We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for this price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sigiriya View Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sigiriya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sigiriya View Resort
Save
You added Sigiriya View Resort to your Saves list
59/B, Thalakote Road | Ehalagala, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 39 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not for this price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff was indifferent. To have a dinner we need to go to the neighbor hotel, to get taxi we need to go to the neighbor hotel. The only good thing in this hotel is air conditioner. I can recommend only to book the neighbor hotel and you won't be nervous.:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    4
    9
See reviews for
1
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Muc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As on of the first stops during our Sri Lanka trip in Feb 2013 we visitid Dambulla and Sigiriya. Since we arrived quite late most places were fully booked so our driver took us to this sketchy place that seemed quiet and laid back at first sight, but with evening closing in, felt more and more abandonded. Literally we were the only guest, despite the weird receptionist telling us they had only a few rooms vacant. The room was OK, but electricity went off about 3-4 times, surely while having a shower. So no lights and no hot water. About the water usually I would say no big deal, but as it had been raining cats and dogs all day, we were drenched and cold from the AC in the car, the idea of warm water (I´m not talking a nice hot shower, just warm water) seemed quite nice.
We had curry for dinner which was unexpectedly good and one of the better ones we had during our trip. Though the same reseptionist that rented us the room now seved dinner and was really strange. He was standing behind or beside us while eating dinner and again when having breakfast and got quite upset when we checked out in the morning, as our driver had told him we might be staying two nights.
The outside of the guest house is quite nice with lush greens and kind of a rainforest feeling. However this brings a lot of mosquitos and I believe we had mice or geckos in our rooms, making a lot of noise in the night. We paid about 4000 Rupies for the room incl. breakfast.
Overall I would not recommend staying, they surely could make the place an very nice guest house, but unfortunately the staff did not seem to care or want make an effort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have been stay here 3 times in last 18 months... n last time i was there two nights in FEBRUARY 2013. It is such a very good place for Relax. Now they have opened also AYURVEDIC HERBAL TREATMENT POINT(SPA). Last time i took a very good Herbal massage from there too... It has a Very Natural View, Friendly Staff and Reasonable Prices too... Thats why i stayed there 3 times..

But I could nt understand some peaple how insult them like that... I think it is Conduct some one behind the Screen.

Any way I am really enjoyed with this Place.. next time I will be there with My family on August...

Room Tip: If you need some thing.. Ask them(staff) Directly.. they will arrange everything..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Whilst doing a road trip tour of Sri Lanka our driver booked a night's accommodation at this 'hotel'. We left the hotel early in the morning to view Sigariya Rock, but in our rush we left behind our Kindle. It was on the table by the bed. When we later realised that we left it behind we phoned the manager to explain what had happened. After several checks of the room, he told us that there was no Kindle. We know that we left it there, so our only conclusion is that it was taken by one of his staff. We loved our trip round Sri Lanka, but this incident has left a bad impression. If you do decide to stay here be very careful of your possessions.

Room Tip: Be careful of your stuff. Don't let it out of your sight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Don't stay here unless you like getting bitten by mosquitoes and / or the strong smell of mildew... It's close to the rock and the food was OK but if we had the option we wouldn't have stayed there in the first place and we certainly wouldn't go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night around mid of December 2012. The restaurant took almost an hour to finish the cooking, the plates, spoons, glasses and all utensils were not clean. The in room toilet flush was broken, an air-con was leak.

My husband always count his money before we went to bed during the trip. The next day he left his bag pack in the room for 15 mins while having breakfast about 10-15 steps away from the room. We only realized someone stole our money when we were about to pay the entrance fee at Sigiriya mountain.

The thief was professional enough in not to take everything out of the pocket he took a bunch of 20 USD notes and few 50 USD. So, we wouldn't realize anything wrong with our money.

After we finished the Sigiriya tour, we reported this issue to the owner. He asked all 3-4 employees to show up and told them the story. No investigation no progressive action taken only the talk, so we had to let go and continue our trip.

BE VERY CAREFUL WITH THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

First up, the view of the Sigiriya Rock from this hotel is very nice so that's a plus if you plan a stay longer than a day.

The staff was quite friendly but the owner was not so. Besides, the rain threatened to trickle in anytime so I doubt the roof was as sound as it is meant to be. The food was reasonable but not very nice or even very Sri Lankan.

Room Tip: Don't if you can manage something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sigiriya View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya View Resort

Address: 59/B, Thalakote Road | Ehalagala, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigiriya View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.