We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Grass Nature Resort

Save Saved
You added Wild Grass Nature Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Grass Nature Resort
Dunnubindunu Wewa, Govigammana Main Rd, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

It's nice however the pool is always dirty and there isn't much options on the menu. The rooms are quite nice but it would have been nicer if the dining room had been enclosed as you got about 1 million bugs in there. Also the guy who greets you has a very creepy smile and he is always wearing it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
51
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

When you first arrive - you're not quite sure what to expect - but once you've met the manager and the staff - it all goes on from there. Brilliant service - the very best rooms - some of them are like small houses! And absolutely brilliant with our boys - played an epic cricket match! Thanks v much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I visited to this place on our holiday in 2013 and I found it amazing, the houses are absolutely fantastic, as well as the lovely kind staff, I was SO sad when we had to leave and I would love to come back !!! The staff also take you climbing up a rock, it is great fun !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Luxury rooms with panoramic views to see wildlife surrounding you. Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Food quality was excellent so was the service!
A perfect place to chill out & relax. Would visit again if we come to Sri Lanka again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Worth the long drive from the airport. Favourite place we stayed.

Atmospheric. Great food and friendly staff.

Wild animals everywhere. Mongooses, snakes, scorpion, monitor lizard, frogs, and most importantly monkeys.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lovely setting amongst long grass and trees, most chalets overlooking a lake, albeit at a short distance. You really are in the middle of the jungle - we saw monkeys and chipmunks on the first morning right outside our chalet, not to mention the amazing bird life. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Food was delicious with faultless service. Well-designed, spacious chalets are newly built with modern fittings. Our bedroom/living area had floor to ceiling glass on 3 of the 4 walls with an extensive balcony outside so you really felt as if you were out in the jungle even though you were inside. Rattling door in the night did disturb us though. Also swimming pool disappointing as not very clean and surrounding area seemed unfinished. Our visit was in low season and the 5 of us ( in 2 separate chalets) were the only guests for our 3 night stay so possibly facilities not at their best. WI FI only available in main building and even then very poor. Brilliant location for visiting all the sites of the Cultural Triangle. Overall loved it! Thank you Wild Grass Resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's is a unique nature resort. We really enjoyed the clam relaxing environment. The jungle setting and the natural wild life is abundant in this area. The villa was large, clean and extremely comfortable. We cannot say enough about the friendly helpful staff like Adrian as well as Pradeep, and how everyone made an effort to make our stay a memorable one, this would also include the manager Mr. Perrara who came out personally to make sure we where well looked after.

The road to the resort is small and could pose its challenges for the inexperienced driver, but during our holiday we had a set of motorbikes which made any kind of road a fun action packed thrill to ride on.
The it is less than 30 min to visit nearby Lions Rock and sirigaya .. And Damulla is about the same distance making this resort a perfect central location for looking around the area.
It is also a great place just to relax and ate in the peaceful environment that Wild Grass has to offer. The food at the resort is fresh and really good. We chose to stick with local meals which were done perfectly to out likening and at a time that was most convenient for us.

We recommend this natural place for anyone looking for a great Sri Lankan experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Grass Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Nature Resort

Address: Dunnubindunu Wewa, Govigammana Main Rd, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wild Grass Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Nature Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Grass Nature Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.