We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back of Beyond, Pidurangala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Back of Beyond, Pidurangala to your Saves list
Back of Beyond, Pidurangala
Kurulu Uyana, Vihara Mawatha | Pidurangala, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Zeist, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great place, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in this place for 2 nights during our round trip and we really enjoyed it.
The place is tranquil, beautifully set in the surroundings with respect to nature.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us advices about things to see off the beaten trails which we really enjoyed.
The food was delicious. Freshly home made and very tasteful according to your wishes.
The rooms were spacious, we had 2 rooms and lots of space outside to sit/have dinner/relax.
The bathrooms in the open air were amazing, they have delicious showergel and shampoo.
This place is really an experience on its own!!

However, don't come here if you expect a swimming pool, fitness centre, table tennis etc.
Just come here to relax, enjoy and be amazed!!
(And bring enough insectspray...)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel very hidden amongst the jungle near sigriya. Rooms were really nicely decorated, beds comfortable and the setting was very peaceful.

Food was fresh and tasty, staff were helpful and organised a driver to take us to polunurawa and minneriya, both really worth a visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm glad my driver had been to this place before. We arrived at night and after traveling down a long, dark, and bumpy road we turned off into what seemed like a small break in the trees. After a few yards the root riddled road ended with a group of smiling faces and welcome drinks. The staff was very friendly and the accommodations were nice. The beds were pretty comfortable and the room was reasonably critter and insect free being that the windows and doors were open to assist the fan with cooling the room. The bathroom had walls but no ceiling. I was expecting it to be full of critters and insects; and I was afraid a monkey would come take my bra while I was showering, but that didn't happen! My closest brush with wildlife was a small frog that I shared the shower with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Back of Beyond's Pidurangala site is wonderful. The site has one bungalow and a couple of cottages set unobtrusively in the jungle (not even a hotel sign to reveal its presence!). The bedrooms are generously sized and the shower in each is open to the skies. The communal areas mean you can sit and discuss the day's events with other guests and the catering team are attentive and obliging. The site is within walking distance of the Sigiriya hill fort and there is another hill immediately next door which is worth clambering up for the views. Thusitha, who is a wonderful host will take you on nature walks or arrange a guide so that you can learn about the jungle surroundings. We stayed three nights but felt we would have enjoyed a couple more to go on a nature walk and perhaps an elephant ride. Of course there is plenty to see locally as this is the centre of the cultural triangle. Don't miss Dambulla and the national park at Minneriya.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

An excellent establishment in the jungle on Pidurangala Sigiriya Road. The surroundings are full of wildlife, the rooms are brilliant: they are spacious with rustic décor. You can hear the monkeys in the trees as you go to sleep. Thusitha, the Manager, and all the staff are very helpful, the food is excellent and the surrounding attractions are wonderful. For those interested the bed is very very comfortable.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and there are not many of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I started our tour of Sri Lanka from here. We stayed two days here, and a further 2 days at their sister lodge, Back of Beyond dehigaha els, which is less than half hour away.

This tranquil retreat was absolutely wonderful. Conveniently placed very close to Sigiriya rock, it is at the foothills of Sigiriya rock. We actually enjoyed our peaceful climb of Pidurangala rock more than climbing Sigiriya.

The rooms are simple, comfortable and perfectly adequate - large rooms, comfy mattresses, plenty of hot water in the showers etc. The staff were very friendly and always eager to please. The food was excellent (ala carte, not buffet).

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Back of beyond, Pidurangala is a nicely located jungle retreat. Concealed in the thick under growth near to the Pidurangala Temple, the bungalows give its guests a unique experience.
The staff is extremely good in hospitality. The area is full of different varieties of birds like Robins, Magpie, Orioles, Barbets, Peacocks, Jungle fowls, Partridges and in the near by tanks you can see water birds like egrets, darters, Pelicans, Cormorants and herons. I saw one Sri Lankan Grey Hornbill also.
The food is as you order and we had an extremely good Sri Lankan lunch and a great barbecue for dinner.
The facility needs a bit of refurbishment which can be forgotten with the hospitality you get.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Back of Beyond, Pidurangala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back of Beyond, Pidurangala

Address: Kurulu Uyana, Vihara Mawatha | Pidurangala, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Cultural Triangle and within 5 minutes from the Sigiriya World Heritage Site, Back of Beyond Pidurangala is situated in a lovely unfenced 4 acre forest, a mere 5 minutes from the Sigiriya Rock. Offering you the best of rustic charm together with modern comforts, this retreat is a perfect base to explore the natural environment and cultural heritage of Sri Lanka. Each of the 3 tastefully furnished cottages, each with its own verandah, is designed to maximise the impact of the surrounding forest. A 3 bedroom bungalow is also available for larger groups. The retreat offers many activities including bird watching, hiking, cycling and excursions to Minneriya National Park, Polonnaruwa, Dambulla, Ritigala etc. Renowned for its excellent service from a friendly and caring staff, it's no wonder guests keep returning to Back of Beyond Pidurangala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Back of Beyond, Pidurangala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Of Beyond, Pidurangala Hotel Sigiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back of Beyond, Pidurangala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.