We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the jungle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sigiriya Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sigiriya Village Hotel to your Saves list
Sigiriya Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the jungle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A very well located hotel for visiting Sigiriya rock. The room was big and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel are well kept and in a jungle setting. Monkeys all over the place. Nice pool with view of the rock. Buffet food at the restaurant was varied (Sri lankan spicey and European). Staff were polite and helpful - came to fix broken air con straight away. We enjoyed our stay here very much..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    305
    111
    22
    7
See reviews for
140
271
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice Hotel with the feeling of a semi luxurious chalet type. Hotel price includes buffet dinner & breakfast. Had a great day full of sun and then rain at night to cool off the heat. Bring insect repellents to avoid mosquitoes & centipedes. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Signage to the chalet houses are not properly lit, so beware during the evening to make some misses & find the wrong house. A few other guests including me couldn't find our chalets & had to walk a long way back to the clubhouse to ask for actual directions.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is ideally located. It provides a breathtaking vista of Sigiriya Rock. What better way to enjoy breakfast or dinner on a moonlit night than gazing up at the magnificent rock almost at your doorstep.

The hotel cabanas dotted throughout the compound were large and comfortable, the staff helpful and courteous and the food excellent. The Ayurvedic massage at the end of a grueling day was very relaxing.

Room Tip: The cabanas can be a fair walk from the restaurant and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice relaxed place, free wifi nice pool with a view of the rock. The rooms are spread out and are nice. No tv's which is a good thing! Do have built in radio! 3 channels i didn't listen to it so not sure what's on it. Food is good and plentiful. Staff are overly attentive like most of Sri Lanka!
Highly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This may sound strange, but the thing I loved about this place was the potted palms they made up the room with! It was such an unexpected touch and made the room instantly exotic. The little villas are scattered through the garden and the lantern lit path at night from the dinning area was always a joy. It was raining when we were there and umbrellas were offered and I noticed lots of room service going to villas mid afternoon-lovely, relaxing way to spend a rainy afternoon.
The buffet was fabulous with a large spread of Sri Lankan and European food. Service was exceptional.
Located a stones throw away from the wonderful Sigiriya, this is a lovely place to unwind after a big day touring the site. Touring to Dambulla is easy to arrange through the hotel as well as hot air ballooning (Sri Lanka ballooning Co)
The spa offers traditional ayevedic treatments at reasonable prices, although I found the steam bath a tad too hot!
This is a very relaxing chilled out resort, however, they do have bus tour groups travelling through. The place is large enough to absorb the crowds, but if you don't like a busy breakfast buffet a more boutique hotel might suit you better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed Here for. 2 nights on our trip to Sri Lanka. Lovely place good buffet for dinner and breakfast. Only criticism room very dark lights. Not in right places so. Difficult if you want to read and wifi and tv went off when it rained.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was large and clean. Our room was set in a recreated village type area with a small sample paddy field out the front complete with scarecrow. We saw tortoises, a water monitor and monkeys close to the room. Staff were excellent.

The open-air restaurant and bar were great. The buffet was fantastic for lunch, breakfast and dinner. The pool was very nice, remember to shower using the pool shower before jumping in (this was the practice throughout Sri Lanka). It is a short walk into a dusty village, worth doing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigiriya Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.