We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Grass Nature Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wild Grass Nature Resort to your Saves list
Wild Grass Nature Resort
Dunnubindunu Wewa, Govigammana Main Rd, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nature at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Wild Grass for Five nights. This place sounded unique, so we were hoping for the best- we got the best! The five villa resort is amongst forest, mountains, farming villages with lots of wild life. The villas are privately placed with glass walls and outdoor bathroom-taking a shower was an adventure in itself. If it happens to rain you will be surrounded by a light and sound nature show, pray for a rainy night. The manager and chef Tissa made sure that we felt completely welcomed, no request was impossible for him. Just ask. Our walks and bicycle rides with Nimal, the nature expert, were incredibly enjoyable. Transportation was arranged at reasonable prices by the manager with local car or tuk tuk drivers (you pay the drivers). Food was carefully prepared and served. Breakfast was basic and healthy; if I had to mention an item for improvement, I would say to add a few more breakfast items, but we enjoyed it as it was. It is hard to express how satisfied we are with Wild Grass, you just have yo try it.

Room Tip: Take insect repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The best hotel I have stayed in.
Every room is a separate and detached, with glass walls, good use of wood and modern concrete.
The hotel is isolated, but just what we were looking for.

the set meals were original and fresh,

We couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the first 3 nights of our tour through Sri Lanka. What a fabulous place if you are nature lovers like us. It has a private exclusive feel as there are only a small number of villas spaced nicely apart with thick greenery in between. The villas are huge, with a downstairs lounge (we didn't really use it) and a wonderful bedroom with glass all around and a fantastic outdoor bathroom (complete with frogs in the sink which was entertaining!)

You really do feel as though you are in the middle of nowhere and it is magical to shower outside under the stars at night (btw take some mosquito repellent as this is prime time to be bitten!) Waking up to the sounds of all the birds was fabulous, like being in the rainforest.

The pool area is nice to relax with a book and take a dip as it does get hot and humid during the day.

The staff were polite and attentive without being intrusive. I asked for a mosquito net in our room and immediately 3 men and a ladder appeared to put one up! We went on the nature walk around the grounds and environs with Nimal, which we highly recommend. We saw so many birds and also mongoose and giant squirrel and climbed the rock at sunset which was magical.

Dinner was excellent, a la carte, you choose 4 items from the menu. The curry is amazing and there are lots of them!

The only downside for us was the breakfast. While the fresh fruit juice was delicious, we found the breakfast rather limited compared to the other places we stayed. It would be nice to expand this to include a choice of hoppers and pancakes and not just scrambled or fried egg (and fruit).

Also, we loved it here as we love nature, but as you are in the middle of nature, don't be surprised if you see a lot of insects and frogs. It's not a problem at all but some people don't appreciate it's inevitable...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Wild Grass in the middle of nowhere which is an all villa hotel with airy uge AC bedroom upstairs, outdoor shower and bathroom and a modern stylish living room downstairs. It is all glass and the views are into the green. Meals are at the open restaurant, you can either order from the menue or you let them know what you like, they prepared everything for us. For nature lovers this is a great place with first class accomodation, service and food. Also the accomodation for the driver was nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint Hills, Kansas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent two nights at Wild Grass while visiting Sigiriya and Minneriya Park.
We were upgraded to the family villa with two bedrooms, one upstairs and one down. We spent all of our time in the upstairs because it is glass from floor to ceiling with an outside balcony. We were totally isolated from any other villas with a view of the lake and trees around with birds nearby. The design is really conducive to enjoying nature.
We felt like we were in real luxury. The staff was attentive but unobtrusive. The food was very good.
They have a naturalist who does bike tours and bird walks. We went on the bird watching tour and saw numerous birds. We climbed the "rock" behind Wild Grass. Coming back down is not for the faint of heart.
They also have a nice pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Unfortunately we had only booked wild grass for a day. The ambience was great and the food was excellent!! Also the staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. We will definitely come back and stay for longer. The rooms were really beautiful each one was unique compared to the other.If you are a nature lover, then this is one of the best places in Sri lanka to spend some time away from your busy life.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place was just fantastic. Took us a little while to find it but well worth the rather remote location as very peaceful and relaxing. We stayed in a two bed house and were looked after extremely well. The staff are helpful but not overbearing. The food was delicious. There is lots of wildlife to be seen. It was everything we had hoped for. A great way to start our tour of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Grass Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Nature Resort

Address: Dunnubindunu Wewa, Govigammana Main Rd, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wild Grass Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Nature Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Grass Nature Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.