We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic family-run guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sigiriya Lion Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sigiriya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sigiriya Lion Lodge
186, Main Road, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic family-run guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the Sigiriya Lion Lodge! It is a classic traveler's guest house with a large porch where you can meet other guests and eat delicious and fairly priced meals (absolutely no reason to eat in town).

We are a family with two kids and we stayed in August for four nights. While most people seem to rush through Sigiriya, staying four nights was a great way to slowly see Sigiriya and surrounding sites including Dambulla, Mineriya--the kids can only handle one site per day. Ajith was a wonderful host and very helpful. The guest house is spotlessly clean. Hot water. Good clothes line in the sun to hang laundry. Even a patio where I practiced yoga in the morning. A great place to stay!

And do not pass up the elephant safari! Ajith's brother was a safe driver, he was patient and pointed out birds and animals that we would not have spotted on our own. We did not feel rushed in any way. It was a really great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    25
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
54
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I loved staying here. The owners, this cute little couple, will go out of their way. Its the perfect location to go to sigiriya rock. You can walk their from the hotel. The staff cooked us a few meals and it was so good!!! Youre also able to go to the Minneriya National Park from their. Its about 15 minutes away and the staff set it all up for us and picked us up from our hotel. The only thing bad I can say is that at first in our bedroom we did see ants, but then we got some spray from the staff and they went away. Otherwise I would give the place a 5.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

One of the most nice backapacker place I've been in Sti Lanka. Very cheap, extreamly clean, perfect location, owner very nice and polite and helpful. Quite. Decenet breakfast. I've been told sbout this place by a bus driver, what a deal! It's a plave with no weackness. Perfect for my teo nights. I couldn't suggest nothing better here around.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massa, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A tuk tuk driver shown us this simple guesthouse. It is clean, cheap,quiet and close to the Rock main entrance (ten min. walking).You can have a good dinner or breakfast (though a little expensive than other places) . The owner is careful.and kind.So, don't hesitate stay here: it's a good choice

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice guesthouse with good, clean and cheap (2500rs per night, incl breakfast) rooms, hot water, (fast) wifi and a nice and cosy small terrace in front of the rooms where you can sit and talk with other travellers. The guesthouse is also near Lion Rock. The best thing of his guesthouse might be the owner. Ajith is super super nice and relaxt. Wants to help you where he can but never pushes you. He also gave me hints where to go in Kandy. I rented a bike here and explored the surroundings. I can give that as a hint to you, it was realy nice. The breakfast was good, but not extremely well.

Room Tip: Choose room 1 to 4. These have stronger wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is a perfect budget option for visiting Sigiriya, cheap clean rooms, great food and very friendly host make it a wonderfull stay in this small town. Sigiriya itself is absolutely stunning and should be on everyone's list that travels to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Sigiriya and could not have been happier with our choice. The place is clean, quiet, good wifi and is really handy to Lion Rock, and the little rock behind. Ajith is the perfect host, he was more than happy to lend us his bikes so we could get some beer and he drew a map for us to get to the Little Rock behind Sigiriya (highly recommend and far cheaper than Lion Rock). All in all we would be happy to recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sigiriya Lion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Lion Lodge

Address: 186, Main Road, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigiriya Lion Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sigiriya Lion Lodge to your Saves list