We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kassapa Lions Rock to your Saves list
Kassapa Lions Rock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$75 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sigiriya
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice location with rice fields around. Very well located to visit Dambulla, Sigiriya ... Bungalows are perfect for family with kids, clean and modern. The swimming pool is pretty clean too and the garden is well arranged. Moreover the staff is very friendly. The price could seem high for this country but comfort and quality worth it. Driver's accomodation is also very good. Only wi fi is missing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    267
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
153
239
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Kassapa Lions was up first hotel in Sri Lanka and we weren't disappointed. Great location to the cultural triangle, with a fantastic view of Sigiriya. The rooms were large with aircon and a fan. It would have been good to have a double be rather than 2 large singles, but overall very comfortable. The buffet evening meal was lovely, they even made us a special jackfruit curry because we mentioned we liked it. Great friendly staff, the manager was knowledgable about the area and a great host. Good sized swimming pool for relaxing after a hard day sight seeing, but remember the mosquito repellant as I got bitten quite a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel

Situated only a few miles from many of Sri Lanka's most popular cultural sites, such as Sigiriya, Dambulla Caves, Kandalama Lake and the increasingly patronised Jeep Safaris through two Wildlife Reserves, it's no surprise that the Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel benefits from a high occupancy rate.

Built on land surrounded by rice fields, much untouched flora and fauna, which have taken residence, the hotel's management have cleverly dovetailed nature with an acceptable degree of modernity.

Guests stay in well designed bungalows, each sporting verandas and up to date amenities. During my stay, complaints were notably absent.

For most of the daylight hours (well at least after breakfast) the majority of guests filter out of the resort, board a variety of motor vehicles and set off for their chosen excursions.. Those left behind can be seen either in the sparkling swimming pool, or lounging around its perimeter on sun beds.

I did overhear some unfavourable comments as to the quality of those sun beds (well past their sell-by date) However, the resident manager listened carefully to my own personal appraisal and was more than willing to accept the criticism with a smiling addendum that the beds would be upgraded.

All meals are buffet style with plenty of variation and boast a high standard of quality.

Evenings were particularly interesting. To spend a pre-sunset hour or so on ones own veranda sipping one's favourite cocktail whilst watching the antics of animal and birds vying for superiority over the subject of 'The Pecking Order' was a great way to relax and work-up an appetite for dinner.

Of special interest was the standard of the staff. All were more than happy to advise, chat, serve or oblige...and in a hotel so spread across acres of land, they were surprisingly efficient and prompt.

My three night stay could only be described as 'Great' and I would re-book this hotel on any future visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilan w, Owner at Kassapa Lions Rock, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear sir,
Many thanks for your reveive. Encouraging and constructive we will definitly upgrade the shortcomings. Thank you once again and all the others who took time to express their ideas about kassapa. Your comments were very helpful for kassapa to be where it is and the management is committed to serve you better everyday.
Nilan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My friends and I arrived here directly from arriving in Sri Lanka and were greeted with a very pleasant welcome in very nice surroundings and location.

Our rooms were clean and decor good, the bathroom / shower was a nice surprise with the open air feeling.

Pool clean and towels provided.

Buffet style dining is not my choice, therefore a la carte option was available. Breakfast was a wide choice of fresh food - pastries, cooked option and fresh fruit.

Overall - great value for money ... would recommend and would return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Kassapa felt like a luxurious safari lodge to me. Bungalow like rooms, open veranda restaurant, spacious, great views and all. Friendly staff, nice restaurant and good pool. An ideal base camp for trips to Anuradahpura, Polonnaruwa and of course Lion's Rock. Your guide probably will be able to offer you some local village trips and/or elephant safari. Nice place to visit the central part of the Island before moving on to Kandy or the North.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Torrential rain had hit the area not long before we arrived but this hotel was a welcome oasis. Staff were very welcoming at check in. We were shown to our room, which were like small villas spilt in to two rooms. The contemporary decor and LCD tv's were lovely modern touches. The modern bathroom with sky views from the shower where a nice touch. Close proximity to sigiriya was the main reason we chose to stay here and we chose this over the sigiriya hotel as more child friendly. We were pleasantly surprised by the little things this hotel did so well. One of the nights we stayed they had a full Sri lankan Banquet, complete with hoppers, kotthu roti curries sambols and even some short eats, it was really well done and we were a little sad when it wasn't offered on our 2nd night although the meal was still enjoyable, we loved the variety of Sri lankan food the first night. The staff even helped me book an extra night at the hotel I was going to next as I had mixed up my booking, nothing was too much trouble. Even our driver remarked on his own provided accommodations and said how lovely a hotel it was. Would highly recommend this as a base for dambulla sigiriya and polonaruwa. The only way they could make a slight improvement is to have wifi however Internet is avail on their pc in the reception foyer area you just ask at the front desk.

Room Tip: The rooms are similar, try to get one nearer the restaurant lobby area as ours was a little far away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while touring the beautiful Island - Sri Lanka. This hotel was a perfect stop for exploring Sigiriya, time to relax and a perfect place to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. The lodge we stayed in was very clean and comfortable and a shower with sky views was a bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good.

We were made to feel very special on our anniversary evening with free cocktails and wine, a cake made in ten minutes by the chef and a hotel manager who made sure we were treated extremely well.

We would highly recommend this hotel and hope one day we may return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you'll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore all the historical sites such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, and Dambulla . Only hotel in the area with two swimming pools. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kassapa Lions Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.