We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nature compensates for shortcomings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sigiriya Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sigiriya Village Hotel to your Saves list
Sigiriya Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“nature compensates for shortcomings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Sigiriya Village hotel is surrounded by the beauty that is nature in Sri Lanka. Mountaims,fields,ponds,country paths and wonderful friendly people. In parts of the grounds of the hotel there still lingers a scent of the jungle. What is needed is less "hotel" and more "village" with a dash of raw jungle thrown in.You can do better,Sri Lanka

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    339
    124
    24
    10
See reviews for
157
296
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Simple but effective room in beautiful setting and very close to Sigiriya Rock. Being an eco lodge you have to be at one with nature.....unfortunately, we were not that keen on having frogs in our room but we understand that comes with the surroundings.

Very pretty hotel in a great location, but we found the food a little bit bland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

One of the best locations on earth. Basic hotel but extremely nice. Loved it. Will definitely visit ot again. Would recommend it to both couples and families. View of Sigiriya rock during breakfast is breath taking.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This place has everything, and it then squanders it all away. Brilliant location. Beautifully spread property. Excellent huts. Right asthetics. And all that means they they less, not harder. The service quality is slack with a smile. The food - ah the food. Wh had two buffet means, and we could not believe how much good could be prepared how poorly. It was cold. It tasted terrible. The desserts were the cheapest quality. We asked for mangoes in dessert, to be told it was out of season. Whaaaaaat? You mean coated more than the cheap stuff lying on the table?

Sad. One night, and we were glad to be out.

Oh and I almost forgot. Snake on the htc chair outside the room, and the scorpion on the bed.

Good luck.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

After reading great reviews about this hotel, we booked in to stay at this place for one night. Boy we were glad we had to stay just for one night!!!!!!!!!!
The room was filthy, dark, tasteless. Although we checked in as a couple, they gave us two double beds upon pointing this out the two beds were casually joined, with a large gap in between.
The beds were not that comfy either.
THERE WERE NO TEA OR COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES, FOR A SO CALLED 4 STAR HOTEL!!!!!
They charge you Rs 500 for coffee per person? what is happening with this hotel???????????

The buffet was very large spread and after a strenous climb up the Sigiriya Rock, we did not have the stomach to indulge in the buffet. we kindly enquired about the ala carte option. the manager said he would look some thing for us. for Rs 900 per person plus taxes, he gave us rice, 2 curries and coconut sambol from the buffet itself!!!!!!!! for a little extra we could have gone for the buffet it self.

The worst was yet to follow.....

After the sigiriya rock climb, we had really sweaty clothes. i wanted to pack those clothes in a bag for them to be washed at the next destination in colombo. I enquired if i could use the laundry bag. the staff told me the plastic bag was free but the cloth bag in room was chargeable at Rs 500, which by the way was not in my room on check in. After further confirmation about the free plastic bag, i decided to use it.
only upon check out, the guy asked me about the cloth bag, i tried to explain that there was no cloth bag in the room i stayed, the check out staff were adamant to check my baggage in the lobby!!!!!!!! i obliged and the guy standing next to me saw the plastic laundry cover in my baggage and insisted i give it back to the hotel. only for the other check out guy at reception to inform me that the plastic bag was free and he confirmed with his staff, that there was in fact no cloth bag in my room when i checked in.

Rather than first checking with the staff, this guy was keen to suspect the guests to this hotel and having to unpack my baggage in lobby was un acceptable.

Even after this no apology offerred for this unfortunate incident.

Do not stay at this over priced hotel, which do not even offer coffee or tea making facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a very good hotel located in Sigiriya amid the trees and greenery. The property is well maintained, clean and is eco friendly. The hotel staff are very polite and friendly. The restaurant is very good. The buffet breakfast and dinner spread is very good and is nominal for a 4 star hotel. The hotel overlooks the Sigiriya rock with a nice view from the pool side. The stay is relaxing and very comfortable. Ideal for family stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

On our pit stop, we decided to check into this hotel. My experience was tremendous.

The resort is located very close to the famous Sigiriya rock but has a few attractions of its own.
It is spread over a vast acreage and is amazing to have walks during the early mornings and evenings. They have individually spaced out row houses and villas, and each cluster of them have a attraction attached i.e. rice field in one place and a garden in the other.

The rooms are very cosy and nice, and the bathrooms stock the necessary toiletries of decent quality. The Porch has a lounger, to sit and read or relax.

The food at the restaurant is just about OK, with both a la carte and buffet on offer. The breakfast was ample and good in taste too. The best part of the evening was the Arrack cocktails we had at the bar. Made with fresh ingredients, they tasted like sweet nectar.

Overall, this place is a good option if you have Sigiriya on your itinerary and are also looking to spend a few ore days to unwind. It isn't too heavy on the pocket too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigiriya Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.