We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of season: I was the king of Polonaruva!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sudu Araliya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sudu Araliya to your Saves list
Hotel Sudu Araliya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Town , Polonnaruwa, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Biel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Out of season: I was the king of Polonaruva!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I visited this Hotel out of season and I had been served like a king. All the staff showed a pleasure to make my stay a success. Even I could have served the dinner and the breakfast in the wonderful garden. As no many other tourists where there, many birds walked and flight around and it was the best spot for making pictures of storks, herons, etc.
My advice for the tourists: go out of season and you will be the king of Polonaruva!

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    36
    8
    22
See reviews for
35
38
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Sudu Araliya Hotel (P) was one of our 2 day stops travelling through Sri Lanka & we found alike other locations there was no difference here, compared to the Galle Face Hotel (C) & the Palm Gardens Hotel (A) the assistance & friendliness shown by all of the team, this was carried on to Kandy Cinnamon Citadel & St Andrews Nuwera Eliya & Kerchyien Bungalow in Bandarawella. We were treated very well & can't complain about all of the staff & locations also maintenance of the rooms, there were notices in most rooms to keep the windows & doors closed due to insects & following these instructions we had no problems. We are going back in November 2015.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eco-Oregonian
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a great location near the archeological site but I wouldn't recommend it. Our experience: We checked in, unpacked and headed for the shower only to discover no hot water. Housekeeping responded quickly, fixed the problem in about a half hour. We noticed many mosquitoes when we checked in but glanced up at our room ceiling were shocked to see literally hundreds more. Called housekeeping again. They offered to spray the room but we requested another room. 2nd room: the air conditioner was loud and rickety. Off go our bags to room #3 which had two single beds pushed together, not the double room we booked. Honestly, we rarely complain about things during travel. But this was a bit much. Checking out, the safe deposit box battery stopped so we couldn't retrieve our valuables. I must say, the staff responded immediately to each issue which we appreciated. Not a word from management about all these fiascoes... A little training on room preparation and a check list for housekeeping would help here.

Breakfast was fresh and flavorful. Dinners (we had 2) were very average and the staff were very unorganized. The front desk staff were very welcoming with warm smiles and quick check in and out. Sadly this didn't make up for all the minuses.

We booked through Agoda (dont do it!) and I feel the hotels pass off the lesser-used rooms with less desirable view and amenities through Agoda.

Little annoyance: the hotel requires a new Internet user/password EVERY day...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

we had our staff new year party there and had a good experience, their garden is well maintained and rooms are big with very good interior. Customer service manager is very supportive with us and there were good staff members, but restaurant area people seems bit unorganized. food were delicious. Hotel has a very nice view towards Prakrama Samudraya.

Room Tip: new wings rooms are good but old wings rooms has a good view comparatively
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The place is "ok" but definitely not 4 stars. Food are ok but rooms should be upgraded. You can survive for one day or two but not for long. If you are looking for a place to crash while you passing through It's ok but don't make this a place to relax because you won't find it here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSuduAraliya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Ayubowan!

Dear Mr. Nisald,
Thank you for your kind review and appreciate your honest comments.
Hotel Sudu Araliya is a 3 star Hotel and not a 4 star that is been mentioned and misled to a 4 star category.


We have upgraded all rooms as you may observe on our web site in the past two years; the rooms are set up with high quality furniture & fixtures of branded quality.
The Guests who patronize our Hotel appreciate the facilities we provide for a comfortable stay more than a day to three days or even more are satisfied of the rooms, services, food we serve and staffs that are very hospitable.
Hotel Sudu Aarliya is highly recommended and most famous for its calm, quiet and tranquil garden surrounding that would certainly make you feel relaxed of all busy life.


The Hotel wonders if your comments are genuine or a part of an agent trying to impact a negative feedback on Hotel Sudu Araliya.
We would have appreciated if you may have brought up your concerns and issues to the Reception desk or the Management notice pertaining to your room or stay so as to rectify the concerns and act promptly in changing the room and finding an instant solution.
We very obliged in providing a better service at all times to Guest and the staff GO THAT EXTRA MILE in satisfying are valued customers at all times.


Yours sincerely,

Front Office Manager

Nayani Galappaththi

Through General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very nice hotel and nice location . Calm and quiet for a relaxing Holiday . Nice room . Pool is very nice . Friendly and helpful staff . Very attentive team . Best Location for a away from a busy life …Buffet in the restaurant is very good

Room Tip: room is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSuduAraliya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your detailed five star review. We are delighted that you are happy with the location, facilities on offer and the service rendered at Hotel Sudu Araliya polonnaruwa making your stay a comfortable one. It is also heartening that you consider Hotel Sudu Araliya Polonnaruwa as one of the best hotels in Polonnaruwa, which we are sure, would help other travellers find the right accommodation in town.

Yours sincerely,
Front Office Manager
Nayani Galappaththi
suduaraliya@sltnet.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Rooms are adquate but certainly not of four star quality. Thin walls between rooms and birds roosting on the window sills (covered in guano) squawking all night. Everything did however work. No wifi in the rooms. Could be cleaner.

The outdoor area is well appointed with a good pool and adjacent bar. Staff were courteous and attentive.

Dinner buffet was below average and a la carte also below par for some of our party. Reasonable price however and a bottle of wine not out of the question although they tried to substitute the wine ordered with something else. They only had to say sorry sir but we don't have the wine but we do have this. Breakfast was again average but adequate.

We wouldn't choose this hotel for an extended stay but its ok for one or two nights if you are touring.

Room Tip: Sorry, can't help with room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sudu Araliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sudu Araliya

Address: New Town , Polonnaruwa, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sudu Araliya 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polonnaruwa is one of the most historically renowned destinations in Sri Lanka. It comes as no surprise that there is a steady stream of visitors that flow into the city each and every year. With an extraordinary collection of ancient relics and nature's own wonders, the city is leaden with plenty of amazing opportunities for travelers to experience many facets of Sri Lanka.Strolling on the banks of the Parakrama Reservoir, gazing at the splendorous creations of ancient civilizations and giving in to the enticing aroma of traditional Sri Lankan food are but a few of the many travelling pleasures that await you in Polonnaruwa. Of course, selecting the best of the hotels in Polonnaruwa is the right way to make sure that your exquisite surroundings are complimented by comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sudu Araliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudu Araliya Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sudu Araliya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.