We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Save Saved
You added Kassapa Lions Rock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kassapa Lions Rock
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Sigiriya
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Kassapa is a very good place to stay for a couple of days. The bungalows are very nice and clean. The shower is beautifull. The staff is very friendly. if you book half board you have a very good buffet every night. The hotel is well situated to visit Sigriya rock and dambulla cave tempel. We also made a very nice safari tour in minyerva park. The hotel is mainly focussed on large tour groups but is still good voor single travellers. The pool is very nice to cool down in after a nice walk in the surroundings.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    182
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
111
164
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location is great for Sigiryia and the caves. The room was adequate and had plenty of space for the 4 of us. The restaurant buffet was a mix of western and Sri Lankan food - all good but not outstanding. The a al carte had some good snacks for the kids. I'd say everything was good without being particularly memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We turned up unannounced and were well looked after:great service- manager made a special effort to enquire into our needs- they even opened the buffet breakfast 15 mins early for us as we needed an early start!! food was great - kids( 9&7) loved the pool!...the room was clean and well thought out - and the bathroom very good.
It was a bit of way from Sigiriya - but this is to be expected in Sri Lanka and worth the extra 5-10 mins travel from hotel to rock for the tranquil and no fuss accommodation option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilan w, General Manager at Kassapa Lions Rock, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing KASSAPA LIONS ROCK for your recent stay . We have read your comments about the hotel and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at HOTEL.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our main complaint is that the hotel is far away from everything else. For folks seeking peace & rest, the hotel is perfect. Besides visiting the main attraction at nearby Dambulla and Sigiriya, there is little much to do in the vicinity. We spent 2 nights here in a terraced unit, located the a long way from the hotel lobby. The dimly lit path makes walking at nighr rather difficult. The bedroom is clean and bathroom is rather unique.

Room Tip: Ask for unit nearer the swimming pool, dining area ot hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Good budget hotel near Sigiriya if you are seeking for a budget hotel this would be the ideal hotel. good rooms. ok foods.

Room Tip: Near main buildings such as 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Despite taking 21 emails with the reservations department in Colombo to make our reservation, this accommodation was fine. We are a family of 4 people travelling and I made it clear that I wanted a bed for each person in my opening email. For reasons I can't understand they kept suggesting a double or triple. Something must have been lost in translation but we finally got a room with 4 beds. The room was clean and well maintained. The restaurant was good, driver accommodation apparently good and pool refreshing. The only thing which is poor is the uneven rough paths which join the bungalows, pool and restaurant. These are dangerous and a trip hazard, particularly at night. The lighting is dim which exacerbates the problem. It also looked pretty difficult for the bell boy to drag our bags in his trolley to and from the reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
région parisienne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have spent few days in this hotel which is not too far away from Sigiryia. This place is peaceful. It is clean and well maintained.
The staff was friendly and the accommodation comfortable.
We enjoyed the swimming pool.
The buffet and breakfast were OK.

Have a look on the surroundings on your way to Sigiryia. You will discover some pretty nice spots.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you’ll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kassapa Lions Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.