We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it. Don't let negative reviews put you off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Corridor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elephant Corridor Hotel to your Saves list
Elephant Corridor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pothana Road | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it. Don't let negative reviews put you off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We moved here from a nearby, very busy Hotel and were very pleased by the reception. Staff bearing flowers, chilled hand towels, a welcome drink and valet parking all within five minutes of arriving. We'd climbed Sigiriya very early and got to the hotel by 11.00, a little early. We were upgraded to the Royal Suite which was beautifully furnished with an eight foot bed, outside pool and floor to ceiling glass wall overlooking the bunduh and lake. Tranquility , peace and quiet, opulence reminiscent of the old colonial days. What a treat. We had the pool area to ourselves all afternoon and indulged in a long massage each after the complimentary one. The swimming pool attendant needs to be able to supply drinks from his bar and not have to cycle back to the hotel.
We had dinner on the balcony and treated ourselves to a bottle of wine, my advice is to get the wine list sorted out urgently. $65 for a Blanc de Blanc!!
Many thanks to the Duty Manager and all his staff, keep on doing the necessary maintenance and you will be the jewel in the crown once again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    53
    33
    19
    25
See reviews for
56
113
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is a very nice place.FOod was good and the service was excellent.
The swimming pool was away form the chalets but I thought it was a good thing ad was a very different experience.i loved every bit of it .It's made in a way that you can feel close to the nature..I would go again for sure.
My husband proposed to me there. I wouldn't have ever imagines a better place than that..awesome and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this special place.Very scenic place, full of nature and animals (like everywhere in Sri Lanka).
Great architecture and hotel infrastructure.
Nice walks.

I would recommend here for anyone to stay.

I felt the rooms are little bit too closer to each other.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overun with disruptive international students, driving around in the hotel buggies, loud music, grabbed all the bikes, rude, disrespectful.
The swimming pool is a long way away for the chalets. No poolside bar open, leaves in the pool. We were dropped off at the pool, asked if we had a mobile phone to call them if we wanted to be picked up, and left. You could not relax as all the students had overrun the gym area behind the pool.
The main bar area looked cheap and tacky.
The gardens were not maintained.
The plunge pool was more like a bath and dirty.
We didn't eat here as the other guests were saying how awful the food was
This is a has been hotel. The reminents of a once classy hotel are visible, but have not been maintained and the management are relying on an old reputation to capture customers.

My advice, is to avoid at all costs. This is the only hotel that did not live up to our expectations during our two week stay in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Please do not stay at this shabby hotel if you are not a student, have any sense of pride, or are anyone other than an expat looking for a cheap ace to stay. This once was the best hotel in Sti Lanka, four years ago, but after a building contractor took over? Eh? It has become a tired shadow of its once former glory. Oh dear........
My wife and I lasted about half an hour before we decided to leave. The staff tried to keep us but any hotel worth it's salt that has to take in foreign students to fill the rooms is clearly on a slippery slope and not interested in maintaining an atmosphere of calm in an otherwise beautiful location. However, that said we were offered the so called Presidential Suite. God god, you are joking..........big, yes but the Deluxe Rooms were better and they are not great.........Enough said?

Room Tip: Don't go......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratmalana, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Pros..
1. A lovely place to unwind and relax... In that sense one of the best in Sri Lanka. Spacious (210 acres of land) and peaceful.
2. The rooms were spacious and nice. The bathrooms were spacious too.
3. Some staff members were very helpful and nice and prompt in their actions. We had some issues with our room and they sorted it out without much fuss.
4. A very nice main pool, which is at a quite a distance from your room. And it was very relaxing.

Cons...
1. The only issue we had in this hotel was the "food". To my knowledge and experience with other hotels, this hotel needs to get it fixed ASAP.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Elephant Corridor was a place which i always wanted to go, so we decided to go to elephant Corridor for our second honey moon.

The Rooms/chalets were very spacious and nice and welcoming. Love the Bathroom as it was nice and spacious. The shower was an open shower with spacious area shower without getting the bathroom floor wet. Chalet had its own plunge pool which was a nice add on.

The Main Pool/ and gym was away from the restaurants and the chalets therefor it was not used and did not looked tempting for us to use either. The first morning we thought we would go for a bit of bird watchign and then hit the Gym before we come for breakfast but the gym was closed and there wasn't any staff to get the gym opened either. Since the Gym is also located next to the pool and about 100 meters away from the main area where staff are frequently seen we gave up the idea and started jogging on the gravel pathway around.

The Restaurant staff are very Courteous and helpful especially the trainee 'Chinthaka' hopefully he will continue to provide exceptional customer service as he did for us. We wish him all the best in life and his carrier.

Food was excellent. We had the choice of Sri Lankan or Continental breakfast which we always preferred to have it outside on the balcony of the restaurant building with a nice view of the surrounding area and the very cold and refreshing breeze.

You have the option of getting you meals served in your room or having it in the restaurant, First Lunch we had it in the room as we were too tired after returning from the Sigiriya climb. Lunch was a 3 course nice well balanced meal which was just perfect.

Dinner was always a pleasant surprise. We preferred to have dinner at the restaurant, five course meal served perfectly.

Overall the Hotel was good but is starting look old and tired. Was a disappointment to see few services were not functioning as it is supposed to like the Gym, Pool & cable TV. But we enjoyed the stay and there are few areas for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Corridor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Corridor Hotel

Address: Pothana Road | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#6 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Corridor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation options await you at Elephant Corridor, with 22 individual cabin suites, each with its own private entrance, veranda and plunge pool. Escape from the rest of the world and find your oasis in a private suite or villa, each featuring exquisite architecture, inspiring design elements and modern amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. In the vicinity of the fifth century Sigiriya Rock Fortress, also named the 8th Wonder of the World. Amidst thousands of acres of undisturbed jungle, teak forest, and wildlife of many species, includes elephants who occasionally visit to drink from the 1500-year-old lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Elephant Corridor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Corridor Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Corridor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.