We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sigiriya Museum

Sigiriya Museum
CCF Sigiriya Project, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 Attractions in Sigiriya
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Informative and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Recommend that before you go up Sigriya rock that you pay the museum a visit. Very informative and interesting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    70
    43
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Not very informative”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Weird to read the other reviews. We didn't find this museum very informative. Actually we found the building to be mostly empty and were wondering why they put down such a huge structure for such a limited collection.
The before and after renovation photos were fun to look at but they were turning into a moldy affair because of the humidity.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Great Overview of the history of Sigiriya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited the museum following our climb up Lions Rock, which was a welcome relief from the heat of the day (the museum is air conditioned & has toilets - a major plus). As the entry to the museum is included in the price of the ticket to Lions Rock, it is worth spending the extra time visiting the museum as you get a greater appreciation of some of the history and the extent of the site. The museum has disabled access ramps and lifts so it is fairly accessible unlike the rock itself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kas, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was expecting a better museum. That could be better. Entrance fees are really crazy. On a rainy day I recommend you to visit museum first and than climb up to rock.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Sigiriya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited this museum before heading up on the monumental climb and found it to be a great introduction to the things we would see. That being said, we did tend to rush around the place as we were eager to go on our climb. The information was presented in an interesting way, especially the replica cave paintings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sigiriya Museum also viewed

Sigiriya, Central Province
 
Sigiriya, Central Province
 

Been to Sigiriya Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigiriya Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.