodating but had to keep calling for maintenance, missing light bulbs,room safe not working, also air con wasn't adequate, room mosquito-filled even with repellant got many bites, very damp and mildewed and moldy-if you have any seasonal allergies, don't go to this hotel; set off bad enough allergies that it spoiled remainder of trip and necessitated trip to ER when returned to Singapore. location exception. climb Sigiriya very early in morning. as in everywhere in Sri Lanka, roads abomination; lorry and scooters don't believe in using head lamps or tail lights at night-makes travel a real experience. only went to a couple of dept of tourism shops-thankfully bought tee shirts etc there-approximately 5 times the cost at air port duty free. would definitely hire a car and driver; tuk tuks fine for short trips but pot holes big enough to lose a VW bug in. everywhere we went, people were very nice and most helpful, even at hotel, everybody really tried hard, am not against eco-friendly but a little bleach for the mildew problems wouldn't have been bad idea. also, brin extra sweater or jacket-very chilly at nite and only 1 thin blanket provided along with very flat pillow. have heard there are some re-done rooms, but even tho ours was supposed to be top-notch, it wasn't so wouldn't hold breath as to how great the re-done rooms actually are. be forewarned that you have to walk from check in thru heavy rainforest type growth so put on your bug spray before you arrive at hotel. would have been nice if either no smoking or smokers only area in communal dining room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

The hotel is located amongst a lot of greenery. We were greeted with a lot of rain which enhanced the green effect. Close to the Sigiriya Rock which is a must do (provided you are reasonable fit as it is quite a climb) but has some amazing views from the top of the rock !

Facilities in the hotel are very few and limited and the rooms are quite basic. However, the buffet was good !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Couldn't fault the location, beautiful view of Lion's Rock but the room was filthy and musty. The bathroom hadn't been updated since the 1960's and the mould on the tiles was awful, felt dirtier after the shower than before. The mattress on the bed was badly stained and the sheets torn and grey. The food was very nice and the the service was very prompt but I was glad we only stayed for two nights. I'm sure the lighting being so dim was so you couldn't see the dirt. The wild life in the grounds was fantastic such a shame that the rooms need renovating it reminded us of Butlins. Don't know how much it costs to stay there as it was part of a Tour with Thomson Worlwide but I wouldn't pay more than £25.00 for the room. The drinks at meal times were very expensive we were charged 700 rupees for two diet cokes. We bought drinks from the shop outside the gate and took them with us to meals once we realised as they cost 100 rupees each.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Having just read some of the other trip advisors comments, are we all sure we were staying at the same place!!!!!! We stayed at Sigiriya Village Hotel for 4 nights during our trip and honestly it was magnificant. We had chalet type accommodation (chalet 109) I think, last chalet facing the reception area. It was spotless and cosy with plenty of light, table and chairs, cold clean water to drink from a flask though no kettle (luckily I bring my travel kettle everywhere with me including tea bags). We were half board as we were out touring all day and the food was amazing. No bacon at breakfast though (but if you asked for some, they kindly would get it for you). The dinners were absolutely fantastic with different choices every night. Most of all the desserts/cakes etc every evening were truly delicious. Every night I tasted nearly every pudding and gave marks to the chefs. The mandarin cheesecake and date and chocolate pudding were to die for. Also the General Manager spoke with us nearly every night as he did with all the other guests.

This hotel is for bird watchers, families (there is a farm on site and we saw sows and little piglets all over the place on the farm). There were all different types of animals and they grow their own vegetables too. Down the road there are a few shops to buy bits and pieces and of course the views are breadth taking.

We were on a tour and left after breakfast each morning and back for dinner at night. I don;t think we would like to spend whole days there even though it was truly relaxing, we just think we might get a bit bored.

Thanks to all at ~Sigiriya Village Hotel for a truly wonderful time

Mary & Graham, Jersey, Channel Islands, U.K>

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days at the beginning of our holiday, After rejecting 2 rooms because of the dirty and neglected state we eventually accepted the 3rd offered but only because by this time it was dark and the mould and general poor conditions were less apparent.
The hotel is badly in need of renovation and updating.
The drapes etc in the dining room were torn and filthy and the quality of the food was dire.Due to the location this hotel has the potential to be very attractive but we could not wait until it was time to leave.
This is one of the most run down hotls in which we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigiriya Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.